Get Quotes
Pet insurance / Embrace Pet Insurance Reviews
Embrance Reviews

Having medical insurance for your pet can be beneficial when you consider the high cost of veterinary care these days. Embrace offers you policies for each of your pets, and can even reward you by reducing your annual deductible by $50 for each year that you don’t receive a claim payment (they call it their ‘Healthy Pet Deductible’).

Your pet can be covered for accidents, chronic conditions, cancer, as well as other illnesses (including Dental and Breed specific and genetic conditions). You choose the Annual Deductible and Maximum limit you are comfortable with as well as whether you want to pay for a full 12 months rather than on a monthly basis. A Wellness Rewards product is also available to help you pay for wellness exam fees and routine vet care (with available allowances of $250, $450 or $650).

Take the first step in protecting your furry friend by getting a free quote from Embrace.

Embrance Reviews

Average Customer Rating

4 out of 5

5 stars
41
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
11

Embrace Pet Insurance Reviews

Sort:

A.Howard

November 9, 2019
I am so happy I decided to get pet insurance for my pug. As a puppy, he was quite healthy, but after his second anniversary, he developed canine hip dysplasia, which required a lot of veterinary appointments, check-ups, expensive treatments, investigations and, ultimately, a very complicated surgery. Embrace was there for us, and they even covered the costs of an MRI, which was lifesaving. The claim process went smooth and was faster than expected.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Maria Phillips

November 8, 2019
My pet had ACL surgery, and I was quite unsettled about how I would manage to cover the costs. Embrace was there to answer all my questions, and their staff even contacted my vet’s office for additional assistance for submitting my claim. Everything was dealt with professionally. Thank you, Embrace!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Easter Watson

October 27, 2019
I don’t understand why everyone recommends Embrace. They aren’t a reliable company for any pet out there. They don’t reimburse! They seek out reasons not to do so! If your pet had previous health problems, they would not accept your claim, even if that problem has nothing to do with the current condition! Embrace is a fraud!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Anne Douglas

October 26, 2019
I had a good experience with Embrace. When my dog got sick for the first time in her life, they reimbursed the claim. And there was little to no waiting period. Embrace offers quite some benefits, and I was pleased with their services. Otherwise, I would’ve had to pay a lot of money for my dog’s care.
Helpful 1 people found this review helpful

Lesley

October 24, 2019
My lab, Joo, had insurance with Embrace for eight years. We discovered he had a tumor and we were concerned a lot about the costs. But Embrace was quite helpful and reimbursed each expense we had. The insurance plan is, indeed, quite expensive, but I am so happy I got one. Cancer treatments for pets are outrageously costly. Embrace dealt with everything, and we are so grateful for that.
Helpful 1 people found this review helpful

Rebecca Newman

October 24, 2019
For quite some time, I’ve been with Embrace, and every claim I have submitted has been approved. Their team is always ready to help. Sadly, my pet passed away recently, but Embrace helped me at all times.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Charles Warner

October 23, 2019
We are the type of family that fosters dogs for a living. And we get so attached to them that, eventually, we don’t submit them for adoption. They are part of the family, so they remain with us. So, with up to 10 dogs running around our property, we started thinking about getting a health insurance plan. We have been with Embrace for some time now, and the overall experience has been excellent. Of course, there were some bumps related to communication problems and the reimbursement time frame. I don’t quite understand why we have to offer, every time, our dog’s medical records. We already did that when we bought the policy and our dogs are the same. Anyway, some time ago, one of our puppies ended up at an emergency clinic. Naturally, such a clinic does not have access to all medical records and it is meant to deal with the issue on-site. Our policy with Embrace says it can deal with such reimbursement claims, but only after a specific period. Thus, I have to pay the emergency costs right away. Sometimes, the interest rate is too high, but I perceive it as a perk of collaborating with Embrace. With all the dogs my family fosters, we spend a lot of money for Embrace’s insurance plan with a direct withdrawal. It never gets overdue, and I guess if it were the case, they would’ve notified me. Sometimes, I wish it were the same as request handling. We indeed opted for Embrace, thinking about the long-term situation. But at some point, with all these delays, it is only natural to consider whether or not it is better to start from the beginning with another insurance company.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Aaron Turner

October 19, 2019
So, I adopted a lovely Labrador from the local shelter, and I wanted to offer her all the best. It is the main reason why I purchased one of Embrace's wellness and incident plans. I was convinced I was making a great choice because of their client testimonials. But Embrace didn't meet my expectations. I struggled alongside my doctor to submit to Embrace my lab’s medical records, and a year after, nothing happened. The doctor is great and submitted claims continuously on my behalf. But as for today, I am considering switching to another insurance company.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Ashlee Barnett

October 17, 2019
My cat is overly active, so at some point, she tore one of her ligaments. I submitted a request with Embrace to cover the treatment expenses, and the review and admittance took so long that my cat ended up enduring unnecessary pain. Eventually, after a total lack of communication, and after multiple calls in which I was redirected from one representative to another, I was stunned to find out my request was denied. And what is even more outrageous is that the denial was based on the representative’s mistake of not reading the invoice date correctly. It was quite unprofessional, but I kept contacting them. With some determination, I managed to get my request approved. From this point on, everything went ok. My cat was prepped for surgery, while I found myself dealing with submitting all reimbursement claims. And it happened because Embrace claimed the vet’s office never offered any papers to prove the costs. After all this, the reimbursement was done quite fast, so it is fair to admit all the hassle was worth it.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Stephen Greene

October 11, 2019
For a long time now, I have been in love with the Field Spaniel dog breed. After my first Spaniel joined our home, I started to read a lot about this breed and its particularities. Shortly thereafter, I found a local dog’s club in my area, and I began to attend their meetings. This is how I found out this breed is quite sensitive and prone to develop several health problems. So, I started thinking about purchasing an insurance plan and asked around about the best company. Embrace was the one mentioned most often, and many suggested they are the best in the field. I opted for one of their plans, as they never made a distinction in regards to costs based on the breed of your dog. After some time with Embrace, my dog needed surgery for an injury he got due to straining his ligaments too much. The cost of the procedure, treatment and aftercare was over $3000. The first thing that amazed me about Embrace was that they diminished my deductible, because that was my first claim with them. Indeed, some of my requests were not reimbursed as quickly as I wished, but in the end, all the money arrived in my account. When my dog started to get older and older, the cost of my policy increased. And I didn’t mind at all. I know I can rely on Embrace whatever the case, as they are proactive and manage to help no matter how difficult the situation is.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Linda

October 10, 2019
So, I am sharing my experience after having insurance with Embrace for some time now. My cat was diagnosed with cancer and needed chemotherapy. She was quite unhappy, with all the trips to the vet, so I decided to deliver her treatment at home. The doctor gave me oral chemo, and we committed to regular health checkups. But Embrace refused my claim because the procedure was done at home. Mainly, they said that to get reimbursed, the cancer treatment needed to be done in a pet hospital.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Vanessa Gray

October 7, 2019
Out of the blue, our beagle had a back injury, and having an insurance policy saved us a lot in terms of financial problems. We’ve enrolled with Embrace at our friend’s recommendation, as they are popular amongst those looking for breed-specific, health problem coverage. And they offered all they’ve promised: we had to take our beagle for expensive back surgery and this company covered almost all costs.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Lily Grant

September 23, 2019
So, it took me ten days to submit a claim for reimbursement. Embrace did not deal with it for ten days. And after that, they said it was redirected for the review board. And seven days later, we had no response. I even telephoned them again, and no one managed to offer me an explanation. The whole purpose of an insurance policy is to get reimbursed in a decent timeframe.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Ruth

September 20, 2019
My dear pug, Lula, died shortly after she reached 13 years of age. She suffered from kidney disease and had several kidney stones that kept reappearing. And as it is the case with any kidney-related problem, the vet’s bill was quite expensive. Several ultrasounds, personalized treatments and even intravenous infusions, were needed. We had to feed her special food, a rare blend of dry food for dogs with kidney problems. And I had to watch her go through all these problems up until she passed away. I regretted deeply I never considered having an insurance plan for my dog. After this, I couldn’t resist the urge and ended up fostering two new pugs. My vet recommended Embrace, and he said he deeply trusted their insurance plans. That plan features all sorts of facilities, including wellness care and disease care. Overall, I feel so relaxed and happy that Embrace cares about my dogs. I know that if anything wrong happens, Embrace has got us covered! I recommend this insurance company with all my heart!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Allyson

September 19, 2019
Embrace was the best thing I ever did for my senior dog. Due to age, he had several digestive problems, which is why we spent quite some money at the vet’s office to find out what was wrong. Embrace covered almost all my claims, and I am waiting for the reimbursement. I genuinely thank them for their support
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Carol Parrish

September 14, 2019
Embrace is the greatest thing that happened to my dogs and me. When one of my dogs had digestive tract problems, the claim was analyzed and approved quickly. The reimbursement came in no time, and my dog got the best treatment to ease his pain. Embrace Pet Insurance is the greatest!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Gladys Stanley

September 13, 2019
My boyfriend took our dog for an annual exam at the vet’s office without checking with me to see whether or not we can do that with our insurance plan. Somewhere on the policy, it is underlined that it covers only one annual physical exam. However, our dog’s last visit was only 11 months ago. Naturally, I submitted a request with this insurance company, and, as I predicted, they offered to cover only a part of the money available after reimbursement of the previous check-up. I was so annoyed because we’ve already had to cover a $200 emergency fee to replace our dog’s traveling papers. Moreover, a bank misunderstanding led to a significant debt of taxes (and to clear this up: the bank will return only a quarter of those). It just seemed that I had to undergo additional payments, and I get outraged when I waste money. So, with little to no hope, I called Embrace and told them my story and how we mistakenly took our pet for a physical a month earlier. The customer service representative offered to help me, so I submitted my claim, and they decided to reimburse me. Embrace is not the first pet insurance company I have dealt with, but I can definitely say they are the best. I will use their services as long as I own pets!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Kristin Harper

September 8, 2019
For our son’s birthday, we gave him a puppy. Naturally, we bought insurance for him, as we didn’t want to be exposed in case of an emergency. One day, when our son was out on the patio playing with the pup, our neighbors' dog attacked him. He got some nasty bites, so I took him to the vet’s office. He got several stitches, needed some antibiotics and regular checkups to make sure he healed well. I submitted a reimbursement request with Embrace. And guess what? My claim is stalled because they say they don’t have all of my dog’s medical records.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Luke Steven

September 2, 2019
My girlfriend and I had no clue how insurance companies for pets work. So, we signed up for a plan with Embrace, and for a couple of months, everything was fine. We were stunned to discover that Embrace, without any legal reason, has some pre-determined conditions that prevent us from getting reimbursed when our pets get sick. It is quite odd, as no one knows (not even our vet) what those preconditions are. When it comes to insurance companies, one should always seek trustworthy services. Embrace is an unprofessional company that should be avoided.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Aaron Roberts

August 20, 2019
I am a doctor and requested several health claims with Embrace. Everything was awful! Each time they asked for additional, unrelated information, they rejected the request claims due to common symptoms and not because of the health issue. Just consider this: I specified on one of my applications that my pet has, as his main symptom, vomiting. This could be a sign of indigestion, ingestion of toxic food, pancreatitis or even kidney failure. I also added some additional paperwork to prove that lab tests and ultrasounds supported my claim that this was a severe health problem. The vet diagnosed my pet with poisoning. And treatment for this dealt with all symptoms, but Embrace refused to reimburse me because vomiting is such a common symptom. I am determined to sue them, and I am requesting an audience with the insurance commissioner. I am pursuing a claim action, as this is clearly a fraud. It is unheard of to have a claim rejected for such a serious health problem as poisoning. I, for sure, am following all the legal means to sue this insurance company and prevent others from getting scammed. Vomiting will always be a symptom and not the actual diagnosis. It is quite common with pets and can be triggered by all sorts of problems.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
Visit Insure Website

How do I know I can trust these reviews?

  • There are close 1 865 verified Consumer Affairs reviews.
  • We request the contact information of all reviewers to confirm their identity.
  • To maintain the site’s integrity, we use smart software to help us out.
  • Again, moderators will investigate all reviews before posting to ensure quality and usefulness.

Not sure how to choose?

Get expert byuing tips about Pet Insurance delivered to your inbox

Not sure about Embrace?

Take our two minute quiz to find the right Pet Insurance for you

No spam. We take your privacy seriously.
Visit Insure Website

Pets are an integral part of the family and pet owners want to provide them with the best diet and the best care money has to offer. Finding the best pet insurance plan for them is important too, but with so many companies out there, it can be difficult to decide which is the ideal choice. The level of care the company is willing to provide is vital, as is the core values by which they operate their business. Embrace Pet Insurance is a pet insurance provider that runs their business based on their core values – and it shows.

Embrace Pet Insurance was founded in 2003 after winning the 2003 Wharton Business Plan Competition. Today, it continues on a pattern of significant growth, with a constant focus and regard for the customer. Embrace maintains an eco-friendly, pet-friendly office, and much of its staff are registered veterinary technicians. This is relevant not only for day-to-day business as usual, but for the volunteer veterinary assistant work that members of the staff take on.

The Business of Insurance

Embrace offers one comprehensive pet insurance plan that caters to both cats and dogs. The plan that they offer is also customizable. The client can select the annual maximum, the annual deductible, and a reimbursement percentage that fits their budget and needs.

There are four unique features to their comprehensive insurance plan:

  • Diminishing deductible – This means that every year the client does not file a claim or receive a claim payment, Embrace reduces the client’s deductible by $50
  • Pre-existing conditions – Generally pre-existing conditions are not covered by a pet insurance policy, or many other insurance policies for that matter. However, if it is a curable condition and the cat or dog has been symptom- and treatment-free for 12 months, the pre-existing condition will be covered
  • Wellness rewards – Embrace offers wellness rewards for routine care. This means that they will reimburse for preventative veterinary care, grooming, training and many other items, with no per-item limits
  • Exam fees – Exam fees are covered with Embrace

Embrace offers what’s known as nose-to-tail pet insurance coverage and they reimburse up to 90% of all unexpected veterinary bills. Accidents, illnesses, genetic conditions, cancer and chronic conditions are covered. In addition, alternative therapies and rehabilitation are covered under a comprehensive policy. There is coverage for cats and dogs from 8 weeks all the way up through the senior years. There is no reduced coverage based on age, health status or claims filed.

All Embrace insurance policies have a 14-day waiting period for illnesses. The waiting periods for accidents are 48 hours and orthopedic conditions come with a 6-month waiting period. However, a feature unique to Embrace is that the waiting period for orthopedic conditions can be reduced through the Orthopedic Exam and Waiver Process. This type of process requires an orthopedic exam be performed by the veterinarian. The veterinarian then fills out an exam “report card” detailing the findings of the orthopedic exam. The exam checks for hip dysplasia, cruciate ligament tears and luxating patellas. It also checks for elbow dysplasia and osteochondritis dissecans. All joints are examined for signs of arthritis and all bones are analyzed for signs of fractures and bone cancer.

Filing a Claim

Once the pet has received diagnosis and treatment, it is time to address one more thing – getting reimbursed for the treatment services rendered. Enter Embrace’s easy claim filing process:

  • Complete the claims form: Print out the claim form, download it from the website or access it via a mobile device. If desired, it is also possible to have the claim form mailed or faxed by the customer service department
  • Attach itemized invoices: In addition to the claim form, it is vital to send in itemized, paid-in-full invoices electronically via fax, email or upload to the website. If desired, the client may also mail the claims packet to the Claims Department in Embrace’s headquarters in Ohio
  • Payment/reimbursement on all claims will come through DirectDeposit

The client may decide, prior to filing a claim, to request a pre-certification. A pre-certification confirms whether or not a proposed treatment or procedure is eligible for reimbursement. The veterinarian would provide evidence of diagnosis, plus an itemized listing of proposed treatment or testing and cost. Embrace will inform the client what is covered and what isn’t (if any). This type of information is helpful for the client, because by knowing this ahead of time, it helps to manage financial expectations.

Giving Back

Giving back to their community is one of Embrace’s core values and they do it in a variety of ways. First of all, for every policy that Embrace sells, they donate $2 to pet-related charities. For individuals choosing veterinary technician as a career path, Embrace offers three $1,000 Veterinary Technician Student Scholarships for the school year. Another way that Embrace gives back to their community is through employee donation match. For every employee donation, regardless of whether or not the charity is pet-related, Embrace will match the employee donation 100%.

Embrace also participates in or sponsors multiple local and national events for great causes. Some of these causes include, Best Friends Animal Society, Cleveland Animal Protective League, Ohio Search Dog Association, and WECare Worldwide, just to name a few.

In Honor Of …

Over the years, Embrace has been recognized or honored for its hard work in the field. They are a five-time winner (2014, 2016-2019) of The Plain Dealer’s “Northeast Ohio’s Top Workplaces.” They are an eight-time winner (2010-2013 & 2015-2018) of the NorthCoast 99 award, given to 99 workplaces for top talent in Northeast Ohio. In 2017, Embrace won a NorthCoast 99 Special Category Award for Organizational Support and Work/Life Balance. They enjoy many, many high ratings from customers and an A+ rating from the Better Business Bureau.

Visit Insure Website


!

We are dedicated to distributing reviews that are based on a person's experience and opinions of their insurance company. It's not uncommon for reviews to be "reviewed" to ensure there is no offensive material. However, no review is a representation of our company and employees.