Get Quotes
Pet insurance / PetPremium Pet Insurance Reviews
Petpremium

Pet insurance can help you pay for care for your cat or dog when they get injured or become unwell. PetPremium offers both an Accident Only or Total Coverage plans with various annual limits (from $2,500 up to unlimited), reimbursement percentages of 70 to 90% and different annual deductible (from $100 to $500). Their Total Coverage plan covers accidents, illnesses, hereditary and congenital conditions, as well as Behavioral and Alternative Therapies. The Accident Only Plan covers, as it indicates, accidents but also includes allowances for Alternate Therapies.

There is also a wellness plan offered that can be added to either plan. If your pet is over 8 weeks old, go get a quote and see how affordable the insurance can be.

Petpremium

Average Customer Rating

3.8 out of 5

5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2

PetPremium Pet Insurance Reviews

Sort:

Judith T.T.

November 27, 2019
This service is one of the few that covers routine checkups. It was not easy for me to find one that does. Thank you for making it accessible!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Carmella Gallagher

November 27, 2019
I bought this insurance and everything went great until I wanted to login to my account. They say that they cannot find my email in their database.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Ethan Rice

October 20, 2019
Thank you for your service and especially to Marcy who was very helpful! I chose your company based on your expertise and good reviews for your service.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Emma Harrell

October 7, 2019
As a first-time pet owner, I am happy that I found this company for the pet insurance program. They are very helpful throughout the whole process. I found their website easy to navigate and understand. I also liked that they offer advice on how to deal with your pet when it has health issues. PetPremium gives me the peace of mind that I need, and I am sure that when the going gets tough, they will be there to support me.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Agnes Hodges

September 29, 2019
We have 5 dogs, but we only got this policy for one of them. We decided to get a different company for each of our furry buddies and see which one was more advantageous in the long run.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Shonda

August 13, 2019
It is too early for me to rate this service, since I just bought it. It is my first time buying pet insurance, and I think that I paid a fair price, clearly cheaper than other policies out there.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Daniella Bradford

August 2, 2019
The payment process was easy to go through. However, I still haven’t received a receipt for what I paid, and I really want to have it confirmed.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

William

May 25, 2019
I like this website because it is easier to navigate than other sites for pet insurance policies. It is my first time paying for one, and I really like that they include a wellness policy, too. I was looking for something like that. Thank you so much!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Jason Cameron

April 10, 2019
The price is fair. However, I did not like the whole registration process. It was too long, and I had to type in the same information multiple times. Please make it simpler for future users. It is a bit too early to talk about the product quality, but I will return with an update in the future. Thanks!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Charles Freeman

July 13, 2018
I don’t know what to say about the service or the company. I have not received the confirmation for my policy yet, and frankly, I am not sure if I got it or not. I did not get any emails to confirm it. I might check to call later, and then I will let you know how I rate this whole experience.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Paul Morris

June 1, 2018
I don’t like the payment process that doesn’t let you go back and fix errors. Also, I do not appreciate that I have to pay an extra fee for every processed payment.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Brook Glenn

May 15, 2018
I want to share my horrible experience with PetPremium, which was made that way by their administrator, Crum & Forester. They are as far from professional or well-intended as you will find. They want to get your money and then deny any claims. Prepare yourself to hear a lot of lies, too! I wish that I could find a silver lining in this entire affair, but that is impossible. They will change the facts and the truth just to have it their way. They even told me that the conversation that I had with my vet did not happen. There is no extent to which they wouldn’t go to distort reality. Their strategy of ripping you off is not a mistake. They act that way on purpose. And they do not care about the amount of money that they steal from you. They denied my claims whether they were $30 or $22,000. They will twist the truth in such a way that you never have any vet bills covered. Crum & Forester are, by far, the worst company that I have ever worked with in my life. It is a scam of huge proportions. If you care about your health and your dog’s well-being, you should take your business elsewhere. They are not worth your time, and in the end, you can just as well pay your vet directly than book a policy with PetPremium. They are a shame for the pet insurance industry.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Amelia Bell

March 20, 2018
This service has exactly what I need for my pet. It works quickly and easily, and I hope that any future procedures will be the same.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Clarissa Alexander

July 3, 2017
My experience with PetPremium was awful. I asked for an estimate for TPLO surgery for my Husky, and they sent me the sum that they would cover. However, when I went forward with the surgery procedures, they said they would only cover a small part of what they initially promised. I felt cheated, and the people at PetPremium did not act helpful or professional at all. For me, it seems that they only care about cashing in on your problems, and they couldn’t care less about your pet.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Kenneth Higgins

May 15, 2017
I found the online registration process to be pretty straightforward. Next, I talked on the phone with a customer support agent, and he was happy to answer all of my queries.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Peter Baker

April 19, 2017
I don’t know if they have exactly what I need. I only needed to get the neutering costs covered for now, but even that process was difficult and it dragged on forever.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Charles Wiggins

April 17, 2016
It is my first time buying PetPremium insurance, but it may also by my last. After paying for it, I did a bit of research and found cheaper policies at other companies.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Marybeth

March 1, 2016
This service is amazing! I studied the market for different pet insurance prices, and this plan was the cheapest that I found. I had my doubts at first and asked plenty of questions, but they easily answered to all of them. Paying for insurance is always a tiresome process, but PetPremium made it easy and quick. I bought the Level 2 Plan for my Dalmatian puppy. I fully recommend it!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
Visit Insure Website

How do I know I can trust these reviews?

  • There are close 1 865 verified Consumer Affairs reviews.
  • We request the contact information of all reviewers to confirm their identity.
  • To maintain the site’s integrity, we use smart software to help us out.
  • Again, moderators will investigate all reviews before posting to ensure quality and usefulness.

Not sure how to choose?

Get expert byuing tips about Pet Insurance delivered to your inbox

Not sure about PetPremium?

Take our two minute quiz to find the right Pet Insurance for you

No spam. We take your privacy seriously.
Visit Insure Website

Without insurance, an unexpected medical bill in the thousands of dollars often proves a challenge for many Americans in a demanding economy. PetPremium gives you a buffer, with a preemptive measure that keeps you covered in the event of an accident involving your beloved pet.

Typically, insurers provide a range of healthcare plans, depending on the available budget and the unique medical needs of your dog or cat. This insurer avails several policies for pet parents, with the ability to choose a suitable plan availing some much-needed financial and healthcare flexibility.

Dog health insurance usually costs slightly more compared to that for cats. However, individual healthcare needs for each animal are a crucial determinant of the amount of annual deemed suitable. There is also a range of amounts deductible for each policy. When making a choice, patience is vital. PetPremium offers excellent customer service, ensuring that you have an easy time choosing the best plan.

PetPremium offers wellness care. This cover involves the diagnostics and treatment carried out for preventive purposes with no underlying health complications. Some of the services in this category include vaccinations, select cleaning procedures, and routine tests aiming at avoiding more severe health issues down the line.

Insurance Policies

PetPremium employs a flexible policy formulation approach in a bid to avail tailor-made healthcare solutions for pet parents. Here are the considerations that give a guideline in the determination of a suitable rate for your policy:

  • Conventionally, cities have higher healthcare costs than other areas. If you reside in New York, for instance, your premiums are likely to be higher than someone outside the city.
  • Senior pets have different medical needs and need a keen eye on their health due to their susceptibility to diseases and other health complications.
  • Breeds and Species. The species of a cat or dog leaves it prone to specific health issues; therefore, the likelihood for medical attention varies from one animal to the other.
  • Deductible and Co-Pay. A deductible sets a limit for the amount payable from your end each year before you qualify for reimbursement by the insurer. The co-pay is the percentage of the medical bills that remain your financial responsibility.

The above factors aid in assessing the risk factor when purchasing an insurance policy for your beloved pet. The lesser the risk, the more comfortable you are with a younger animal with little chance for health issues in the year. Accidents, however, add an aspect of unpredictability, so, regardless of age and breed, you may want to keep all your bases covered.

Coverage Plans

There are two broad categories of policies available at PetPremium. These are the Accidents-Only Coverage and the Total Coverage. Each type of plan avails a unique package aimed at securing your pet’s health.

Accidents-Only Coverage

Both policy types come with a 30-day money-back guarantee, provided that you haven’t submitted any claims within that trial period. It is, therefore, within your right to try each out for free.

The Accidents-Only Coverage has a reimbursement percentage of up to 90 percent. This policy has annual limits of:

  • $2,500
  • $3,000
  • $4,000
  • $5,000
  • $7,000
  • $10,000
  • $15,000
  • $20,000
  • Unlimited

The yearly deductible options are $100, $250, and $500. This plan covers accidents, pre-existing conditions, accidents, and the choice of preventive care health cover.

The Total Coverage

This policy has a reimbursement rate of up to 90 percent. The annual limits range from $2500 to $20,000. The annual deductible is anywhere between $100 and $500. The Total Coverage keeps your pet insured for:

  • Accidents
  • Illnesses
  • Ongoing conditions
  • Congenital conditions
  • Hereditary conditions
  • Alternative therapies
  • Preventive care (optional)
  • Behavioral treatment

A brief look at the categories shows a well-formulated platform to cater for all manner of budgets and medical needs for pets. The Accident-Only Plan caters to accidents and the medical bills that may follow such incidents. The Total Coverage provides cover for illnesses as well, meaning reimbursement for:

  • Lab tests
  • Prescription medication
  • Surgeries
  • Hospitalization
  • X-rays

The optional preventive care plans come in the following categories:

  • Basic – $9.95
  • Standard – $14.95
  • Prime – $24.95

There are a lot of options, and one may face the temptation to go for the cheapest or most affordable. Lower premiums result in lower annual covers, and you end up paying more out of pocket for any expensive healthcare needs that spring up along the way.

Filing a claim at PetPremium is a straightforward process. You download the claim form (a PDF), fill it, and email, fax, or mail it. The complete form comes with the relevant invoice and necessary contact information. Reimbursement usually takes place within 30 days.

To cancel a policy, a written request by email is enough. Note that this insurer doesn’t cover dogs older than 12 and cats older than 14.

Conclusion

PetPremium offers health cover in two broad categories. However, the countless options within the two policy classifications address a host of healthcare options for pets tailored to suit all budgets and medical needs. There is a smart add-on list of options for a more extensive cover for your animal’s health. A professional set up and fantastic customer service makes this one of the top pet insurance companies in the United States.

Visit Insure Website


!

We are dedicated to distributing reviews that are based on a person's experience and opinions of their insurance company. It's not uncommon for reviews to be "reviewed" to ensure there is no offensive material. However, no review is a representation of our company and employees.