Get Quotes

AKC Pet Insurance, administered by PetPartners, Inc., has been offering comprehensive, affordable pet health insurance to dogs and cats in all 50 states since 2003, and they’re ready to insure your pet too. You can customize your plan or choose one that is still comprehensive but makes it easy on your budget and will cover your dog or cat for unexpected veterinary visits.

The CompanionCare accident and illness base plan offers many options when it comes to coverage limits, deductibles and coinsurance. CompanionCare offers some enhanced benefits including Alternative & Holistic Care (for example, acupuncture and chiropractic care), coverage for behavioral problems, vitamins and supplements, no per-incident limits and an option of an unlimited annual limit. Choose to add on additional coverage for exam fees, wellness and preventative care and inherited/congenital conditions! There are even options available for senior pets!

Policy options and coverages will differ depending on the state that you live in, but if you care about your pet, you should take a look at AKC Pet Insurance and see if one of their policies will work for you. Doesn’t your cat or dog deserve it?

Average Customer Rating

4.5 out of 5

Based on 10 customer ratings
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0

AKC Pet Insurance Reviews

Sort:

5 out of 5

Jesse Kolb, Indiana

July 1, 2020
I first learned about AKC from the information my vet gave to me. I did some research, and they offered a 30-day trial, so I decided to give it a shot. I have been with them for about 5 months now, and we needed to file one claim. My dog had some stomach issues, and the bill was rather high. The insurance paid for most of the bill, they even provided us with consultations on what will be covered in the future. I like that they tell you everything up front and there are no surprises.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Veronica Lopez, Florida

May 26, 2020
When we got our purebred Bichon, we got a policy with the AKC right away. They gave us a month of insurance for free and we like the service and the price they offered us so we decided to go with it. During the free month, I needed to submit a claim because my dog got an ear infection. It turned out that the breeder never cleaned the hair that grows inside the ears. Anyway, they covered this procedure and it was pretty convenient so we decided to stick with them and we’ll see how things go.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
2 out of 5

Julian Lanigan, Georgia

May 5, 2020
I am very disappointed with AKC. I submitted my claim properly, sent them all of the forms they asked for and still, they denied my claim. I bought a one-year policy from them and when my dog needed to have ACL surgery they told me that serious procedures required a six month waiting period. Anyway, I am out $3500 dollars now and I don’t know why I was paying for the policy, to begin with. This is very important information and they weren't very forthcoming about it.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Mike Perez, Arizona

April 23, 2020
I love Aks pet insurance. Never had a bad experience with them. All my claims were processed promptly. All vet bills were covered. I have an outdoor cat. She is very active, so a few times she had injuries. Aks covered all my hospital costs and were very kind and patient to my cat and me! Thank you!!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

John Wright, Idaho

April 10, 2020
I have chosen Aks pet insurance cause the prices for their insurance plans are quite affordable and I the reviews I read told me about that. I saved a lot of money with them. Customer service is extremely knowledgeable. They answered all of my questions and concerns. I filled my claim on their website. That was super easy and didn’t take ages—a few seconds and ready. I received an email with all the details I needed to know. How much I would be reimbursed and that my check is. Thanks, Aks. Highly recommend you to all pet owners. You worth it!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Harry Weaver, WY

December 11, 2019
My cat was covered by AKC Pet insurance since she was a little ball of fur. And to tell you the truth, it never crossed my mind that I should opt for another pet insurance company. AKC was by my side, even in our darkest hour, and they really cared about my cat’s issues. Besides, their customer service team was outstanding and answered my questions with a lot of patience and care. Each representative I talked to was knowledgeable, and I never had a bad experience with AKC. Thank you all for your outstanding job!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Robert Hunt, Alabama

May 19, 2019
With every request for reimbursement I had with AKC, I had some extra questions. But their representatives were quick to reply and help me understand all the basics of the claim process. Top-notch service and extremely helpful when your furry friend is sick!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Ross Tucker, Texas

March 30, 2019
This is a great service! My dog has been insured with AKC for five years, and just recently I submitted my first claim. The rates were acceptable, and I got everything I was supposed to. My poor dog had a ligament injury, which led to several vet visits, tests and treatments, for a total of $4,700. I never had any issue requesting my reimbursement, and everything was done faster than I imagined. AKC sent me my check in less than 14 days, which says a lot about their professionalism. Besides, I had additional claims submitted because my dog got an ugly ear infection, and there was no trouble in receiving my reimbursement. I am thankful for AKC as, otherwise, I would’ve gone into serious financial distress, having to pay for my dog’s care!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Susan McDowell, North Carolina

July 20, 2018
As soon as I rescued my cat from the local shelter, we received a free month trial for insurance provided by AKC. I wasn’t sure why I would need this, but I accepted the offer. Anyway, my cat managed to injure one of her legs, as she was extremely stressed after we took her home and jumped all around. So, this ended up being a visit to the emergency clinic, where she had a cast put on and several treatments administered. AKC was there for us and I didn’t experience any issue with my claim and reimbursement.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
3 out of 5

Florence, California

June 11, 2018
I’m unsatisfied by the quality of this service! I had five (yes, FIVE) requests for reimbursement with AKC and only one got me a small reimbursement. And it didn’t cover all the points mentioned in the policy! My first three claims were immediately classified as pre-existing conditions, even though they weren’t. But who cared? My vet submitted additional records to prove my point, but everything was futile. It was a hassle I don’t need to have in my life! Dreadful reimbursement process!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
Visit Insure Website

How do I know I can trust these reviews?

  • There are close 1 865 verified Consumer Affairs reviews.
  • We request the contact information of all reviewers to confirm their identity.
  • To maintain the site’s integrity, we use smart software to help us out.
  • Again, moderators will investigate all reviews before posting to ensure quality and usefulness.

Not sure how to choose?

Get expert byuing tips about Pet Insurance delivered to your inbox

Not sure about AKC Pet Insurance?

Take our two minute quiz to find the right Pet Insurance for you

No spam. We take your privacy seriously.
Visit Insure Website

AKC Company Information

Year Founded:    2002
Address:               8051 Arco Corporate Dr Suite 350
Phone:                 +1 866-725-2747
ZIP Code:            27617
City:                     Raleigh
State:                   North Carolina
Country:              United States
Price Range:       from $31 per month
Website:              www.akcpetinsurance.com

AKC Pet Insurance not only offers affordable pet insurance plans to help protect pets, but also posts health and safety articles to provide the most up-to-date information to assist pet owners. Their accident and illness base plan offers coverage for unexpected conditions such as allergies, broken bones, ear and eye infections, digestive issues, cancer, and much more!

AKC Pet Insurance includes alternative and holistic care treatment in their accident and illness base plan, but there are additional upgrades in coverage you can choose as well. They offer wellness plan options to reimburse towards preventative care items such as your pet’s annual wellness care visits, vaccinations/titers, dental cleanings and much more! Choose to add inherited/congenital coverage before your pet reaches the age of 2 to make conditions such as arthritis and diabetes eligible for coverage. Tired of paying a fee for simply walking in the door of your vet’s office – add the ExamCare coverage to be reimbursed towards that cost as well!

Read the many great reviews about AKC Pet Insurance, and don’t wait too long to get a quote for your pet!

AKC Premium, Deductible, and Plan Limit Options

Premium Can Be Paid

  • Monthly
  • Annually

Deductible Options

  • $100 – AccidentCare plans
  • $100 – CompanionCare Lite plans
  • Your choice – CompanionCare plans

Policy Limits

  • No annual limit – AccidentCare plans
  • $500 incident limit with unlimited incidents – CompanionCare Lite plans
  • Your choice of limit – CompanionCare plans

Coinsurance / Reimbursement Percentages

  • 10% coinsurance / 90% reimbursement – AccidentCare plans
  • 20% coinsurance / 80% reimbursement – CompanionCare Lite plans
  • Your choice of coinsurance / reimbursement – CompanionCare plans

AKC Claim Process

AKC Pet Insurance reimburses you for the covered cost of your pet's care and treatment, less your plan's deductible and coinsurance. The plan doesn't offer an option to pay directly to your vet. Filing a claim is simple and involves sending in a completed claim form along with a copy of the paid and itemized invoice you get from your veterinarian.

Type of Coverage Model

  • Reimbursement

Submit a Claim Through

  • Website portal
  • Email
  • Postal mail
  • Fax

Claim Processing

  • Within 5 Days of Claim Submission

AKC Memberships, Awards, Ratings, and Licenses

  1. Memberships

  • Better Business Bureau Accredited Business
  • Member of NAPHIA, the North American Pet Health Insurance Association
  1. Awards and Ratings

  • 5 Star Excellence Award from Shopper Approved
  • More than 28,000 five-star reviews
  1. Licenses

  • Licensed in all 50 states and the District of Columbia
  • Underwritten by Independence American Insurance Company
Visit Insure Website

AKC Company Policies

Eligibility

  • Available for dogs and cats
  • At least 8 weeks old
  • Accident coverage available for senior pets over the age of 8
  • No veterinary exam required for enrollment approval

Modification and Cancellation

  • Plans can be modified mid-policy
  • Plans can be cancelled any time without penalty

Waiting Periods

  • 2 days for accidents
  • 14 days for injuries
  • Extended 180-day waiting period for IVDD and cruciate ligament conditions

Exclusions

  • Pre-existing conditions
  • Wellness and routine care (unless purchased as add-on coverage)
  • Hereditary and congenital conditions (unless purchased as add-on coverage)

Breed-Specific Exclusions

  • None

Hereditary and Congenital Conditions Coverage

  • Available as add-on coverage
  • 30-day waiting period
  • Pre-existing conditions excluded
  • Must be under the age of 2 to enroll
  • Coverage subject to deductible and coinsurance

Wellness Coverage

  • Available as add-on coverage
  • No waiting periods
  • Includes set annual reimbursement amounts
  • Not subject to deductible, coinsurance, or annual limits

Exam Fee Coverage

  • Available as an add-on with ExamPlus

Dental Coverage

  • Teeth cleaning available as an add-on with DefenderPlus

Spaying and Neutering Coverage

  • Available as an add-on with DefenderPlus

Alternative, Holistic, and Behavioral Coverage

  • Included with CompanionCare plans
  • $1,000 annual maximum benefit limit

Treatment Access

  • Primary care veterinarian of your choice
  • Emergency hospitals
  • Specialty clinics
  • No veterinary network limits
Visit Insure Website

AKC Pet Insurance Available Coverage

AKC Pet Insurance offers a variety of insurance options for your dogs and cats, from basic coverage for accidents or accidents and illnesses to comprehensive and customizable coverage. Here are your options:

  1. Companion care

AKC Pet Insurance offers this accident and illness plan to help cover the cost of care and treatment for your sick or injured pet.

Covered Conditions Include

  • ACL injuries
  • Allergies
  • Broken bones
  • Cancer
  • Digestive issues
  • Hypothyroidism
  • IVDD
  • Toxin ingestion
  • UTIs

Covered Care and Treatment Include

  • CT scan and MRI
  • Emergency care
  • Hospitalization
  • Laboratory tests
  • Physical therapy
  • Prescription medications
  • Surgery
  • X-ray and ultrasound

Additional Plan Benefits Include

  • Alternative and holistic care coverage
  • Behavioral problem coverage
  • Vitamins and supplements
  • No per-incident limits
  • The option of no annual limit

Flexible Plan Options Include Your Choice of

  • Deductible
  • Annual limit
  • Coinsurance
  1. CompanionCare Lite

For those who want accident and illness coverage at a lower premium to cover minor accidents, injuries, or illnesses, there’s AKC’s CompanionCare Lite. This plan features the same comprehensive coverage as the CompanionCare plan at an affordable price.

Plan Options Include

  • $100 deductible
  • $500 per incident limit
  • Unlimited incidents
  • 20% coinsurance
  1. AccidentCare

AKC also offers accident only coverage for pets that aren’t eligible for CompanionCare accident and illness coverage. The plan can help cover expenses for unexpected injuries and accidents, including for senior animals over the age of 8, as there is no maximum age limit.

Covered Conditions Include

  • Bee stings
  • Bite wounds
  • Broken bones
  • Eye injuries
  • Lacerations
  • Snake bite
  • Sprains
  • Toxin ingestion

Covered Care and Treatment Include

  • CT scan and MRI
  • Emergency care
  • Hospitalization
  • Laboratory tests
  • Pet ambulance
  • Prescription medications
  • Surgery
  • X-ray and ultrasound

Plan Options Include

  • $100 deductible
  • Unlimited annual limit
  • 10% coinsurance
  1. Add-On Coverage

AKC Pet Insurance allows you to add additional coverage to any of its accident and accident and illness plans. These include:

  • ExamPlus for exam and office visit coverage
  • HereditaryPlus for inherited and congenital coverage
  • Defender and DefenderPlus for wellness coverage
  • SupportPlus for final respects coverage


!

Petinsurancefinder is an independent platform, made to provide pet owners with up-to-date information about top insurance companies. Any insurance company that is presented on this website has the right to make changes to its official data. We are dedicated to distributing reviews based on a person's experience and opinions of his/her insurance company. Reviews are "reviewed" to ensure there is no offensive material. All information may be used only for reference; carefully review your policy before purchasing and signing a new contract. As an independent platform, we receive compensation from companies listed in the comparison block. No review is a representation of our company or its employees.