Get Quotes
Pet insurance / Trupanion Pet Insurance Reviews
Trupanion Reviews

Having medical insurance for your pet no matter their condition or injury is so important when you consider the high cost of veterinary care these days. Trupanion offers policies for your dog or cat which cover even some hereditary and congenital breed conditions as well for illness and injury. If you need diagnostic tests, medications or even surgery, a Trupanion policy can cover you at 90% of the cost and they will even pay your vet directly.

You choose a plan that includes a monthly premium with deductible options that work for you (from $0 to $1000, payable per each new condition that your pet develops over their lifetime). And there are no annual, per incident or lifetime payout limits or caps to the amount covered by this insurance.

Check it out for yourself and see how Trupanion can cover your pets and give you peace of mind!

Trupanion Reviews

Average Customer Rating

3.5 out of 5

5 stars
18
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
10

Trupanion Pet Insurance Reviews

Sort:

Laureen Singleton

November 4, 2019
After a lot of trouble, Trupanion admitted I was right. I submitted several appeals and managed to get approval for my claim. Anyway, I advise everyone here to read the policy carefully. There is such wording that concedes all kinds of interpretations about what a potential manifestation is for Trupanion. It can apply to almost anything, so be careful when you sign up for their plans.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

J.Jayson

November 1, 2019
I had a great experience with Trupanion. They accepted my request for my puppy while we were on the hold for surgery. I only had to submit my application online, and everything was dealt with smoothly. I believe this is an excellent service!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Elisabeth C.Copeland

October 10, 2019
I previously gave a one-star rating, but I am revising my position as of today. Eventually, this insurance company accepted my request and covered my pet’s cancer treatment. Mainly, everything mentioned in the policy was respected. It is a good idea to have pet insurance, as the unexpected can always occur.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Catherine

September 25, 2019
Trupanion is excellent to deal with. I had some financial problems and couldn’t pay my monthly fee. Their representative was compassionate and helped me reset my payment dates. He even managed to free me of any potential penalties!! Of course, I previously made some applications with them, and everything went smoothly. This is a professional insurance provider!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Ruby Barton

September 24, 2019
What I like most about Trupanion are their representatives. Everyone is friendly and well-trained! These skillful people make the overall experience at Trupanion exquisite!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Brian Murphy

September 15, 2019
Trupanion isn’t as reliable as promoted. They have several treacherous marketing practices that mislead you. In almost all situations, you will have to wait an extended period for the claim process, and, eventually, discover you got rejected for some unclear reason. How can someone predict his/her pet will get sick??? Trupanion said that they wouldn’t cover my expenses, as this was a pre-existing condition. What on God’s Earth pre-existing problem? My pet was healthy and had a spotless medical record before enrolling in Trupanion’s plan!!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Dorcas Ferguson

September 15, 2019
I don’t usually leave reviews for the services I get, but Trupanion deserves an honest testimonial. I’ve insured my cat with Trupanion for at least five years now. This year, she managed to tear one of her ligaments, which, as you might guess, meant surgery, treatments and a lot of post-op care. I took my cat to a clinic that was familiar with Trupanion, and the doctor requested pre-approval for the intervention. In less than 48 hours, my vet got the needed approval, and the interventions were planned. Trupanion offered upfront payment, and I only had to deal with my co-pay and deductible, without the hassle of requesting reimbursement. Indeed, my insurance costs increased a bit - almost 20% - but I am okay with that due to the peace of mind I receive. And I recommend Trupanion to anyone who wants to get the best services for their pet(s)! Because surgical interventions for pets come with similar costs to those for humans, it is useful to have reliable insurance such as that provided by Trupanion!!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

William Craig

September 2, 2019
It seems to me that many people purchase insurance without knowing its purpose. An insurance plan is meant to help you in case of emergencies. Regular check-ups, vaccines or preventive treatments are naturally not covered, as they are meant for the owner to deal with. At the same time, providing coverage to only some elderly pets with pre-existing health problems leads to more money going out, rather than making a profit. Anyhow, this is how I feel about Trupanion: my puppy suddenly fell ill, so I got him to the vet’s office. The vet did a CR scan and a couple of on-site treatments. Also, my dog was admitted overnight for antibiotic administration. The overall cost of this exceeded $2000. I made my claim application for reimbursement online, and it was approved in less than 14 days. I didn’t experience any trouble getting payment. So, thank you all for this hassle-free service!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Helen J.J

August 5, 2019
I highly advise you to avoid Trupanion. They seek even the smallest reasons to label a request as a pre-existing condition, despite all the medical records that say otherwise. Disgusting!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Francis Foster

July 28, 2019
Trupanion has covered my Rottweiler since he was a puppy. We are safe from pre-existing problems, and we have a deductible of $250. My dog had some issues with his legs, which required some expensive treatment, but I got reimbursed quite quickly for all the costs. If it weren’t for this policy, I don’t know how I would’ve managed to pay for my dog’s treatment. Anyway, I believe all the negative testimonials for Trupanion come from the fact that people don’t take the time to study the policy carefully. Also, it is best to get informed about the difference between unexpected health issues and regular check-ups. Mostly, a company such as Trupanion is there to help you deal with the unexpected!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Sheryl Singleton

July 14, 2019
Every claim I had with this fraudulent company was rejected. The conversation is almost the same every time. I ask why I don’t get coverage, and they say that they don’t possess details for such issues. And I repeat that I submitted a request, and the representative suddenly identifies my request and promises they’ll get back with a response. More than a month later, the application is still pending approval.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Arron C.

June 19, 2019
It is so simple to deal with everything when insured at Trupanion. Their customer service staff is knowledgeable and helpful, and they even take the time to offer additional information about how an application should be made. I recommended them to my sister, too. And we never have anything to complain about at Trupanion!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

John T.

May 6, 2019
Trupanion is so professional! The representative I talked to was so concerned about my pet that I was pleasantly surprised! Moreover, because my dog has periodontal problems; he had to undergo several expensive surgeries, x-rays and treatments. Each time I submitted a request with Trupanion, they responded quickly, offered all the info I needed and the reimbursement was done faster than expected.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Katie F.Nelson

March 25, 2019
I have been with Trupanion for some time now, and I have nothing to complain about. My cat had a seizure, and my vet did an immediate MRI to make sure there were no tumor growths in her brain. The representative at Trupanion was efficient and managed to provide pre-approval quickly. I was able to pay the doctor as soon as the procedure was done. It is reassuring to have such services that allow you to pay upfront for your pet’s needs. Thank you all from all my heart!!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Elli V

March 16, 2019
I highly recommend you try Healthy Paws instead of Trupanion!! As soon as I adopted my cat, I enrolled in Trupanion coverage. He was no more than four weeks old. I paid for the premium package - around $40, along with a deductible of $200 and 90% coinsurance. There were no pre-existing issues with my cat, as I bought this coverage since he was a kitten. A couple of months ago, I brought my cat for a regular checkup. The vet observed there was an issue with one of his teeth, which he assessed would require minor surgery. I submitted a request with the belief that Trupanion would pay for my vet’s bill. I was led to believe (as it is underlined in my policy) that dental problems are covered. But dental lesions, such as my kitty’s resorptive problem, is not compensated if there is a pre-existing condition (which my cat didn’t have). Anyway, my application was refused because my plan does not cover my pet’s issues. I contacted one of their representatives and read the passage from my insurance, in which it was clearly stated that the dental policy covers dental resorptive problems. The rep insisted that I could make an additional request after my cat had the surgery, and I could get reimbursed for anything else but the dental part. That signified I didn’t have any chance of receiving reimbursement, as the treatment for my cat’s issue was all about teeth x-rays, teeth surgery and teeth extraction. Basically, they said to me that they do not cover a prophylactic dental problem. So, if I were to receive payment, it could be done only if my cat’s problem reached a dangerous level of infection and developed into a curative procedure. My vet explained that the lesions my cat had could not be assessed correctly up until surgery. Resorptive problems are, in most cases, more in-depth than seen on x-rays. Therefore, I couldn’t allow my pet to suffer as Trupanion suggested so that I could receive reimbursement. I am outraged because Trupanion suggested this. I even thought about enrolling in a higher premium, as I thought it was quite useful not to be forced to pay upfront. And I don’t see the point of getting reimbursed after the surgery, when I paid for insurance to cover me as soon as I had a problem. I could simply opt for another company’s plan, which is more affordable and pays reimbursement in up to two weeks. I am not signed up with Healthy Paws for $20 per month. So, I don’t see how it is worth paying Trupanion double that fee when they treat you like this. As I work closely with pet owners, I always recommended Trupanion as the go-to insurance company for pets. From now on, I will only recommend the professional service I discovered at another insurance company.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Kerrie

February 24, 2019
I am not certain why so many people leave negative reviews for Trupanion. I guess they don’t read their policy’s details well enough. My experience with Trupanion is spotless! I have a cat that unfortunately got a nasty fungal infection. It is true that my claim is still under review, but they covered up to 90% of my costs. Of course, they didn’t include the exam fee, but it is clearly noted on the policy. I am so grateful I am enrolled in this insurance plan. It saves me a lot of stress, and it gets me access to the best care for my pet. If it weren’t for Trupanion, I most likely would be in a financial crisis due to the associated expenses of my cat’s treatment. Choose Trupanion if you want a reliable company that aids you with your pet’s care! And read all the insurance policy details thoroughly, to make sure you understand what you purchase
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Drusilla Jones

February 4, 2019
I tried to cover my dog with an insurance plan, and I changed several companies until I found Trupanion. It is well priced, and it offers excellent coverage for all sorts of problems. So, I am satisfied with this insurance, because veterinary bills can get expensive, and my dog is predisposed to all kinds of health problems. I can tell you that I frequently use my policy, and I get approved for reimbursement fast. I believe their representatives are skilled and trustworthy.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Dana

January 17, 2019
I am so disappointed by how this insurance is designed. First of all, everything is noted in a manner that allows a lot of interpretation when it comes to defining a pre-existing condition. Just take a moment to read this side note from the policy: “9.B.i Illnesses or injuries for which signs or evidence of their potential manifestation existed within the 18 months before the policy enrollment date.” So, that particular expression, the ambiguous ‘potential manifestation’ is what allows Trupanion to reject your claim unless you had the policy since your pet was born. And that’s not all. Let me tell you my story. Trupanion has insured my husky for the last four years, and he was quite healthy up until he developed an ugly allergic reaction. He scratched so severely and he couldn’t stop whining. So, of course, I hurried him to the vet’s ER, where, after several investigations, the doctor diagnosed him with several allergies and atopic skin conditions. Therefore, I submitted a claim to Tupanion. And the company requested all my dog’s medical records (and this means from all of his vet’s visits since he was born). Hence, they found this note from our vet that prior to getting insurance, my husky had developed an ear infection. (side note: the doc only noted this down to point out my husky had too much hair in his ears, which retained moisture and led to the infection of the site). Anyhow, Trupanion determined that his current allergies were a pre-existing condition. What is even more interesting is that up until I had a problem, every customer representative I spoke to was friendly and quite knowledgeable. But after I started inquiring about this error in judgment, all of a sudden, everyone was unable to help me. I couldn’t get a definite response on how they perceived this ear infection from four years ago caused today’s allergies. And I think this is the purpose of the said ‘potential manifestations.’ Bottom line, I don’t think I’ll ever get reimbursed by Trupanion. Be aware that they aim to deceive anyone insured, and you can’t do anything about it, as the ambiguous policy covers them. My husky needs expensive immune treatment, for which it would’ve been nice to receive reimbursement after I paid this insurance. Somehow, I wish I was smarter than this and simply saved some money over the years, instead of joining Trupanion.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Samson Ball

December 4, 2018
Great staff! Everyone offers his/her best to make your application process as simple as possible! Good job, Trupanion!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Evan Johnson

August 19, 2018
This is the worst experience I ever had with an insurance company! Trupanion tries its best to identify that little reason for which they can’t reimburse you. They are advertised as the best in the field, but this happens only if you enroll your pet when he is a couple of weeks old to be safe against the pre-existing condition issue. I got rejected for a torn ligament for my dog (which is the reason why I bought insurance in the first place; his breed is predisposed to knee issues). Trupanion rejected my claim because they saw it as a pre-existing health problem. And how my puppy got this pre-existing health issue, I don’t know. What I know is that I paid all these insurance plans for no benefit!! To clarify: my vet specifically underlined that this wasn’t a pre-existing illness and that the breed is prone to such ruptures. Trupanion denied my application, and I feel like I paid for nothing! I strongly advise you to choose another insurance company, especially if you own a large breed, such as I do!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
Visit Insure Website

How do I know I can trust these reviews?

  • There are close 1 865 verified Consumer Affairs reviews.
  • We request the contact information of all reviewers to confirm their identity.
  • To maintain the site’s integrity, we use smart software to help us out.
  • Again, moderators will investigate all reviews before posting to ensure quality and usefulness.

Not sure how to choose?

Get expert byuing tips about Pet Insurance delivered to your inbox

Not sure about Trupanion?

Take our two minute quiz to find the right Pet Insurance for you

No spam. We take your privacy seriously.
Visit Insure Website

Choosing a pet health insurance provider can be a long and arduous process often involving extensive research to determine the best option for pet owner and pet. One of the top “dogs,” is Trupanion – an award-winning pet insurance provider founded on the principle of helping pets get the emergency care they need when they need it.

Trupanion was first established in 2000 under the name “Vetinsurance” and insured their first pet ever in Vancouver British Columbia. In 2007, they purchased and became underwritten by American Pet Insurance Company and in 2008, insured their first pet in the United States. Today, over 475,000 pets are insured through this provider.

Trupanion is comprised of 400+ employees, including veterinarians, veterinary technicians and pet owners who are committed to pet care and pet safety. In addition to the human component in the workplace, approximately 300+ office pets head to work each day with their owners. This was undoubtedly a contributing factor toward Trupanion earning a place on Parade’s 14 Pet-friendly Companies listing in June 2018. Trupanion was honored again, this time by Puget Sound Business Journal, as one of Washington’s Best Workplaces of 2018.

Trupanion’s Policy

Trupanion offers a single comprehensive insurance plan that covers a multitude of health conditions including:

  • Hereditary conditions including hip dysplasia, diabetes and thyroid disease
  • Congenital conditions including heart disease, liver disease and cataracts
  • Any unidentified issues that come up involving symptoms such as vomiting diarrhea or change in weight

This comprehensive plan covers 90% of all expenses and is available for both cats and dogs. For an additional cost, pet owners might opt to add a recovery and complimentary care rider which covers services such as acupuncture, chiropractic, hydrotherapy and rehabilitative therapy. A pet owner assistance package may also be an option and includes such services as advertising and reward for lost pets, boarding fees for when the owner is hospitalized, liability coverage for third-party property damage, and cremation or burial for deaths due to accident, just to name a few.

As with many pet insurance plans, pre-existing conditions are not covered. And in this particular instance, Trupanion does not cover basic wellness care or preventative care services such as office visits. The primary why behind Trupanion’s comprehensive policy is to cover unforeseen expenses such as emergency care and long-term chronic conditions.

The Claim Process

Once a pet’s health issues have been addressed, the next main concern for any pet owner is the expense that comes with treatment. With Trupanion, there is no need to worry about paying for the entire expense up front and then waiting to be reimbursed. Pet owners pay their deductible and, through a streamlined three-step claim process, Trupanion ensures that all claims are handled quickly and accurately.

  • Step 1:  Submit the invoice/claim – Customer or veterinarian submits the invoice, either online or via a claim form.
  • Step 2:  Claim review – Trupanion will review the claim and make its determination based on the details of the claim.
  • Step 3:  Claim is closed – Once a decision is reached, Trupanion renders its decision on the claim. The customer is notified by email of the decision and receives an itemized breakdown of the claim.

In the case of eligible claims and once the deductible is met, the veterinarian will either be paid directly via Vet Direct Pay – a convenient electronic payment system – payment will be submitted directly to the customer’s bank account, or the customer will receive a check in the mail. There are no payout limits and there is no dropped coverage or increased rates just for filing “too many” claims.

Trupanion’s customer care staff is available 24/7 to address pet owner needs and questions. Pet owners can get a free quote on their expected deductible and monthly payment through Trupanion’s website.

Visit Insure Website


!

We are dedicated to distributing reviews that are based on a person's experience and opinions of their insurance company. It's not uncommon for reviews to be "reviewed" to ensure there is no offensive material. However, no review is a representation of our company and employees.