Get Quotes
ASPCA

If you want to be a good pet parent, and you want to make sure they are covered in case of accident or illness, take a look at plans available in your state from ASPCA.

Policy options include plans with an annual deductible ($100, $250 or $500), and variable amounts of reimbursement (70%, 80% or 90%), allowing you to easily customize the policy to your needs. There’s even an app you can use on your mobile device to help you submit and track claims, review your benefits, find a nearby vet clinic and update your contact information.

Go to the website to find out more information, get a free quote and protect your pets.

ASPCA

Average Customer Rating

4.1 out of 5

Based on 45 customer ratings
5 stars
30
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
5

ASPCA Pet Insurance Reviews

Sort:

5 out of 5

Dillon Memon, Illinois

June 16, 2020
I am very happy to say that I have been an ASPCA customer for two years now and did not have to use the insurance because my dogs stayed healthy. Then came a disastrous couple of weeks when both my dogs needed to be rushed to the vet because the first dog swallowed a toy and needed to have surgery immediately to have it removed. The only reason we could even agree to have the surgery in the first place was because we had accident insurance. Without it, there is just no way. My other dog's condition was not life-threatening but I did take him to the vet just for good measure. It just gives me peace of mind knowing that if something happens to my dogs, I can take them to the vet right away without worrying about the money.
Helpful 1 people found this review helpful
2 out of 5

Kenneth Nwana, Massachusetts

May 15, 2020
For many dog owners, their dogs are part of the family and we are no exception. This is why we did a lot of research before choosing an insurance company for our dogs. In the end, we decided to buy a plan that will reimburse us 90% of the costs. It was expensive, but we felt that it was the right thing to do. I had issues with ASPCA right from the get-go. At first, they extended our waiting period, then there were some problems with the paperwork and later on, there were issues with the paperwork. The problems just started piling on. When I called them to find out what the problem was, they were very rude on the phone. Overall, I would rate their customer service as sub-par. For the money that I am paying, I feel that I deserve better treatment than that. For this reason, I would suggest that you look for another company to get coverage.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
4 out of 5

Rodney Logan, MS

April 24, 2020
Like all dog owners, I really love my dog which is why I decided to buy a policy that would cover a lot of the costs in case of serious issues. I ended up getting the one that will cover 90%. I didn’t have to use it for the first couple of years, but then my dog had to be taken to the vet because of pneumonia. I was really worried about him, but I was also worried about how much everything was going to cost. ASPCA really came through for me and paid their share. I had to spend quite some time with them on the phone to get them to pay out, but eventually they did.
Helpful 1 people found this review helpful
5 out of 5

Jesse Taylor, Utah

April 9, 2020
I have been with ASPCA for a long time now and they have continued to provide outstanding customer service over the years. Every time I call in, they are very friendly and pleasant to talk to. They even help with some of the little stuff like helping me get my paperwork in order. A lot of other companies would have told me to figure it out myself. So, I am very grateful that they are there for me and paid all of my claims on time, but for the little things as well.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Jess Huffman, California

January 10, 2020
I’ve been with ASPCA for quite some time and have always had a great experience calling in. Not only do they give me peace of mind knowing that my cat is covered, but they are also there for me even for the little things, like helping me find the necessary documents. Due to the holiday season, my house is a mess, and I misplaced everything. I called in and talked to a wonderful service representative who helped me with everything. Thanks to them, I have one less issue to deal with.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Bennie Clark, Ohio

January 10, 2020
Just like all good pet owners, we got pet insurance for our dogs, because they are family. We did not pick the first insurance company that appeared on our Google search results, either. We took our time, did a lot of research and gathered all of the information needed to make a decision. We bought the plan that covers 90% of the costs. It was expensive, but we felt that it was worth it to give us peace of mind. We were disappointed right from the get-go, because they extended our waiting period. I called to see what was going on, but their representatives were very rude. I definitely felt that I was not getting what I paid for. In the 5+ months that we have been with ASPCA, we incurred a lot of expenses without any reimbursement from ASPCA. Sure, they will tell you exactly what you want to hear when you call in shopping around, but once you sign with them, the situation drastically changes. This is why I would like to warn my fellow dog owners to look elsewhere for dog insurance. With the money that I spent on ASPCA, I could have had great coverage somewhere else, based on the research that my husband and I did. We made a bad choice and now we are moving on.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Evie Cook, Wisconsin

January 10, 2020
We switched to ASPCA after my dog spent some time in the ICU. We were hit with a lot of costs with our previous insurer, and we were looking to avoid such an experience in the future. It was difficult to find a company that would offer affordable insurance, because our dog is getting up there in age, and he has preexisting conditions. We took her to the ASPCA hospital a couple of times. We spent about $6000 in total, but they reimbursed a lot of it. While there are areas for improvement, I would certainly recommend ASPCA to anybody who asks.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
2 out of 5

Harper Campbell, Colorado

January 10, 2020
Looking back on my experience, I think it would have been better if I just got a credit card and paid the monthly balance on it. I mean, with the level of insurance provided by ASPCA, I don’t really see any point in having insurance.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Bev Lee, Alaska

January 10, 2020
What impressed me most about ASPCA is that they showed some support after the surgery was over. They called to see how my puppy was doing and how he was getting along. While these may be small things, it made a big difference, because it showed me that I was not just a customer number so and so. I was an actual person and my dog needed help. I do not agree with some of the negative comments that people are leaving, because my plan was activated on the very same day that I bought it. This was great news for me, because my Italian Greyhound got into an accident that same day, and I needed to rush him to the hospital. They took care of their share of the bills, which was 80%, and I paid my deductible ($100). If it wasn't for them, I could never have paid my dog’s vet bills, and I honestly don’t know what I would have done. This is why I am very grateful for them.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
1 out of 5

Haiden Gonzales, Texas

January 9, 2020
I don’t even know where to begin with voicing my frustration with ASPCA. First of all, the policy is no good. It does not cover the things that my cat needs most. Second of all, they deny my claims, even when I use the insurance. I mean, I took my cat to a legit vet and hospital, and they treated me like I am some fraud. Don’t give them any money.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
2 out of 5

Jude Richardson, Florida

January 5, 2020
As soon as my husband found better insurance somewhere else, I canceled my policy right away. While I was not happy with the policy to begin with, I would like to tell you about the terrible experience I had when I called in to say that I was leaving. They simply would not take “no” for an answer. I spent maybe 15 minutes on the phone talking to them where the representative told me that I was making a big mistake. She even went so far as to say that I don’t care about my dog. I understand that they need to keep customers, but this is ridiculous.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
4 out of 5

Daniel Ray Ray, NM

November 4, 2019
Considering my other problems with ASPCA, the latest reimbursement request was dealt with in an improved way. The service was prompter, while the representative wasn’t so cold as before.
Helpful 1 people found this review helpful
5 out of 5

Morris, New Jersey

November 2, 2019
Great customer representatives, awesome claim process and fast reimbursement. I have no complaints about this company.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
4 out of 5

Mika, Rhode Island

October 23, 2019
I like this
Helpful 1 people found this review helpful
5 out of 5

Theodora Foster, Arizona

September 29, 2019
I found the mobile app helpful for submitting an application hassle-free. Good job on doing everything online! I like it!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Susan Terry, NH

September 19, 2019
The insurance I have with ASPCA saved me a lot of trouble. Staff is knowledgeable, the process is easy and their mobile app is user-friendly.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Jordan M., Ohio

September 5, 2019
I just want to say that your customer representatives are the best! And, of course, your claim process time is great!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Timothy, Hawaii

August 24, 2019
My cat had several surgical interventions, and each time ASPCA reimbursed me for the costs. I received everything mentioned in my insurance plan. Thank you, guys!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Matthew Elliott, Arkansas

August 14, 2019
The reimbursement process was fast, and everything was done as professionally as possible. The representative always called my dog by his name, which I think is a big plus. They even took the time to reach me when my dog died.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Betty, Arizona

July 3, 2019
After my prior dog died, I decided to join an insurance company with my new puppy. And this service was the best decision I ever made! I submitted many claims, and everything got approved and reimbursed quite fast! I am so thankful for this service!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
Visit Insure Website

How do I know I can trust these reviews?

  • There are close 1 865 verified Consumer Affairs reviews.
  • We request the contact information of all reviewers to confirm their identity.
  • To maintain the site’s integrity, we use smart software to help us out.
  • Again, moderators will investigate all reviews before posting to ensure quality and usefulness.

Not sure how to choose?

Get expert byuing tips about Pet Insurance delivered to your inbox

Not sure about ASPCA?

Take our two minute quiz to find the right Pet Insurance for you

No spam. We take your privacy seriously.
Visit Insure Website

ASPCA Pet Health Insurance Company Information

Year Founded:     1997
Address:                1208 Massillon Rd Ste G 200
Phone:                   (866) 861-9092
ZIP Code:              44306
City:                       Akron
State:                     Ohio
Country:                United States
Price Range:         from $30 per month
Website:                www.aspcapetinsurance.com

Founded in 1997, ASPCA is one of the reputable companies in pet insurance today. Over the last two decades, the insurer has provided health coverage for almost half a million pets, with over 1.6 million claims processed over that period. The company is the brainchild of the Crum & Foster Pet Insurance GroupTM.

With many insurers looking to provide flexible billing and packages that address all health issues, ASPCA avails different packages. Each bouquet offers a unique set of conditions and illnesses covered, along with a variety of deductible options. The annual benefit limits per year range from $5,000 to unlimited. Available deductible options ranging from $100 to $500. Also, on offer are reimbursement percentage options that range from 70% to 90%.

ASPCA Pet Insurance Plan

This company offers pet insurance to pet parents all over the United States. Every insurer offers somewhat unique services, and ASPCA works on availing affordable and tailor-made healthcare solutions. Monthly insurance premiums on available policies range from $8 to $80, a genuinely competitive amount. Before purchasing a plan, get an affordable quote, and understand the scope of cover beforehand to avoid misunderstanding the extent of healthcare benefits included.

The global market is continually going green, which is not only environmentally friendly but also fast and convenient. ASPCA allows policyholders the freedom to submit claims and necessary documentation through the online portal. Additional options include postal mail and fax. However, the company app hands-down presents the most accessible avenue.

The submission of claims through the app is straightforward. All you need to do is:

  • Open the app
  • Click on ‘Claims’
  • Take a photo of the bill
  • Add a description of what happened

Like most pet health insurance companies, ASPCA does not cover pre-existing conditions, breeding costs, or cosmetic procedures. On offer is the unique Accident-Only Coverage, one that reimburses diagnostics, exam fees, and treatment costs specifically for accidents. Also available is the Preventive Care Coverage that augments your existing monthly plan for a little extra charge. Monthly premiums vary slightly depending on whether you own a dog or a cat.

Conclusion

ASPCA is a pioneer in animal health insurance. This company was the first pet health insurer in the United States back in 1997. Since then, there has been market growth as the company continues to make a name for itself in the sector as a market leader. For some pet parents, a proper history and a good reputation count for a lot because quality assurance remains vital.

In this partner, you have almost unlimited options. Flexibility is a massive incentive for many pet parents. The freedom to choose what you want your policy to cover, the amount deductible, and the annual coverage limit. What appears like an unstructured framework attracts the aspect of choice in what is a handy business model that offers tailor-made solutions to its valued customers.

Visit Insure Website

What does ASPCA cover?

Many pet parents prefer hassle-free processes when dealing with document submission, retrieval of account information, filing of claims, and other related activities.

The ASPCA app adds significant convenience to the process, with one able to enjoy, among other services, the following:

  • Submission and tracking of claims
  • Signups for direct deposits
  • Location of nearby clinics
  • Reviews of available benefits

A solid reputation as a trusted insurer makes ASPCA a suitable insurance partner for many people. With this particular insurer, you have the freedom to tailor a policy that suits your unique needs with ease. Your range of decisions includes the desired annual coverage, amount deductible, and the preferred plan.

Available policies cover:

  • Exam fees
  • Treatments
  • Diagnostic costs after accidents
  • Hereditary conditions
  • Behavioral issues
  • Preventive care coverage

It is important to note that ASPCA covers illnesses and conditions that other insurers don’t. Apart from pre-existing conditions, this insurer essentially has all angles covered and the best part? You get to choose the specifics of your preferred policy, along with the finer details. There is no select list of recommended veterinarians, meaning that you get reimbursement for cash spent on treatments from any licensed pet clinic.

Dog and cat insurance premiums vary slightly. When choosing a plan, work with the maximum estimated medical bill for your pet. The same approach goes for cats. Typically, insurers don’t cover genetic and congenital conditions. ASPCA, however, gives you the comfort of a Complete Coverage plan that caters for everything.

Reputation precedes this insurer, but there have been a few concerns about delayed reimbursements, with payments sometimes taking up to six weeks. Despite the once-in-a-while delays, this reputable company boasts a good record and remains a frontrunner in pet healthcare insurance.



!

Petinsurancefinder is an independent platform, made to provide pet owners with up-to-date information about top insurance companies. Any insurance company that is presented on this website has the right to make changes to its official data. We are dedicated to distributing reviews based on a person's experience and opinions of his/her insurance company. Reviews are "reviewed" to ensure there is no offensive material. All information may be used only for reference; carefully review your policy before purchasing and signing a new contract. As an independent platform, we receive compensation from companies listed in the comparison block. No review is a representation of our company or its employees.