Get Quotes
PetsBest Reviews

Pets Best was founded in 2005 by a Veterinarian who wanted people to have financial assistance when their pet is sick or hurt. Choosing an insurance plan to cover your pets no matter their age can help you pay for veterinary care that results from illnesses, accidents, or injuries, and Pet’s Best tries to do that by offering plans with annual deductibles between $50 and $1,000, and a reimbursement percentage of 70, 80 or 90%.

Quick reimbursement (within 3-5 days) and directly paid into your bank account is something they offer. Pet’s Best provides a wide variety of coverage choices plus two optional routine care plans, so pet parents can select a perfect program for them and their budget.

Don’t wait, look at their plans, get a quote, and protect your pet now.

PetsBest Reviews

Average Customer Rating

4.1 out of 5

Based on 79 customer ratings
5 stars
52
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
9

Pets Best Pet Insurance Reviews

Sort:

3 out of 5

George Atvi, Colorado

September 1, 2020
I recently bought a policy from PetsBets, and I was disappointed by the amount of time it takes to process my claim. Perhaps you can attribute all of this to the pandemic's disruption, but I think it would be helpful if they notified people in advance about any delays. I called them several times to get status updates, and I noticed that things started to move ahead after each call. Again, I haven't been with PetsBest all that long, but so far, this is the only issue I had.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Allison Johnson, Michigan

August 4, 2020
I think PetsBest is an excellent company. I have a labrador retriever, and I always take him into the vet as often as I can for checkups. Recently I noticed that he was losing his appetite, and I was worried that this was a sign of some kind of disease. It turned out that there was nothing to worry about, but PetsBest did pay for the visit. All I had to do was submit a copy of my receipt, and I was reimbursed within a week. I am happy that I have PetBest, and they give me peace of mind knowing that I am covered if something serious does occur.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Ralph Sampson, Illinois

July 9, 2020
I bought insurance from Pets Best about twelve years ago, and I recommend them to anyone that asks. In the twelve years, they have never denied or even disputed a claim yet though we’ve had many procedures. Their customer service reps always provided comfort when my pets were undergoing surgery and added some new features like the free vet advice. It takes a little longer nowadays to file a claim than it was in the past, but this is not a big deal. For all these reasons I recommend them.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Ron Coleman, Vermont

June 1, 2020
I recently submitted my first claim to Pets Best, and I had an excellent experience. My plan reimburses 80% of the costs, and I also have Bestwellness routine coverage. The claim that I filed was, in fact, a wellness claim, and they processed it without any delays, and I got the amount I was expecting. Next year my policy will go up for renewal, and I plan on continuing to be with Pets Best.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Amari Washington, New York

May 19, 2020
My four-year-old dog, Remi, thankfully stayed healthy throughout his life. Then one day, out of nowhere, I see blood starting to come out of his nose. I was so scared and didn’t;t know what to do. I took him straight to the vet, and it turned out he had something stuck in his nose. On the trip to the vet, I was worried about how I was going to pay for this if it turned out this was something serious. Fortunately, Pets Best paid almost all of the vet bills, and I would like to thank them for everything that they do.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Mike Wilson, Arizona

May 4, 2020
Great customer service!! Pets Best, thanks for your prompt replies and, in general, a good job. The employee with whom I talked on the phone was so helpful and patient. My dog Lucy passed away two weeks ago. I was so surprised that the company covered the euthanasia service. They canceled the policy retroactively to her passing date. I highly recommend this company cause they really care about you and your wallet (without jokes).
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
3 out of 5

Kate Lewis, California

April 28, 2020
Returns take a lot, a lot longer than they used to. It used to take around a couple of weeks, and now, reimbursing the funds will be almost one month. Customer service was OK, and I appreciate the girl who was on the phone, she was patient and helpful. But the fact that I have to wait so long is terrible. Hope, Pets Best will do something with that.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
4 out of 5

Lily Harris, Montana

April 21, 2020
Pets Best hasn’t increased prices since the submission of claims, my dog has experienced problems since last year, and I have filed multiple complaints. I am very grateful to this insurance company for assisting me in taking good care of him. They provide a detailed explanation of the benefits and the reason why they do not cover a few things that are few and far between. Furthermore, the reimbursement shall take time after the submission of the claim. In general, I am pleased with the insurance purchasing in Pets Best. Thank you.
Helpful 1 people found this review helpful
2 out of 5

Carry Hill, Iowa

April 14, 2020
After reading many good reviews about Pets Best insurance programs, I decided to buy a pet insurance policy for my cat Rikky. For me, it is essential the claims processing be fast. My first claim was in the “received” status for two weeks. On week 3, it changed to ”records“ requested from the vet.”” I called customer support and asked why my request took so long to process. I was told that the first requests always take a little longer to process. I accurately read a bunch of reviews, and many Pets Best clients wrote that the first requests they took a couple of days, a maximum of 5-6. I don’t know why I was so unlucky, but this is my experience, and maybe I am not the first and not the last.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Sara Evans, California

April 5, 2020
I am happy with the insurance Pets Best provided me and my dog, Morgan, with. All my claims were quickly processed, and we didn’t have any problems with Morgan’s treatment. The company is very reliable. Customer service is perfect and 24 hours available. My Morgan is six years old. A few weeks ago, during the walk, he picked up something from the ground and swallowed. By evening, she became very ill. I started worrying and submitted my claim. Pet Best company got my vet records, processes the application, and sent me a check. Check for treatment amounted to $2300. Pet Best paid around $1900. I was delighted to see my dog healthy and not lose so much money. Thank you, Pet Best, buying insurance precisely in your company was worth it!! I know my friend Morgan is in the right hands!
Helpful 2 people found this review helpful
5 out of 5

Katherine C.C., Florida

November 8, 2019
I don’t quite understand mobile apps, so I submitted my reimbursement request via email. Pets Best surprised me and managed it quite fast. They even sent me a follow-up email to see if everything was ok. I am satisfied with the services at Pets Best, and I recommend them to all my friends.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Jane Stevens, Idaho

October 29, 2019
I struggled a lot regarding whether or not to share my cat’s story with you. But I feel like everyone needs to know about how professional the services at Pets Best Insurance are. They really aided us during our hard times and allowed us to spend some more time with our beloved pets. So, Daisy, our cat, started having trouble breathing a couple of months back. Our vet believed she either had water in her lungs or a tumor. Our insurance covered the cost of a scan and additional investigation. And we cannot thank Pets Best enough for that! During those investigations, one of Daisy’s lungs collapsed, and we found ourselves sitting in the ER. And the insurance covered the stay, the treatment and everything else our cat needed. It is quite right that we changed a couple of veterinary clinics, but we couldn’t seem to manage to find someone to help Daisy recover. The insurance covered the treatment costs for lung disease, including syringes, testing supplies, vitamins, and medication. But our new vet concluded she was not responding to the treatment. We moved to UW Veterinary Care, as they had a specialized department for this. When we were admitted, an additional ultrasound was done, and the doctor discovered that an odd mass pressed the part of her lung that had trouble functioning. The doctor suggested a surgical intervention, but I was quite concerned because Daisy had already had three surgeries due to a previous accident in which she was involved. After addressing my concerns to the oncological ward, I realized that exposing her to a surgical complication and chemotherapy was too hard for Daisy to endure. And I will always remember how kind Pets Best’s consultant was with me. He firstly apologized and expressed concern about our situation. He told us he was so sorry we were going through this. He even underscored that Daisy’s insurance plan would cover all the care needed, and we would still receive almost 80% reimbursement. So, I decided to take Daisy for dangerous lung surgery. The lobectomy was unexpectedly successful, and the tumor that pressed Daisy’s lung was entirely resected. We were so excited to move on to post-op care and recovery. But our beloved cat developed some liver issues, as well as, possibly, pancreatitis. What was more concerning was that there was an infection with a culture extremely drug-resistant to E.coli. This was a tedious path towards healing, with extended days of subcutaneous antibiotics. Our poor Daisy looked so sad and in pain that my heart broke. But Pets Best was there to support me and covered almost all costs. Sadly, a couple of months back, the vet discovered that this liver problem, the infection, and all the problems Daisy had were even more dangerous than everyone thought. And the doctors told us the disturbing news: Daisy would never recover, which is why administering more medication wouldn’t be useful. I would’ve wanted to allow Daisy to pass away at home, but she was too unstable. Instead, the vet euthanized her at the clinic and allowed us a moment to process our loss. And for all this, Pets Best was alongside us and aided in dealing with the expenses. To sum it up, all Daisy’s medication, antibiotics, surgery, and interventions led to an invoice of about $50,000. So, I cannot express enough gratitude for Pets Best, as it made it possible for me to have Daisy close as long as possible. Of course, this company made her passing a lot easier, as we managed to administer her pain medication. I will always be grateful for Pets Best’s care and attention to detail.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Megan Goodwin, Kentucky

October 3, 2019
It took me a few minutes to fill in all the necessary info when I submitted my claim. I’m defiantly pleased with how fast these guys are working.
Helpful 1 people found this review helpful
4 out of 5

Stuart Smith, Idaho

October 3, 2019
I find Pets Best a nice company. Unfortunately, all my tries to reach someone who can handle this staff faced problems and everything stays on its place. Hope soon something will be changed.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Nancy Hunter, Wyoming

September 1, 2019
User-friendly claims process. Respectful, responsible and caring customer support.
Helpful 1 people found this review helpful
5 out of 5

Eileen Houston, Virginia

August 11, 2019
Great customer support work, as well as flash-fast claims processing. Bless you, guys!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Ophelia Harrison, IA

July 3, 2019
This service is great! I’m totally satisfied with what my beloved cat, Jaicy, and I receive here. The only thing making me upset is the price is twice as high in comparison with what we were starting from 4 years ago.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Alice Andrews, TX

June 29, 2019
Pets Best company is my real helper. During three years of our cooperation, my dog Lola has experienced quite a lot of accidents, and each time these guys showed their professionalism and high responsibility, carefully checking all my claims. Moreover, when they have some troubles with processing, they got in touch, notifying me. So, I never had any misunderstandings or delays of my payments.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Kayla Morgan, Idaho

June 25, 2019
Fast and reliable pet insurance service.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Vanessa Sydney Barnes, Florida

June 12, 2019
I had pet insurance for my cat at Pets Best since she was less than 10 months old. She is now 8 years of age, and, of course, she has quite some health problems. I am thankful for Pets Best because they offered me a way to provide the best care for my pet. It is easy to submit a claim, and you receive reimbursement in a couple of days. And if there is an issue, a representative informs me via email. You should give Pets Best a try!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
Visit Insure Website

How do I know I can trust these reviews?

  • There are close 1 865 verified Consumer Affairs reviews.
  • We request the contact information of all reviewers to confirm their identity.
  • To maintain the site’s integrity, we use smart software to help us out.
  • Again, moderators will investigate all reviews before posting to ensure quality and usefulness.

Not sure how to choose?

Get expert byuing tips about Pet Insurance delivered to your inbox

Not sure about Pets Best?

Take our two minute quiz to find the right Pet Insurance for you

No spam. We take your privacy seriously.
Visit Insure Website

Pets Best Company Information

Year Founded: 2005
Address: 2323 S Vista Ave
Phone: (877) 738-7237
ZIP Code: 83705
City: Boise
State: Idaho
Country: United States
Price Range: from $16 per month
Website: www.petsbest.com

The actual value of a company is often evidenced by the power of the origin story behind it. The origin story tells the “why” of the company and points to the core principle(s) the company was founded on and the mission that they keep at the top of mind when they serve their customers. Such is the case with Pets Best Pet Insurance.

Pets Best was founded in 2005 by Dr. Jack Stephens, practicing veterinarian and by all accounts, considered to be the “father” of the pet insurance industry. Further back on the timeline in 1981, was Dr. Jack Stephens, who, together with his partner, Greg McDonald, launched the first pet insurance company in North America. Later that company became what is known today as Pets Best.

When he founded Pets Best, Dr. Stephens wanted to make sure all pet owners could afford the best veterinary care for their beloved pets. The mission statement of Pets Best speaks to this: “To end economic euthanasia by helping to ensure pet owners are financially prepared when their pets need unexpected veterinary care.” Primarily Pets Best seeks to remove the financial worry out of owning a pet, so the pet owner can focus on helping their dog or cat to recover quickly.

The company’s staff comprises pet owners and pet lovers – many with veterinary background and many involved with animal rescue. Their pet-friendly office, located in Boise, Idaho, serves thousands of pet owners and, in 2011, became the first pet insurance company to offer completely electronic claim filing and payment process.

Pets Best Claims

Nothing distresses a pet owner more than when their best furry friend is ill or injured. Pets Best wants to make the entire process of filing a claim for veterinary services rendered as painless as possible, so the pet owner can get back to the business of tending to their pet.

Once a diagnosis has been made, and treatment has been administered, clients need to submit their claims to Pets Best as soon as possible. Pets Best has eliminated the tedious paperwork by making claim filing available via the client’s customer account or through the mobile app. Clients can submit and view the progress of their claims through their customer account. Reimbursement is usually administered a few days after the claim is filed. If the client signs up for a direct deposit, reimbursement occurs within a matter of days. Should they opt to receive a paper check, reimbursement is usually received within 5 to 7 days after the claim has been processed.

Community Involvement

Pets Best is a prime example of a pet-centered company who “gets it.” They know how to offer the best products to the marketplace because of their experiences in serving the community. This is evidenced by the many awards and accolades they’ve received over the years.

  • From 2013 through 2017, they were awarded the honor of being the “Best Place to Work in Idaho.”
  • In September 2015, the North American Pet Health Insurance Association (NAPHIA), awarded Dr. Stephens with a Lifetime Achievement Award for his work.
  • Besides, Pets Best has been involved in many pet-centered charities such as the Idaho Humane Society where they frequently participate in various events put on by the humane society.
  • They are an integral part of the Pooch Party, and Stroll held by Nampa Parks and Rec, which is an annual event that raises money for Nampa’s dog parks.
  • Pets Best has also done some work on behalf of hospice and palliative care patients to make sure their pets are well cared for.
  • Through Dogs On Deployment, Pets Best gives military members peace of mind concerning their pets while they are deployed by providing them with the ability to find people and resources to help them.
Visit Insure Website

Pets Best Policy

When it comes to their policies, Pets Best goes above and beyond to offer everything that a pet owner would want in terms of quality coverage for their pet. As with most pet insurance providers, pre-existing conditions are not covered. And since pet insurance is primarily for “unexpected” expenses, routine or “expected” expenses usually are not covered either. But Pets Best has taken a step outside of the status quo and offered additional coverage, referred to as EssentialWellness or BestWellness, which covers routine care coverage. This routine coverage helps pet owners pay for regular expenses such as the aforementioned routine pet visits, as well as vaccinations and dental cleanings.

EssentialWellness or BestWellness is a supplemental plan that can be added onto Pets Best core plans for an additional fee. The plus is that there is no deductible to meet with these two wellness plans, and they are a relatively inexpensive add-on.

Pets Best core coverage is comprised of two options – BestBenefit Accident and Illness and Accident Only coverage. As the name suggests, BestBenefit Accident and Illness is the most comprehensive of the two plans, covering unexpected incidents like emergencies and illnesses. There are multiple levels of coverage in this plan and can be customized to meet the needs of the pet and the pet owner’s budget.

Accident Only coverage is designed for those pet owners on a limited budget that want great coverage for things like broken bones, accidental swallowing, snake bites, etc. Unlike the BestBenefit plan, the Accident Only coverage does not cover illness or cancer.

All policy offerings are for cats or dogs as young as 7 weeks of age. There is no upper age limit, so senior pets can qualify for coverage too. However, as the pet ages, rates tend to rise because the risk of illness for a senior pet rises as well. Upon enrolling for a coverage plan, there is a 3-day waiting period for accidents, a 14-day waiting period for illness and a 6-month waiting period for cruciate ligament events such as hip dysplasia.

Visit Insure Website

Compare PetsBest vs Other Pet Insurance Provider

Petsbest HealthyPaws Petplan ASPCA Embrace
Customer Rating 8.7 9.8 7.9 9.1 7.6
Unlimited Lifetime Benefits No Yes No No No
Covers All Illnesses & Accidents No Yes No Yes Yes
Covers All Genetic Conditions No Yes No Yes Yes
Includes Alternative Therapies No Yes No Yes Yes
Type of Deductible Annual Annual Annual Annual Per Incident
Financial Stability Rating A- A+ A A+ A+
Visit Insure Website

When it comes to their policies, Pets Best goes above and beyond to offer everything that a pet owner would want in terms of quality coverage for their pet. As with most pet insurance providers, pre-existing conditions are not covered. And since pet insurance is primarily for “unexpected” expenses, routine or “expected” costs usually are not covered either. But Pets Best has taken a step outside of the status quo and offered additional coverage, referred to as EssentialWellness or BestWellness, which includes routine care coverage. This usual coverage helps pet owners pay for regular expenses such as the aforementioned routine pet visits, as well as vaccinations and dental cleanings.

EssentialWellness or BestWellness is a supplemental plan that can be added onto Pets Best core plans for an additional fee. The plus is that there is no deductible to meet with these two wellness plans, and they are a relatively inexpensive add-on.

Pets Best core coverage is comprised of two options:

  1. BestBenefit Accident
  2. Illness and Accident Only coverage

As the name suggests, BestBenefit Accident and Illness are the most comprehensive of the two plans, covering unexpected incidents like emergencies and illnesses. There are multiple coverage levels in this plan and can be customized to meet the pet and the pet owner’s budget.

Accident Only coverage is designed for those pet owners on a limited budget that want great coverage for things like broken bones, accidental swallowing, snake bites, etc. Unlike the BestBenefit plan, the Accident Only coverage does not cover illness or cancer.

All policy offerings are for cats or dogs as young as 7 weeks of age. There is no upper age limit, so senior pets can qualify for coverage too. However, as the pet ages, rates tend to rise because of the risk of illness for a senior pet increases as well. Upon enrolling for a coverage plan, there is a 3-day waiting period for accidents, a 14-day waiting period for illness, and a 6-month waiting period for cruciate ligament events such as hip dysplasia.



!

Petinsurancefinder is an independent platform, made to provide pet owners with up-to-date information about top insurance companies. Any insurance company that is presented on this website has the right to make changes to its official data. We are dedicated to distributing reviews based on a person's experience and opinions of his/her insurance company. Reviews are "reviewed" to ensure there is no offensive material. All information may be used only for reference; carefully review your policy before purchasing and signing a new contract. As an independent platform, we receive compensation from companies listed in the comparison block. No review is a representation of our company or its employees.