Get Quotes
Embrance Reviews

Having medical insurance for your pet can be beneficial when considering the high cost of veterinary care these days. Embrace offers you policies for each of your pets, and can even reward you by reducing your annual deductible by $50 for each year that you don’t receive a claim payment (they call it their ‘Healthy Pet Deductible’).

Your pet can be covered for accidents, chronic conditions, cancer, as well as other illnesses (including Dental and Breed-specific and genetic conditions). You choose the Annual Deductible and Maximum limit you are comfortable with, as well as whether you want to pay for a full 12 months rather than on a monthly basis. A Wellness Rewards product is also available to help you pay for wellness exam fees and routine vet care (with available allowances of $250, $450, or $650).

Take the first step in protecting your furry friend by getting a free quote from Embrace.

Embrance Reviews

Average Customer Rating

4.1 out of 5

Based on 89 customer ratings
5 stars
60
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
14

Embrace Pet Insurance Reviews

Sort:

5 out of 5

Amit Jain, Oklahoma

June 22, 2020
I would like to thank everyone who works at Embrace Pet Insurance. I had both my dogs and two cats insured with them and fortunately, I didn't have to use the insurance all that much until recently when I noticed that my cat, Smokey, started losing a lot of weight. I took him to the vet and I was horrified to find out that he had Triaditis and Cancer of the Intestines. As you could imagine, the bill for all of this was out of this world and I don't know what I would do if it wasn’t for Embrace. Poor Smokey needed to go see the vet many times, take a lot of medication and get a lot of tests done. I had to submit a claim for each and every one of them, but they made this process easy. Everything was processed quickly and they reimbursed me within a matter of weeks. Smokey was the sweetest most wonderful cat in the world and I miss him so much.
Helpful 1 people found this review helpful
4 out of 5

Pranav Singh, Virginia

June 9, 2020
Whenever someone asks me about Embrace, I only have good things to say about them since they came through for me in a difficult time. It is effortless to submit a claim via their app, and if you need to contact customer service, everyone is lovely. There was no red tape to fight through to get paid on time. I had a terrifying incident after which, unfortunately, I lost my dog. There was no need to talk with their service department to explain what happened, which would have been very painful. When I notified them about what happened to my baby, they offered me condolences and paid their portion of the vet bill without any hassles. They made this difficult time a lot easier for me to deal with emotionally and spiritually.
Helpful 1 people found this review helpful
5 out of 5

Marcus Newton, North Carolina

May 29, 2020
I’m happy that I switched from my old catastrophic insurance to Embrace. A couple of months ago, my 5-year-old bulldog got an autoimmune disease, and I knew this was not going to be cheap. Still, I was willing to pay whatever I had to. The bill was right around $7000, but, fortunately, they reimbursed 90% of that. This is simply amazing, and I don’t know what I would do without it. In less than a month, we got a check for $5000. The customer service is excellent as well. You don’t have to wait on hold since you can have them call you instead without losing your place in line. They are just so kind! It’s fantastic!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Geovana Johnon, New Hampshire

May 14, 2020
I am blessed to say that my dog was able to stay healthy for most of his life. The first time he got sick, I contacted Embrace, and they reimbursed me quickly. I did;t have to wait a long time, and they offer many additional benefits as well. I am pleased with the service they provided, and I don’t know what I would do without them.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
2 out of 5

BC Cloutier, Florida

May 1, 2020
Without belaboring the details, I bought the insurance and submitted a claim about two weeks later. The request wasn’t processed for THREE MONTHS; therefore, I missed the 30-day cancellation window. The company determined, based on my pet’s records, that she showed symptoms of a disease that was later diagnosed. This, FWIW, a GEICO company. I’ve filed a complaint with my state insurance regulator.
Helpful 1 people found this review helpful
2 out of 5

Oscar Nunez, WY

April 28, 2020
I had a terrible experience with Embrace, and I don’t understand why so many people are recommending it. It seems to me that they will find any reason possible to deny your claim. Even if your pet has an unrelated health condition to the one you are trying to get reimbursed for, they will use it as a reason against you. To say the least, this is just a horrible service, and in my opinion, they are a big fraud.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Kianna Ried, DE

April 22, 2020
When my dog needed to have ACL surgery, I didn’t know how in the world I would pay for it. I called Embrace, and they were able to put my mind at ease. They called my veterinarian to help them submit the claims form. All in all, I am pleased with the service and would recommend them to any pet owner.
Helpful 1 people found this review helpful
3 out of 5

Paul O'neill, Kansas

April 15, 2020
My family has been adopting dogs for a long time now. We get so attached to them that we can’t part with them. Right now, we have 10 dogs on our property, and we decided to start thinking about getting insurance in the event of health issues. My overall experience with Embrace has been very positive, although there have occasionally been problems with communication and long wait times. I don’t like the fact that we always have to submit the medical history for each dog every time we submit a claim. I mean, we already did that when we signed up for the policy. This proved to be an issue when one of our puppies ended up in the emergency room. They didn’t have access to all of the medical, and their main focus is to deal with the health issue on site. Embrace said they will pay for this procedure, but only after some time, meaning that I will have to pay all of the costs upfronts. Embrace has spent most of the time, but sometimes I think that it will be easier to start anew with another insurance company.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
4 out of 5

Sam Portman, Wisconsin

April 5, 2020
Overall, I am pretty happy with the services provided by Embrace. I have been with them for 5 years now, and they have yet to deny any claims. The only thing that I am not happy about is how long it takes them to pay. It seems like they are always missing some paperwork or documentation, which really lengthens the entire process. Still, even with these hassles, they paid out, which is why I would recommend them.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Rob Portman, Minnesota

April 1, 2020
I am so happy that I had coverage from Embrace to cover my pug’s medical costs. Everything was fine the first year that I had him, but then he developed canine hip dysplasia, which, as you can imagine, requires a lot of expensive veterinarian visits and treatments. He also needed to have very complicated surgery to get everything taken care of. Fortunately, Embrace was there to cover the medical costs, such as the MRI. The claims process was fast and easy, and I am very grateful to them for all of the help they have provided.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

A.Howard, New Jersey

November 9, 2019
I am so happy I decided to get pet insurance for my pug. As a puppy, he was quite healthy, but after his second anniversary, he developed canine hip dysplasia, which required many veterinary appointments, check-ups, expensive treatments, investigations, and, ultimately, a very complicated surgery. Embrace was there for us, and they covered the costs of an MRI, which was lifesaving. The claim process went smooth and was faster than expected.
Helpful 1 people found this review helpful
5 out of 5

Maria Phillips, IL

November 8, 2019
My pet had ACL surgery, and I was quite unsettled about how I would manage to cover the costs. Embrace was there to answer all my questions, and their staff even contacted my vet’s office for additional assistance for submitting my claim. Everything was dealt with professionally. Thank you, Embrace!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
1 out of 5

Easter Watson, New York

October 27, 2019
I don’t understand why everyone recommends Embrace. They aren’t a reliable company for any pet out there. They don’t reimburse! They seek out reasons not to do so! If your pet had previous health problems, they would not accept your claim, even if that problem has nothing to do with the current condition! Embrace is a fraud!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Anne Douglas, Utah

October 26, 2019
I had a good experience with Embrace. When my dog got sick for the first time in her life, they reimbursed the claim. And there was little to no waiting period. Embrace offers quite some benefits, and I was pleased with their services. Otherwise, I would’ve had to pay a lot of money for my dog’s care.
Helpful 1 people found this review helpful
5 out of 5

Lesley, Tennessee

October 24, 2019
My lab, Joo, had insurance with Embrace for eight years. We discovered he had a tumor and we were concerned a lot about the costs. But Embrace was quite helpful and reimbursed each expense we had. The insurance plan is, indeed, quite expensive, but I am so happy I got one. Cancer treatments for pets are outrageously costly. Embrace dealt with everything, and we are so grateful for that.
Helpful 1 people found this review helpful
5 out of 5

Rebecca Newman, Arkansas

October 24, 2019
For quite some time, I’ve been with Embrace, and every claim I have submitted has been approved. Their team is always ready to help. Sadly, my pet passed away recently, but Embrace helped me at all times.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
3 out of 5

Charles Warner, Connecticut

October 23, 2019
We are the type of family that fosters dogs for a living. And we get so attached to them that, eventually, we don’t submit them for adoption. They are part of the family, so they remain with us. So, with up to 10 dogs running around our property, we started thinking about getting a health insurance plan. We have been with Embrace for some time now, and the overall experience has been excellent. Of course, there were some bumps related to communication problems and the reimbursement time frame. I don’t quite understand why we have to offer, every time, our dog’s medical records. We already did that when we bought the policy and our dogs are the same. Anyway, some time ago, one of our puppies ended up at an emergency clinic. Naturally, such a clinic does not have access to all medical records and it is meant to deal with the issue on-site. Our policy with Embrace says it can deal with such reimbursement claims, but only after a specific period. Thus, I have to pay the emergency costs right away. Sometimes, the interest rate is too high, but I perceive it as a perk of collaborating with Embrace. With all the dogs my family fosters, we spend a lot of money for Embrace’s insurance plan with a direct withdrawal. It never gets overdue, and I guess if it were the case, they would’ve notified me. Sometimes, I wish it were the same as request handling. We indeed opted for Embrace, thinking about the long-term situation. But at some point, with all these delays, it is only natural to consider whether or not it is better to start from the beginning with another insurance company.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
1 out of 5

Aaron Turner, New Mexico

October 19, 2019
So, I adopted a lovely Labrador from the local shelter, and I wanted to offer her all the best. It is the main reason why I purchased one of Embrace's wellness and incident plans. I was convinced I was making a great choice because of their client testimonials. But Embrace didn't meet my expectations. I struggled alongside my doctor to submit to Embrace my lab’s medical records, and a year after, nothing happened. The doctor is great and submitted claims continuously on my behalf. But as for today, I am considering switching to another insurance company.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
4 out of 5

Ashlee Barnett, Iowa

October 17, 2019
My cat is overly active, so at some point, she tore one of her ligaments. I submitted a request with Embrace to cover the treatment expenses, and the review and admittance took so long that my cat ended up enduring unnecessary pain. Eventually, after a total lack of communication, and after multiple calls in which I was redirected from one representative to another, I was stunned to find out my request was denied. And what is even more outrageous is that the denial was based on the representative’s mistake of not reading the invoice date correctly. It was quite unprofessional, but I kept contacting them. With some determination, I managed to get my request approved. From this point on, everything went ok. My cat was prepped for surgery, while I found myself dealing with submitting all reimbursement claims. And it happened because Embrace claimed the vet’s office never offered any papers to prove the costs. After all this, the reimbursement was done quite fast, so it is fair to admit all the hassle was worth it.
Helpful 1 people found this review helpful
5 out of 5

Stephen Greene, IL

October 11, 2019
For a long time now, I have been in love with the Field Spaniel dog breed. After my first Spaniel joined our home, I started to read a lot about this breed and its particularities. Shortly thereafter, I found a local dog’s club in my area, and I began to attend their meetings. This is how I found out this breed is quite sensitive and prone to develop several health problems. So, I started thinking about purchasing an insurance plan and asked around about the best company. Embrace was the one mentioned most often, and many suggested they are the best in the field. I opted for one of their plans, as they never made a distinction in regards to costs based on the breed of your dog. After some time with Embrace, my dog needed surgery for an injury he got due to straining his ligaments too much. The cost of the procedure, treatment and aftercare was over $3000. The first thing that amazed me about Embrace was that they diminished my deductible, because that was my first claim with them. Indeed, some of my requests were not reimbursed as quickly as I wished, but in the end, all the money arrived in my account. When my dog started to get older and older, the cost of my policy increased. And I didn’t mind at all. I know I can rely on Embrace whatever the case, as they are proactive and manage to help no matter how difficult the situation is.
Helpful 1 people found this review helpful
Visit Insure Website

How do I know I can trust these reviews?

  • There are close 1 865 verified Consumer Affairs reviews.
  • We request the contact information of all reviewers to confirm their identity.
  • To maintain the site’s integrity, we use smart software to help us out.
  • Again, moderators will investigate all reviews before posting to ensure quality and usefulness.

Not sure how to choose?

Get expert byuing tips about Pet Insurance delivered to your inbox

Not sure about Embrace?

Take our two minute quiz to find the right Pet Insurance for you

No spam. We take your privacy seriously.
Visit Insure Website

Embrace Company Information

Year Founded: 2003
Address: 4530 Richmond Road
Phone: (800) 511-9172
ZIP Code: 44128
City: Cleveland
State: Ohio
Country: United States
Price Range: from $29.8 per month
Website: www.embracepetinsurance.com

Pets are an integral part of the family, and pet owners want to provide them with the best diet, and the best care money has to offer. Finding the best pet insurance plan for them is essential too, but with so many companies out there, it can be challenging to decide which is the ideal choice. The level of care the company is willing to provide is vital, as is the core values by which they operate their business. Embrace Pet Insurance is a pet insurance provider that runs their business based on their core values – and it shows.

Embrace Pet Insurance was founded in 2003 after winning the 2003 Wharton Business Plan Competition. Today, it continues on a pattern of significant growth, with a constant focus and regard for the customer. Embrace maintains an eco-friendly, pet-friendly office, and much of its staff are registered veterinary technicians. This is relevant not only for day-to-day business as usual but for the volunteer veterinary assistant work that members of the staff take on.

Embrace Pet Health Insurance

Embrace offers one comprehensive pet insurance plan that caters to both cats and dogs. The plan that they offer is also customizable. The client can select the annual maximum, the annual deductible, and a reimbursement percentage that fits their budget and needs.

There are four unique features to their comprehensive insurance plan:

  • Diminishing deductible – This means that every year the client does not file a claim or receive a claim payment, Embrace reduces the client’s deductible by $50
  • Pre-existing conditions – Generally, pre-existing conditions are not covered by a pet insurance policy or any other insurance policies for that matter. However, if it is a curable condition and the cat or dog has been symptom- and treatment-free for 12 months, the pre-existing condition will be covered
  • Wellness rewards – Embrace offers wellness rewards for routine care. This means that they will reimburse for preventative veterinary care, grooming, training, and many other items, with no per-item limits
  • Exam fees – Exam fees are covered with Embrace

Embrace offers what’s known as nose-to-tail pet insurance coverage, and they reimburse up to 90% of all unexpected veterinary bills. Accidents, illnesses, genetic conditions, cancer, and chronic conditions are covered. Besides, alternative therapies and rehabilitation are covered under a comprehensive policy. There is coverage for cats and dogs from 8 weeks all the way up through the senior years. There is no reduced coverage based on age, health status, or claims filed.
PetInsuranceFinder
Ohio Pet (Dog & Cat) Insurance – All Prices and Reviews in OH
PetInsuranceFinder ➦ Learn about Pet Insurance providers in【Ohio】✅ Prices ✅ Quotes ➨ Reviews about Dog and Cat Health Insurance in OH

All Embrace insurance policies have a 14-day waiting period for illnesses. The waiting periods for accidents are 48 hours, and orthopedic conditions come with a 6-month waiting period. However, a feature unique to Embrace is that the waiting period for orthopedic conditions can be reduced through the Orthopedic Exam and Waiver Process. This type of process requires an orthopedic exam to be performed by the veterinarian. The veterinarian then fills out an exam “report card” detailing the findings of the orthopedic exam. The exam checks for hip dysplasia, cruciate ligament tears, and luxating patellas. It also checks for elbow dysplasia and osteochondritis dissecans. All joints are examined for signs of arthritis, and all bones are analyzed for signs of fractures and bone cancer.

Embrace Claim

Once the pet has received diagnosis and treatment, it is time to address one more thing – getting reimbursed for the treatment services rendered. Enter Embrace’s easy claim filing process:

  • Complete the claims form: Print out the claim form, download it from the website or access it via a mobile device. If desired, it is also possible to have the claim form mailed or faxed by the customer service department
  • Attach itemized invoices: In addition to the claim form, it is vital to send in itemized, paid-in-full invoices electronically via fax, email, or upload to the website. If desired, the client may also mail the Claims Department's claims packet in Embrace’s headquarters in Ohio
  • Payment/reimbursement on all claims will come through DirectDeposit

The client may decide, prior to filing a claim, to request a pre-certification. A pre-certification confirms whether or not a proposed treatment or procedure is eligible for reimbursement. The veterinarian would provide evidence of a diagnosis, plus an itemized listing of a proposed treatment, testing, and cost. Embrace will inform the client what is covered and what isn’t (if any). This type of information is helpful for the client because knowing this ahead of time helps manage financial expectations.

Community Involvement

Giving back to their community is one of Embrace’s core values, and they do it in a variety of ways.

  • First of all, for every policy that Embrace sells, they donate $2 to pet-related charities. For individuals choosing a veterinary technician as a career path, Embrace offers three $1,000 Veterinary Technician Student Scholarships for the school year.
  • Another way that Embrace gives back to their community is through employee donation match. For every employee donation, regardless of whether or not the charity is pet-related, Embrace will match the employee donation 100%.
  • Embrace also participates in or sponsors multiple local and national events for great causes. Some of these causes include Best Friends Animal Society, Cleveland Animal Protective League, Ohio Search Dog Association, and WECare Worldwide, just to name a few.

Embrace Awards

Over the years, Embrace has been recognized or honored for its hard work in the field.

  • They are a five-time winner (2014, 2016-2019) of The Plain Dealer’s “Northeast Ohio’s Top Workplaces.”
  • They are an eight-time winner (2010-2013 & 2015-2018) of the NorthCoast 99 award, given to 99 workplaces for top talent in Northeast Ohio.
  • In 2017, Embrace won a NorthCoast 99 Special Category Award for Organizational Support and Work/Life Balance. They enjoy many high ratings from customers and an A+ rating from the Better Business Bureau.
Visit Insure Website

Compare Embrace vs Other Pet Insurance Providers

Embrace HealthyPaws Petplan ASPCA Petsbest
Customer Rating 7.6 9.8 7.9 9.1 8.7
Unlimited Lifetime Benefits No Yes No No No
Covers All Illnesses & Accidents Yes Yes No Yes No
Covers All Genetic Conditions Yes Yes No Yes No
Includes Alternative Therapies Yes Yes No Yes No
Type of Deductible Per Incident Annual Annual Annual Annual
Financial Stability Rating A+ A+ A A+ A-
Visit Insure Website

Embrace Insurance Coverage

  • Accidents & illnesses
  • Breed-specific conditions
  • Alternative therapies* & rehabilitation
  • Diagnostic testing & imaging
  • ER & specialist care
  • Prescription drugs (Optional to include in NY.)
  • Cancer treatment
  • Behavioral therapy
  • Surgery, hospitalization, & nursing care
  • Chronic conditions
  • Consultations/exam fees
  • Dental illness up to $1,000/year (Available in most states.)

What’s Not Covered

  • Pre-existing conditions
  • Cosmetic procedures (declawing, ear cropping, tail docking, etc.)
  • Breeding and whelping
  • DNA testing or cloning


!

Petinsurancefinder is an independent platform, made to provide pet owners with up-to-date information about top insurance companies. Any insurance company that is presented on this website has the right to make changes to its official data. We are dedicated to distributing reviews based on a person's experience and opinions of his/her insurance company. Reviews are "reviewed" to ensure there is no offensive material. All information may be used only for reference; carefully review your policy before purchasing and signing a new contract. As an independent platform, we receive compensation from companies listed in the comparison block. No review is a representation of our company or its employees.