Get Quotes
Petpremium

Pet insurance can help you pay for your cat or dog when they get injured or become unwell. PetPremium offers both an Accident Only or Total Coverage plans with various annual limits (from $2,500 up to unlimited), reimbursement percentages of 70 to 90%, and different annual deductible (from $100 to $500). Their Total Coverage plan covers accidents, illnesses, hereditary and congenital conditions, and behavioral and alternative therapies. The Accident Only Plan covers, as it indicates, accidents but also includes allowances for Alternate Therapies.

There is also a wellness plan offered that can be added to either program. If your pet is over 8 weeks old, go get a quote and see how affordable the insurance can be.

Petpremium

Average Customer Rating

4 out of 5

Based on 26 customer ratings
5 stars
15
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
2

PetPremium Pet Insurance Reviews

Sort:

5 out of 5

Tony Adkins, New York

May 14, 2020
I have been with Pet Premium for a couple of years now, and I like what they have to offer. I’ve submitted many claims over the years, and the entire process was simple. I don’t think I ever had any trouble with it. I like that their website has all of the information about what they cover. I don’t like to call in and speak with customer service because it takes too long. They really showed me that they care about my dog and that compassion really goes a long way as far as keeping me as a customer.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
4 out of 5

Daisy Collins, Arkansas

April 24, 2020
I’ve been a customer for about a year. I have submitted several claims, and the reimbursement process was fast and straightforward. They didn’t cover me every bill, but that is how all insurance companies work. I like the most because there is a lot of useful and helpful information on their website. They do more than just selling insurance policies. Customer service always very professional and patient. Thank you, PetPremium. Good job.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

David Campbell, Missouri

April 13, 2020
I’ve got Pet Premium insurance for two years already. It was the first time I had to buy pet insurance. I have made 2 claims. The first was for the spaying of my dog. They’ve been reluctant to reimburse. I assume that the overall payment cycle took 2 weeks. The second point was for her vaccines and other medical treatment. It’s been carried out over a week. For the first time, their website looked were cumbersome for me. I wasn’t able to find my dog’s plan and another necessary thing for me. But after my call, they updated that. Awesome!! I can’t imagine the company doing that so fast. Customer service works excellent. They listen to you and understand. Thus, I highly recommend this company to all!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Judith T.T., Colorado

November 27, 2019
This service is one of the few that covers routine checkups. It was not easy for me to find one that does. Thank you for making it accessible!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
3 out of 5

Carmella Gallagher, Florida

November 27, 2019
I bought this insurance and everything went great until I wanted to login to my account. They say that they cannot find my email in their database.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Ethan Rice, South Carolina

October 20, 2019
Thank you for your service and especially to Marcy who was very helpful! I chose your company based on your expertise and good reviews for your service.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Emma Harrell, Arizona

October 7, 2019
As a first-time pet owner, I am happy that I found this company for the pet insurance program. They are very helpful throughout the whole process. I found their website easy to navigate and understand. I also liked that they offer advice on how to deal with your pet when it has health issues. PetPremium gives me the peace of mind that I need, and I am sure that when the going gets tough, they will be there to support me.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Agnes Hodges, Iowa

September 29, 2019
We have 5 dogs, but we only got this policy for one of them. We decided to get a different company for each of our furry buddies and see which one was more advantageous in the long run.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Shonda, SD

August 13, 2019
It is too early for me to rate this service since I just bought it. It is my first-time purchase pet insurance, and I think that I paid a fair price, clearly cheaper than other policies out there.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
4 out of 5

Daniella Bradford, California

August 2, 2019
The payment process was easy to go through. However, I still haven’t received a receipt for what I paid, and I really want to confirm it.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

William, New York

May 25, 2019
I like this website because it is easier to navigate than other sites for pet insurance policies. It is my first time paying for one, and I really like that they include a wellness policy, too. I was looking for something like that. Thank you so much!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Hammad Reilly, Maine

April 27, 2019
I bought my PetPremium policy around a year ago. Shortly later one of my dogs was hit on the road. Thank God it was not killed. We took our dogs also for annual checkups. All the claims were submitted and paid in around three weeks. There was a deductible, but I still got back about sixty-five percent of the costs. I submitted a total of two claims and both were paid.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
4 out of 5

Jason Cameron, Washington

April 10, 2019
The price is fair. However, I did not like the whole registration process. It was too long, and I had to type in the same information multiple times. Please make it simpler for future users. It is a bit too early to talk about the product quality, but I will return with an update in the future. Thanks!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Ayda Palmer, Kansas

March 20, 2019
I bought my policy when our dog was a year old. I did it because previously before we had pet insurance we spent a lot on vet bills when the dog was sick. She recovered, but then I decided we needed pet insurance to avoid that in the future. And when she got sick again, PetPremium paid us back more than two thousand bucks, which was so thankful.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Judah Frye, Oregon

March 2, 2019
I got their wellness plan as a part of the insurance for my pet. When I brought my dog to get his annual shots and checkup, they said he needed a teeth cleaning too. Then I did that as well. I submitted the claims, and I got paid back very fast. Thank God, no more sickness so far, so not sure how it would work if I did a claim for an illness.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
2 out of 5

Ella-Rose Sutherland, Nebraska

February 22, 2019
I originally had six cats I got covered with a policy from PetPremium. Then one of the cats got hyper thyroid problem and intestinal lymphoma. I put in the claim and when I matched the deductible, they paid me. But they didn’t pay me what I got charged by the vet. Instead they paid me what they thought was fair. For instance, my office call to the vet cost Sixty-five bucks, but they only based the amount they sent me on forty-five dollars. So I cancelled the policy and switched to PetsBest, but they wouldn’t cover a pre-existing issue, so I kept the insurance just for this first cat. A year later, I put in a claim for hyperthyroid meds for the first cat still on the policy. But they denied it because they only cover meds for a year. If I had known that I would not have gotten a policy with PetPremium. I wanted to cancel and they kept trying to prevent me from doing it and told me no one else would cover an older cat. They were incorrect.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Ellena Oneill, Missouri

January 24, 2019
My dog, who was a little over two years old, got very sick suddenly. He was throwing up and there was blood in his poop. We took him to a pet ER as well as a regular vet many times. They had to do xrays, endoscopy and ultrasounds. It was very expensive. I am thrilled we had PetPremium to cover them. They made it easy to cover the claims and it only took two weeks. They even called us to see how our dog was doing, and I thought that was super nice for them to do.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
3 out of 5

Charles Freeman, Kentucky

July 13, 2018
I don’t know what to say about the service or the company. I have not received the confirmation for my policy yet, and frankly, I am not sure if I got it or not. I did not get any emails to confirm it. I might check to call later, and then I will let you know how I rate this whole experience.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
3 out of 5

Paul Morris, Washington

June 1, 2018
I don’t like the payment process that doesn’t let you go back and fix errors. Also, I do not appreciate that I have to pay an extra fee for every processed payment.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
1 out of 5

Brook Glenn, New Jersey

May 15, 2018
I want to share my horrible experience with PetPremium, which was made that way by their administrator, Crum & Forester. They are as far from professional or well-intended as you will find. They want to get your money and then deny any claims. Prepare yourself to hear a lot of lies, too! I wish that I could find a silver lining in this entire affair, but that is impossible. They will change the facts and the truth just to have it their way. They even told me that the conversation that I had with my vet did not happen. There is no extent to which they wouldn’t go to distort reality. Their strategy of ripping you off is not a mistake. They act that way on purpose. And they do not care about the amount of money that they steal from you. They denied my claims whether they were $30 or $22,000. They will twist the truth in such a way that you never have any vet bills covered. Crum & Forester are, by far, the worst company that I have ever worked with in my life. It is a scam of huge proportions. If you care about your health and your dog’s well-being, you should take your business elsewhere. They are not worth your time, and in the end, you can just as well pay your vet directly than book a policy with PetPremium. They are a shame for the pet insurance industry.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
Visit Insure Website

How do I know I can trust these reviews?

  • There are close 1 865 verified Consumer Affairs reviews.
  • We request the contact information of all reviewers to confirm their identity.
  • To maintain the site’s integrity, we use smart software to help us out.
  • Again, moderators will investigate all reviews before posting to ensure quality and usefulness.

Not sure how to choose?

Get expert byuing tips about Pet Insurance delivered to your inbox

Not sure about PetPremium?

Take our two minute quiz to find the right Pet Insurance for you

No spam. We take your privacy seriously.
Visit Insure Website

PetPremium Company Information

Address: 44 Wall St., Suite 505
Phone: 1 (800) 935-7280
ZIP Code: 10015
City: New York
State: New York
Country: United States
Website: www.petpremium.com

Without insurance, an unexpected medical bill in the thousands of dollars often proves a challenge for many Americans in a demanding economy. PetPremium gives you a buffer, with a preemptive measure that keeps you covered in an accident involving your beloved pet.

Typically, insurers provide a range of healthcare plans, depending on the available budget and the unique medical needs of your dog or cat. This insurer avails several policies for pet parents, with the ability to choose a suitable plan availing some much-needed financial and healthcare flexibility.

Dog health insurance usually costs slightly more compared to that for cats. However, individual healthcare needs for each animal are a crucial determinant of the amount of annual deemed suitable. There is also a range of amounts deductible for each policy. When making a choice, patience is vital. PetPremium offers excellent customer service, ensuring that you have an easy time choosing the best plan.

PetPremium offers wellness care. This cover involves the diagnostics and treatment carried out for preventive purposes with no underlying health complications. Some of the services in this category include vaccinations, select cleaning procedures, and routine tests aiming at avoiding more severe health issues down the line.

Conclusion

PetPremium offers health cover in two broad categories. However, the countless options within the two policy classifications address a host of healthcare options for pets tailored to suit all budgets and medical needs. There is a smart add-on list of options for a more extensive cover for your animal’s health. A professional set up and fantastic customer service makes this one of the top pet insurance companies in the United States.

Visit Insure Website

PetPremium Pet Insurance Policies

PetPremium employs a flexible policy formulation approach in a bid to avail tailor-made healthcare solutions for pet parents. Here are the considerations that give a guideline in the determination of a suitable rate for your policy:

  • Conventionally, cities have higher healthcare costs than other areas. If you reside in New York, for instance, your premiums are likely to be higher than someone outside the city.
  • Senior pets have different medical needs and need a keen eye on their health due to their susceptibility to diseases and other health complications.
  • Breeds and Species. The species of a cat or dog leaves it prone to specific health issues; therefore, the likelihood for medical attention varies from one animal to the other.
  • Deductible and Co-Pay. A deductible sets a limit for the amount payable from your end each year before you qualify for reimbursement by the insurer. The co-pay is the percentage of the medical bills that remain your financial responsibility.

The above factors aid in assessing the risk factor when purchasing an insurance policy for your beloved pet. The lesser the risk, the more comfortable you are with a younger animal with little chance for health issues in the year. Accidents, however, add an aspect of unpredictability, so, regardless of age and breed, you may want to keep all your bases covered.

Visit Insure Website

PetPremium Coverage Plans

There are two broad categories of policies available at PetPremium. These are the Accidents-Only Coverage and the Total Coverage. Each type of plan avails a unique package aimed at securing your pet’s health.

Accidents-Only Coverage

Both policy types come with a 30-day money-back guarantee, provided that you haven’t submitted any claims within that trial period. It is, therefore, within your right to try each out for free.

The Accidents-Only Coverage has a reimbursement percentage of up to 90 percent. This policy has annual limits of:

  • $2,500
  • $3,000
  • $4,000
  • $5,000
  • $7,000
  • $10,000
  • $15,000
  • $20,000
  • Unlimited

The yearly deductible options are $100, $250, and $500. This plan covers accidents, pre-existing conditions, accidents, and the choice of preventive care health cover.

The Total Coverage

This policy has a reimbursement rate of up to 90 percent. The annual limits range from $2500 to $20,000. The annual deductible is anywhere between $100 and $500. The Total Coverage keeps your pet insured for:

  • Accidents
  • Illnesses
  • Ongoing conditions
  • Congenital conditions
  • Hereditary conditions
  • Alternative therapies
  • Preventive care (optional)
  • Behavioral treatment

A brief look at the categories shows a well-formulated platform to cater for all manner of budgets and medical needs for pets. The Accident-Only Plan caters to accidents and the medical bills that may follow such incidents. The Total Coverage provides cover for illnesses as well, meaning reimbursement for:

  • Lab tests
  • Prescription medication
  • Surgeries
  • Hospitalization
  • X-rays

The optional preventive care plans come in the following categories:

  • Basic – $9.95
  • Standard – $14.95
  • Prime – $24.95

There are a lot of options, and one may face the temptation to go for the cheapest or most affordable. Lower premiums result in lower annual covers, and you end up paying more out of pocket for any expensive healthcare needs that spring up along the way.

Filing a claim at PetPremium is a straightforward process. You download the claim form (a PDF), fill it, and email, fax, or mail it. The complete form comes with the relevant invoice and necessary contact information. Reimbursement usually takes place within 30 days.

To cancel a policy, a written request by email is enough. Note that this insurer doesn’t cover dogs older than 12 and cats older than 14.



!

Petinsurancefinder is an independent platform, made to provide pet owners with up-to-date information about top insurance companies. Any insurance company that is presented on this website has the right to make changes to its official data. We are dedicated to distributing reviews based on a person's experience and opinions of his/her insurance company. Reviews are "reviewed" to ensure there is no offensive material. All information may be used only for reference; carefully review your policy before purchasing and signing a new contract. As an independent platform, we receive compensation from companies listed in the comparison block. No review is a representation of our company or its employees.