Get Quotes
Pet insurance / Trupanion Pet Insurance Reviews
Trupanion Reviews

Having medical insurance for your pet no matter their condition or injury is so important when you consider the high cost of veterinary care these days. Trupanion offers policies for your dog or cat which cover even some hereditary and congenital breed conditions as well for illness and injury. If you need diagnostic tests, medications or even surgery, a Trupanion policy can cover you at 90% of the cost and they will even pay your vet directly.

You choose a plan that includes a monthly premium with deductible options that work for you (from $0 to $1000, payable per each new condition that your pet develops over their lifetime). And there are no annual, per incident or lifetime payout limits or caps to the amount covered by this insurance.

Check it out for yourself and see how Trupanion can cover your pets and give you peace of mind!

Trupanion Reviews

Average Customer Rating

3.7 out of 5

5 stars
33
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
14

Trupanion Pet Insurance Reviews

Sort:

Steffan Sexton

January 11, 2020
Trupanion is the best insurance company I know. All employees are so empathetic and always ready to help you. I would highly recommend this company to everyone. Your pet will get the best insurance coverage ever, and you can be sure it will be cared about in any unexpectable situation. Trupanion is awesome!!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Elise Wilde

January 5, 2020
I have read lots of reviews and understand that people are misinformed on the purpose of insurance or just didn't read their policy. The Trupanion insurance company was the best choice in my life. My four-year-old cat Bella is sick with a life-threatening fungal infection. The Trupanion company covered 90% of my cat’s expensive costs for her treatment. I am happy now because I can focus on my cat’s medication, and I don’t worry that I will have no money to pay the bills. I highly recommend the Trupanion insurance company, but, please, read the policy first, so you know what to expect for coverage. Thank you, Trupanion! You’re the best!!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Sia Beard

January 4, 2020
I rarely have a situation where I need to contact the Trupanion company. I had some problems with log on, and Pamela solved them pretty fast. Then I received a short customer service survey and the first question was, why did I rate the customer service a 10. Here was my answer: The Trupanion company is fantastic. If I had a chance to rate it an 11, I would do it. Since our puppies were born, they have had pet insurance coverage. Thank God, once we had difficulties with our pets, we used pet insurance coverage, and our issues were resolved. When I contacted your team, it was incredibly helpful. I have been talking with my friends who have pets and suggested that they check out your company because it is really worth it. Thank you so much. You’re awesome!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Tommy Salazar

December 31, 2019
Guys, don’t trust the Trupanion company! Let me tell you my story. I have an adopted puppy, and in 2009 I decided to get insurance for him. The “lifetime” coverage cost $1000, and I used to pay $31 each month. It sounded perfect, but after a while, I realized that this insurance was useless and the worst thing I have ever bought. In September 2019, my ten year old dog had surgery on his paw, neck and stomach; he had lumps on these parts of the body. The operation cost $811. I also filed a claim for his eye and skin allergy bills, worth $450. I thought that the “lifetime coverage” of $1000 would cover these costs. NO SUCH LUCK! The categorized lumps into two different types of lumps and the price for them was $2000. Another $1000 deductible was for the eye and skin allergy. As a result, I had a $3000 deductible in total. I was so upset and angry. The last straw was when one week ago, I received a message from the Trupanion company that they increased my monthly payment from $31 to $38. When I asked why, they told me that it was based on their data report. What is wrong with this company?? I concluded that they are just scammers. Don’t trust them in case you don’t want to be deceived.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Laureen Singleton

November 4, 2019
After a lot of trouble, Trupanion admitted I was right. I submitted several appeals and managed to get approval for my claim. Anyway, I advise everyone here to read the policy carefully. There is such wording that concedes all kinds of interpretations about what a potential manifestation is for Trupanion. It can apply to almost anything, so be careful when you sign up for their plans.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

J.Jayson

November 1, 2019
I had a great experience with Trupanion. They accepted my request for my puppy while we were on the hold for surgery. I only had to submit my application online, and everything was dealt with smoothly. I believe this is an excellent service!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Brody Griffiths

October 24, 2019
The Trupanion insurance company has always been lovely to work with. When I had some financial problems, the customer service of this company was understanding and very helpful. They gave me useful advice on how to rearrange my payment date. I was happy to hear that no penalty was charged. All processes were processed quickly and without fuss. I liked it the most. I just had to make a couple of claims, and they did all the rest of the work.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Elisabeth C.Copeland

October 10, 2019
I previously gave a one-star rating, but I am revising my position as of today. Eventually, this insurance company accepted my request and covered my pet’s cancer treatment. Mainly, everything mentioned in the policy was respected. It is a good idea to have pet insurance, as the unexpected can always occur.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Catherine

September 25, 2019
Trupanion is excellent to deal with. I had some financial problems and couldn’t pay my monthly fee. Their representative was compassionate and helped me reset my payment dates. He even managed to free me of any potential penalties!! Of course, I previously made some applications with them, and everything went smoothly. This is a professional insurance provider!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Ruby Barton

September 24, 2019
What I like most about Trupanion are their representatives. Everyone is friendly and well-trained! These skillful people make the overall experience at Trupanion exquisite!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Gabriella Nguyen

September 19, 2019
I'm certainly very grateful for the help that I received from the Trupanion company. Unfortunately, my dog Bailey had a seizure and needed an MRI to check for brain tumors. I was anxious about him, but Trupanion gave Bailey and me a chance. The Trupanion staff got my pre-approval done very quickly while I was at the veterinary neurologist! They paid the neurologist directly after approving my claim. My dog has had his pet insurance for over a year now, and I am so happy to know that he will be cared for in an emergency. I want to say a huge thanks to the Trupanion staff! You’re awesome!!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Brian Murphy

September 15, 2019
Trupanion isn’t as reliable as promoted. They have several treacherous marketing practices that mislead you. In almost all situations, you will have to wait an extended period for the claim process, and, eventually, discover you got rejected for some unclear reason. How can someone predict his/her pet will get sick??? Trupanion said that they wouldn’t cover my expenses, as this was a pre-existing condition. What on God’s Earth pre-existing problem? My pet was healthy and had a spotless medical record before enrolling in Trupanion’s plan!!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Dorcas Ferguson

September 15, 2019
I don’t usually leave reviews for the services I get, but Trupanion deserves an honest testimonial. I’ve insured my cat with Trupanion for at least five years now. This year, she managed to tear one of her ligaments, which, as you might guess, meant surgery, treatments and a lot of post-op care. I took my cat to a clinic that was familiar with Trupanion, and the doctor requested pre-approval for the intervention. In less than 48 hours, my vet got the needed approval, and the interventions were planned. Trupanion offered upfront payment, and I only had to deal with my co-pay and deductible, without the hassle of requesting reimbursement. Indeed, my insurance costs increased a bit - almost 20% - but I am okay with that due to the peace of mind I receive. And I recommend Trupanion to anyone who wants to get the best services for their pet(s)! Because surgical interventions for pets come with similar costs to those for humans, it is useful to have reliable insurance such as that provided by Trupanion!!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Marta Robin

September 6, 2019
From a significant amount of insurance companies, I have chosen Trupanion. This company offers the most affordable insurance plans, and I am happy to have insurance coverage for my fluffy friends cause they have some problems with allergies, hip therapy, etc. Trupanion has the best customer support because they work 24 hours a day, and they are always ready to help you. I feel they love their work in contrast to other call centers that disconnect your call and transfer you around.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

William Craig

September 2, 2019
It seems to me that many people purchase insurance without knowing its purpose. An insurance plan is meant to help you in case of emergencies. Regular check-ups, vaccines or preventive treatments are naturally not covered, as they are meant for the owner to deal with. At the same time, providing coverage to only some elderly pets with pre-existing health problems leads to more money going out, rather than making a profit. Anyhow, this is how I feel about Trupanion: my puppy suddenly fell ill, so I got him to the vet’s office. The vet did a CR scan and a couple of on-site treatments. Also, my dog was admitted overnight for antibiotic administration. The overall cost of this exceeded $2000. I made my claim application for reimbursement online, and it was approved in less than 14 days. I didn’t experience any trouble getting payment. So, thank you all for this hassle-free service!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Cassidy Gamble

August 11, 2019
Trupanion was with me during the most challenging time in my life. I am so grateful to them. Trupanion staff really care about you and your fluffy friend. They help you choose the most suitable and affordable insurance plan, and you can be sure that your pet will be safe.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Helen J.J

August 5, 2019
I highly advise you to avoid Trupanion. They seek even the smallest reasons to label a request as a pre-existing condition, despite all the medical records that say otherwise. Disgusting!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Francis Foster

July 28, 2019
Trupanion has covered my Rottweiler since he was a puppy. We are safe from pre-existing problems, and we have a deductible of $250. My dog had some issues with his legs, which required some expensive treatment, but I got reimbursed quite quickly for all the costs. If it weren’t for this policy, I don’t know how I would’ve managed to pay for my dog’s treatment. Anyway, I believe all the negative testimonials for Trupanion come from the fact that people don’t take the time to study the policy carefully. Also, it is best to get informed about the difference between unexpected health issues and regular check-ups. Mostly, a company such as Trupanion is there to help you deal with the unexpected!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Sheryl Singleton

July 14, 2019
Every claim I had with this fraudulent company was rejected. The conversation is almost the same every time. I ask why I don’t get coverage, and they say that they don’t possess details for such issues. And I repeat that I submitted a request, and the representative suddenly identifies my request and promises they’ll get back with a response. More than a month later, the application is still pending approval.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Arron C.

June 19, 2019
It is so simple to deal with everything when insured at Trupanion. Their customer service staff is knowledgeable and helpful, and they even take the time to offer additional information about how an application should be made. I recommended them to my sister, too. And we never have anything to complain about at Trupanion!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
Visit Insure Website

How do I know I can trust these reviews?

  • There are close 1 865 verified Consumer Affairs reviews.
  • We request the contact information of all reviewers to confirm their identity.
  • To maintain the site’s integrity, we use smart software to help us out.
  • Again, moderators will investigate all reviews before posting to ensure quality and usefulness.

Not sure how to choose?

Get expert byuing tips about Pet Insurance delivered to your inbox

Not sure about Trupanion?

Take our two minute quiz to find the right Pet Insurance for you

No spam. We take your privacy seriously.
Visit Insure Website

Choosing a pet health insurance provider can be a long and arduous process often involving extensive research to determine the best option for pet owner and pet. One of the top “dogs,” is Trupanion – an award-winning pet insurance provider founded on the principle of helping pets get the emergency care they need when they need it.

Trupanion was first established in 2000 under the name “Vetinsurance” and insured their first pet ever in Vancouver British Columbia. In 2007, they purchased and became underwritten by American Pet Insurance Company and in 2008, insured their first pet in the United States. Today, over 475,000 pets are insured through this provider.

Trupanion is comprised of 400+ employees, including veterinarians, veterinary technicians and pet owners who are committed to pet care and pet safety. In addition to the human component in the workplace, approximately 300+ office pets head to work each day with their owners. This was undoubtedly a contributing factor toward Trupanion earning a place on Parade’s 14 Pet-friendly Companies listing in June 2018. Trupanion was honored again, this time by Puget Sound Business Journal, as one of Washington’s Best Workplaces of 2018.

Trupanion’s Policy

Trupanion offers a single comprehensive insurance plan that covers a multitude of health conditions including:

  • Hereditary conditions including hip dysplasia, diabetes and thyroid disease
  • Congenital conditions including heart disease, liver disease and cataracts
  • Any unidentified issues that come up involving symptoms such as vomiting diarrhea or change in weight

This comprehensive plan covers 90% of all expenses and is available for both cats and dogs. For an additional cost, pet owners might opt to add a recovery and complimentary care rider which covers services such as acupuncture, chiropractic, hydrotherapy and rehabilitative therapy. A pet owner assistance package may also be an option and includes such services as advertising and reward for lost pets, boarding fees for when the owner is hospitalized, liability coverage for third-party property damage, and cremation or burial for deaths due to accident, just to name a few.

As with many pet insurance plans, pre-existing conditions are not covered. And in this particular instance, Trupanion does not cover basic wellness care or preventative care services such as office visits. The primary why behind Trupanion’s comprehensive policy is to cover unforeseen expenses such as emergency care and long-term chronic conditions.

The Claim Process

Once a pet’s health issues have been addressed, the next main concern for any pet owner is the expense that comes with treatment. With Trupanion, there is no need to worry about paying for the entire expense up front and then waiting to be reimbursed. Pet owners pay their deductible and, through a streamlined three-step claim process, Trupanion ensures that all claims are handled quickly and accurately.

  • Step 1:  Submit the invoice/claim – Customer or veterinarian submits the invoice, either online or via a claim form.
  • Step 2:  Claim review – Trupanion will review the claim and make its determination based on the details of the claim.
  • Step 3:  Claim is closed – Once a decision is reached, Trupanion renders its decision on the claim. The customer is notified by email of the decision and receives an itemized breakdown of the claim.

In the case of eligible claims and once the deductible is met, the veterinarian will either be paid directly via Vet Direct Pay – a convenient electronic payment system – payment will be submitted directly to the customer’s bank account, or the customer will receive a check in the mail. There are no payout limits and there is no dropped coverage or increased rates just for filing “too many” claims.

Trupanion’s customer care staff is available 24/7 to address pet owner needs and questions. Pet owners can get a free quote on their expected deductible and monthly payment through Trupanion’s website.

Visit Insure Website


!

We are dedicated to distributing reviews that are based on a person's experience and opinions of their insurance company. It's not uncommon for reviews to be "reviewed" to ensure there is no offensive material. However, no review is a representation of our company and employees.