Get Quotes
Trupanion Reviews

Having medical insurance for your pet no matter their condition or injury is important when you consider the high cost of veterinary care these days. Trupanion offers policies for your dog or cat, which cover even some hereditary and congenital breed conditions for illness and injury. If you need diagnostic tests, medications, or even surgery, a Trupanion policy can cover you at 90% of the cost and pay your vet directly.

You choose a plan that includes a monthly premium with deductible options that work for you (from $0 to $1000, payable per each new condition that your pet develops over their lifetime). And there are no annual, per-incident or lifetime payout limits or caps to the amount covered by this insurance.

Check it out for yourself and see how Trupanion can cover your pets and give you peace of mind!

Trupanion Reviews

Average Customer Rating

3.8 out of 5

Based on 58 customer ratings
5 stars
37
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
14

Trupanion Pet Insurance Reviews

Sort:

5 out of 5

Sandra Boroughs, Сalifornia

June 2, 2020
We bought insurance policies for both our dogs about five years ago. At the time they were 6 and 8 weeks old. Our youngest dog was very sick and required a special diet. Eventually, he got better and doesn’t need a whole lot of medical attention. The problems with the older one were worse. Eventually, he developed Cushing’s which required special tests to be done twice a year and the medication he needed was very expensive. Unfortunately, she passed away 2 weeks ago and Trupanion was very caring for us during this difficult time. They even sent us a sympathy card. They also paid for all of her procedures and medications as the policy stated and we never had to fight them to pay. The premiums have increased, but I guess that should be expected as your dog gets older. Overall, I feel happy with the service.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Peter Swanson, ID

May 19, 2020
Before I even got my dog, I did a lot of research before choosing an insurance company. Trupanion is the best that I’ve seen because they don’t put a cap on your benefits. This is really helpful for older dogs and the ones that have pre-existing conditions. Personally, I have a labrador, and he recently had a partial tear in his cranial crucial ligament. Trupanion covered the costs of the X-rays, the vet visit, and the procedure itself. I’m glad to say that now my dog is in rehab and doing well. I’m happy with their service because I didn’t have any problems or hassles submitting a claim.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Randy Vandergrift, Vermont

May 4, 2020
I have been insuring my Cavalier Spaniels with Trupanion for more than ten years now, and things are going great. My dog’s name is Molly, and thanks to Trupanion, we could provide her with cancer treatment. On top of that, Molly had some eye problems, which required a lot of medication. Over the ten years we’ve been with Trupanion, I can’t even count the number of claims that we submitted, and they have never rejected us, and I don’t think they also gave us any trouble whatsoever. It is effortless to file a claim, and they send you your money in a matter of days.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
4 out of 5

John Turner, Washington

April 23, 2020
My experience with this company was quite good. Customer support is very patient. There were some small problems with claim processing, but after all, everything was quite good. I would recommend this insurance to my friends who have pets.
Helpful 1 people found this review helpful
2 out of 5

Helen Moore, New York

April 13, 2020
We were paying for a pet insurance policy for 8 years. Never had a claim. This year our dog has some problems with her health and a few procedures with a bill of almost $1,500. I submitted an application under the understanding that there was a $700.00 deductible to satisfy. My claim was approved, but Trupanion provided me and my pet with zero benefits. I called customer support. They said that my pet should have vet bills in excess of $500 per illness before they will payout. Sorry, but what a scam is going on? I am categorically not happy with the service. No one warned me that this would happen. I am distraught.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Lucy Adams, Kansas

April 7, 2020
An excellent and reliable customer service. I have not been waiting for ages; my claims been processed. Great company to insure your four-legged friends. They are a pretty reputable company to work with. Some of my friends have also purchased pet insurances, and all of them were so glad and happy. So, Trupanion, thank you for your excellent job! My praise!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Steffan Sexton, Georgia

January 11, 2020
Trupanion is the best insurance company I know. All employees are so empathetic and always ready to help you. I would highly recommend this company to everyone. Your pet will get the best insurance coverage ever, and you can be sure it will be cared about in any unexpected situation. Trupanion is awesome!!
Helpful 1 people found this review helpful
5 out of 5

Elise Wilde, Maine

January 5, 2020
I have read lots of reviews and understand that people are misinformed on the purpose of insurance or just didn't read their policy. The Trupanion insurance company was the best choice in my life. My four-year-old cat Bella is sick with a life-threatening fungal infection. The Trupanion company covered 90% of my cat’s expensive costs for her treatment. I am happy now because I can focus on my cat’s medication, and I don’t worry that I will have no money to pay the bills. I highly recommend the Trupanion insurance company, but, please, read the policy first, so you know what to expect for coverage. Thank you, Trupanion! You’re the best!!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Sia Beard, Kansas

January 4, 2020
I rarely have a situation where I need to contact the Trupanion company. I had some problems with log on, and Pamela solved them pretty fast. Then I received a short customer service survey, and the first question was, why did I rate the customer service a 10. Here was my answer: The Trupanion company is fantastic. If I had a chance to rate it an 11, I would do it. Since our puppies were born, they have had pet insurance coverage. Thank God, once we had difficulties with our pets, we used pet insurance coverage, and our issues were resolved. When I contacted your team, it was incredibly helpful. I have been talking with my friends who have pets and suggested that they check out your company because it is really worth it. Thank you so much. You’re awesome!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
1 out of 5

Tommy Salazar, New Mexico

December 31, 2019
Guys, don’t trust the Trupanion company! Let me tell you my story. I have an adopted puppy, and in 2009 I decided to get insurance for him. The “lifetime” coverage cost $1000, and I used to pay $31 each month. It sounded perfect, but after a while, I realized that this insurance was useless and the worst thing I have ever bought. In September 2019, my ten-year-old dog had surgery on his paw, neck, and stomach; he had lumps on these parts of the body. The operation cost $811. I also filed a claim for his eye and skin allergy bills, worth $450. I thought that the “lifetime coverage” of $1000 would cover these costs. NO SUCH LUCK! The categorized lumps into two different types of lumps, and the price for them was $2000. Another $1000 deductible was for the eye and skin allergy. As a result, I had a $3000 deductible in total. I was so upset and angry. The last straw was when one week ago, I received a message from the Trupanion company that they increased my monthly payment from $31 to $38. When I asked why they told me that it was based on their data report. What is wrong with this company?? I concluded that they are just scammers. Don’t trust them in case you don’t want to be deceived.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
3 out of 5

Laureen Singleton, Ohio

November 4, 2019
After a lot of trouble, Trupanion admitted I was right. I submitted several appeals and managed to get approval for my claim. Anyway, I advise everyone here to read the policy carefully. There is such wording that concedes all kinds of interpretations about what a potential manifestation is for Trupanion. It can apply to almost anything, so be careful when you sign up for their plans.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

J.Jayson, Washington

November 1, 2019
I had a great experience with Trupanion. They accepted my request for my puppy while we were on the hold for surgery. I only had to submit my application online, and everything was dealt with smoothly. I believe this is an excellent service!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Brody Griffiths, IA

October 24, 2019
The Trupanion insurance company has always been lovely to work with. When I had some financial problems, the customer service of this company was understanding and very helpful. They gave me useful advice on how to rearrange my payment date. I was happy to hear that no penalty was charged. All processes were processed quickly and without fuss. I liked it the most. I just had to make a couple of claims, and they did all the rest of the work.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
4 out of 5

Elisabeth C.Copeland, Kentucky

October 10, 2019
I previously gave a one-star rating, but I am revising my position as of today. Eventually, this insurance company accepted my request and covered my pet’s cancer treatment. Mainly, everything mentioned in the policy was respected. It is a good idea to have pet insurance, as the unexpected can always occur.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Catherine, West Virginia

September 25, 2019
Trupanion is excellent to deal with. I had some financial problems and couldn’t pay my monthly fee. Their representative was compassionate and helped me reset my payment dates. He even managed to free me of any potential penalties!! Of course, I previously made some applications with them, and everything went smoothly. This is a professional insurance provider!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Ruby Barton, Ohio

September 24, 2019
What I like most about Trupanion are their representatives. Everyone is friendly and well-trained! These skillful people make the overall experience at Trupanion exquisite!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Gabriella Nguyen, Hawaii

September 19, 2019
I'm certainly very grateful for the help that I received from the Trupanion company. Unfortunately, my dog Bailey had a seizure and needed an MRI to check for brain tumors. I was anxious about him, but Trupanion gave Bailey and me a chance. The Trupanion staff got my pre-approval done very quickly while I was at the veterinary neurologist! They paid the neurologist directly after approving my claim. My dog has had his pet insurance for over a year now, and I am so happy to know that he will be cared for in an emergency. I want to say a huge thanks to the Trupanion staff! You’re awesome!!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
1 out of 5

Brian Murphy, Florida

September 15, 2019
Trupanion isn’t as reliable as promoted. They have several treacherous marketing practices that mislead you. In almost all situations, you will have to wait an extended period for the claim process, and, eventually, discover you got rejected for some unclear reason. How can someone predict his/her pet will get sick??? Trupanion said that they wouldn’t cover my expenses, as this was a pre-existing condition. What on God’s Earth pre-existing problem? My pet was healthy and had a spotless medical record before enrolling in Trupanion’s plan!!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Dorcas Ferguson, Washington

September 15, 2019
I don’t usually leave reviews for the services I get, but Trupanion deserves an honest testimonial. I’ve insured my cat with Trupanion for at least five years now. This year, she managed to tear one of her ligaments, which, as you might guess, meant surgery, treatments and a lot of post-op care. I took my cat to a clinic that was familiar with Trupanion, and the doctor requested pre-approval for the intervention. In less than 48 hours, my vet got the needed approval, and the interventions were planned. Trupanion offered upfront payment, and I only had to deal with my co-pay and deductible, without the hassle of requesting reimbursement. Indeed, my insurance costs increased a bit - almost 20% - but I am okay with that due to the peace of mind I receive. And I recommend Trupanion to anyone who wants to get the best services for their pet(s)! Because surgical interventions for pets come with similar costs to those for humans, it is useful to have reliable insurance such as that provided by Trupanion!!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Marta Robin, Montana

September 6, 2019
From a significant amount of insurance companies, I have chosen Trupanion. This company offers the most affordable insurance plans, and I am happy to have insurance coverage for my fluffy friends cause they have some problems with allergies, hip therapy, etc. Trupanion has the best customer support because they work 24 hours a day, and they are always ready to help you. I feel they love their work in contrast to other call centers that disconnect your call and transfer you around.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
Visit Insure Website

How do I know I can trust these reviews?

  • There are close 1 865 verified Consumer Affairs reviews.
  • We request the contact information of all reviewers to confirm their identity.
  • To maintain the site’s integrity, we use smart software to help us out.
  • Again, moderators will investigate all reviews before posting to ensure quality and usefulness.

Not sure how to choose?

Get expert byuing tips about Pet Insurance delivered to your inbox

Not sure about Trupanion?

Take our two minute quiz to find the right Pet Insurance for you

No spam. We take your privacy seriously.
Visit Insure Website

Trupanion Contact Information

Year Founded: 2003
Address: 907 NW Ballard Way
Phone: (888) 733-2685
ZIP Code: 8107
City: Seattle
State: Washington
Country: United States
Price Range: from $25.7 per month
Website: trupanion.com

What is Trupanion

Choosing a pet health insurance provider can be a long and arduous process, often involving extensive research to determine the best option for pet owners and pets. One of the top “dogs” is Trupanion – an award-winning pet insurance provider founded on the principle of helping pets get the emergency care they need when they need it.

Trupanion was first established in 2000 under the name “Vetinsurance” and insured their first pet ever in Vancouver, British Columbia. In 2007, they purchased and became underwritten by American Pet Insurance Company and, in 2008, insured their first pet in the United States. Today, over 475,000 pets are insured through this provider.

Trupanion is comprised of 400+ employees, including veterinarians, veterinary technicians, and pet owners committed to pet care and pet safety. In addition to the human component in the workplace, approximately 300+ office pets head to work each day with their owners. This was undoubtedly a contributing factor toward Trupanion earning a place on Parade’s 14 Pet-friendly Companies listing in June 2018. Trupanion was honored again, this time by Puget Sound Business Journal, as one of Washington’s Best Workplaces of 2018.

How does Trupanion pet insurance work?

As with many pet insurance plans, pre-existing conditions are not covered. In this instance, Trupanion does not cover basic wellness care or preventative care services, such as office visits. The primary why behind Trupanion’s comprehensive policy is to cover unforeseen expenses such as emergency care and long-term chronic conditions.

Trupanion Claim Forms

Once a pet’s health issues have been addressed, the next main concern for any pet owner is the expense that comes with treatment. With Trupanion, there is no need to worry about paying for the expense upfront and then waiting to be reimbursed. Pet owners pay their deductible and, through a streamlined three-step claim process, Trupanion ensures that all claims are handled quickly and accurately.

  • Step 1: Submit the invoice/claim – Customer or veterinarian submits the invoice, either online or via a claim form.
  • Step 2: Claim review – Trupanion will review the claim and make its determination based on the details of the claim.
  • Step 3: Claim is closed – Once a decision is reached, Trupanion renders its decision on the claim. The customer is notified by email of the decision and receives an itemized breakdown of the claim.

In the case of eligible claims and once the deductible is met, the veterinarian will either be paid directly via Vet Direct Pay – a convenient electronic payment system – payment will be submitted directly to the customer’s bank account, or the customer will receive a check in the mail. There are no payout limits, and there is no dropped coverage or increased rates for filing “too many” claims.

Trupanion’s customer care staff is available 24/7 to address pet owner needs and questions. Pet owners can get a free quote on their expected deductible and monthly payment through Trupanion’s website.

Visit Insure Website

Trupanion’s Policy

Trupanion offers a single comprehensive insurance plan that covers a multitude of health conditions including:

  • Hereditary conditions including hip dysplasia, diabetes, and thyroid disease
  • Congenital conditions including heart disease, liver disease, and cataracts
  • Any unidentified issues that come up involving symptoms such as vomiting diarrhea or change in weight

This comprehensive plan covers 90% of all expenses and is available for both cats and dogs. For an additional cost, pet owners might opt to add a recovery and complementary care rider which covers services such as acupuncture, chiropractic, hydrotherapy, and rehabilitative therapy. A pet owner assistance package may also be an option and includes such services as advertising and reward for lost pets, boarding fees for when the owner is hospitalized, liability coverage for third-party property damage, and cremation or burial for deaths due to accident, just to name a few.

Visit Insure Website


!

Petinsurancefinder is an independent platform, made to provide pet owners with up-to-date information about top insurance companies. Any insurance company that is presented on this website has the right to make changes to its official data. We are dedicated to distributing reviews based on a person's experience and opinions of his/her insurance company. Reviews are "reviewed" to ensure there is no offensive material. All information may be used only for reference; carefully review your policy before purchasing and signing a new contract. As an independent platform, we receive compensation from companies listed in the comparison block. No review is a representation of our company or its employees.