Get Quotes
Petplan

Petplan policies can cover most accidents, injuries, and illnesses your pet might suffer, even dental disease, prescription medication, and cancer treatment.

There is an annual deductible, after which claims are paid, with a reimbursement percentage (or co-pay), or you can elect a per condition deductible to keep your premium lower. As with most pet insurance plans, routine care is not covered, but Petplan does cover holistic and alternative therapies that other companies may not. For your convenience, plan options include monthly, quarterly, or annual payments.

Even your older pets (age 10 or older) can be insured, so go to the website today and get a free quote.

Petplan

Average Customer Rating

3.9 out of 5

Based on 53 customer ratings
5 stars
33
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
8

Petplan Pet Insurance Reviews

Sort:

5 out of 5

Tim Winslow, Kansas

June 11, 2020
PetPlan was there for my dog Zendi and me during a tough situation where my dog needed to be treated for a hereditary and chronic condition. Before buying a policy with them, I did a lot of research, and I am glad that I found them. Thanks to PetPlan, Zendi is back and more durable than ever, and I have them to thank for that. Hopefully, he will be ok, but I can sleep safer at night, knowing that I am protected in case things get worse.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Simone Villanueva, New York

May 26, 2020
I have had my dog for five years now. For this, he did not have any issues with his health. Recently I had to take in to see the vet and the bill was quite high. Fortunately, I had a poly with PetPlan. When I called them to file my claim, they were very friendly, and they quickly collected all of the information. If they needed some information from the vet, they called him, and I didn’t have to do anything. It’s just really convenient, and they really do everything to make you feel comfortable in difficult times.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
2 out of 5

Sandy Lambert, MS

May 12, 2020
I have been with PetPlan for seven years now, and I feel like they are flat out gouging their customers. I mean, over the years, my premium increased from right around $55 to $120, and they claim it is all because of the age of my dog. At this rate, it will not be affordable for me to keep my dog insured. I might as well open up an interest savings account and deposit $60 every month. In the interest that it pays, I will be able to pay the vet bills myself. I don’t see any reason to stay with them.
Helpful 1 people found this review helpful
5 out of 5

Rodney Braff, Pennsylvania

May 6, 2020
I recently had to endure a horrible ordeal. I took my dog to the vet, and he told me that my dog had something called Pyometra. I read about this online, and I didn’t think this was the correct diagnosis, so I decided to get another opinion. The second vet said that my dog was not sick, but he had a fracture somewhere. I thought that this was the end of it, but it turned out that this diagnosis was not correct either. Later I found out that the right diagnosis was Pancreatitis. The reason that I am writing about all of this is because PetPlan was with me during this whole time. While I was running from one vet to another, they stuck with me and paid for all of the expenses. I am very grateful to them.
Helpful 1 people found this review helpful
2 out of 5

Anthony Rhouac, TX

April 29, 2020
The service from PetPlan used to be useful, but recently it started to go downhill. I tried to find out what was going on, and it turns out they were taken over by another company. Now, whenever I submit a claim, they always tell me some kind of nonsense that a form is missing, and you have to keep calling them to straighten the whole thing out. In dealing with the customer service department, I don’t feel that they are very knowledgeable about all of the procedures. I started researching other companies, and it turns out there are plenty of insurance companies that will give you better coverage for a lower premium
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
4 out of 5

Robert Little, AK

April 22, 2020
Before choosing an insurance company for my pug, I really did my research and read all of the reviews about each company I was considering. I liked what I heard and read about PetPlan, so I decided to give them a call and bought a policy. That was a few years ago, and overall I am happy. Last year my dog needed to have surgery on his hind leg. When I called PetPlan to see if they would cover it, they did a lot of investigating, but later said they would. They fulfill all of their obligations, which really gives me peace of mind. The premiums are going up every year, but I guess this is something you have to expect.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Shannon Breem, Maryland

April 16, 2020
I have been with PetPlan for about 4 years now, and I am pleased with the service that they offer. I have two Rhodesian Ridgebacks, and one of them I got a little less than half a year ago. It turns out that one of my dogs has a lot of allergies, and we had to make many trips to the vet. PetPlan made it easy to file the claim online. I was able to file everything quickly, even though I had many complaints. Even when I had to contact customer support, they were always friendly and happy to talk to me. Overall, I think this is a great company, and that’s why I gave them a 5-star review.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
2 out of 5

Ron Smakowski, Nebraska

April 10, 2020
I really regret not reading the reviews about PetPlan that are on here because if I did, I would have never bought a policy with PetPlan. I took my dog to the vet not too long ago and then filed a claim to get reimbursed. This process dragged on and on. Eventually, after about a month, they called me and said that they are still collecting all of the information, and it will take more time to reimburse me. This was just so frustrating because I waited so long only to find out that the process hasn’t moved forward in any way. Long story short, I am out $300, and the headaches that come with all of this are even harder to deal with. I would advise everybody to stay away from PetPlan because they might seem nice at first, but they will never make good on their promises.
Helpful 1 people found this review helpful
4 out of 5

Jeremiah Conor, Oregon

April 1, 2020
Signing up with PetPlan was one of the best decisions I have made. One of the biggest reasons I am so happy with them is that they don’t waste my time when processing claims. A lot of insurance companies out there will drag this process on and on. I have been with PetPlan now for seven months, and everything has been great. I have a Frenchie who is healthy for the most part. However, one time I took her to the vet, and it turned out she had pneumonia. I filed a claim with PetPlan, and they told me right away they will reimburse me for their share of the bill. They just offer a good experience all around, and that’s why I would recommend them to all of the pet owners out there.
Helpful 1 people found this review helpful
4 out of 5

Shayan Velasquez, Michigan

January 13, 2020
I really appreciate the way Petplan handles all of my claims. I have a Frenchie, and we have been with Petplan for all seven years of his life. I only needed to use the insurance very recently, when he had a case of pneumonia. Fortunately, Petplan reimbursed us very quickly for a large part of the overall bill, and I hope that this is something they will continue to do in the future. Also, the customer service is excellent. When I called in, I talked to someone named Byron, who spent more than an hour of his time telling me all of the available options. If it wasn’t for Petplan, there is no way I could have afforded all of my dog’s medical bills.
Helpful 2 people found this review helpful
5 out of 5

Miguel Sykes, Nebraska

December 3, 2019
I have been with Petplan for 4 years now. I have two Rhodesian Ridgebacks, one of which I got only about six months ago. The four-year-old has a lot of allergy issues, so I had to make a lot of trips to the vet and file a lot of claims. Petplan’s online portal is great. The customer support team is very helpful as well, and pleasant to talk to. This is just a great company all around. I give them 5 stars!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
1 out of 5

Kaja Zavala, Virginia

November 22, 2019
Be sure to read all of the reviews, because I made the mistake of skipping them when I bought coverage. I bought a policy a year ago and I felt safe at first. But as it turned out I was very wrong, which I found out the hard way. At first my dog was very healthy, and did not need any trips to the vet. But recently he started suffering from allergies, so I had to take him in. When I filed a claim with Petplan, they responded a month later saying that they did not have the necessary information to reimburse my claim. If this is the case, why did they accept my money when I first bought the coverage? Now I still have three months left on my policy, and I am out more than $300 and a lot of headaches trying to push through a claim that isn’t going anywhere. I got absolutely nothing from Petplan, and I had to pay for all medical expenses myself. I am lucky that this was not a serious issue, because otherwise I don’t know what I would do. Petplan screwed me over, so now I want to warn you to stay away from it. If somebody doesn’t meet their standards, then they should not give you the policy to begin with. This company is just a scam.
Helpful 1 people found this review helpful
5 out of 5

Carol M.Henry, ID

November 4, 2019
I am satisfied with the service offered by Pet Plan. I am stress-free, as I know I am prepared for all sorts of unexpected situations. My pet is happy and healthy, while I can enjoy the time spent with him, without worrying about financial distress.
Helpful 1 people found this review helpful
5 out of 5

Carol W.D., New York

November 4, 2019
My veterinarian made a terrible mistake and misdiagnosed my dog with Pyometra. Thus, the recommendation from him was an emergency spay. I wasn’t sure this was the correct interpretation of my dog’s symptoms, which is why I took him to another vet. The new diagnosis was Split Cycle, meaning my dog wasn’t ill. To my utter annoyance, this wasn’t the diagnosis either. In the end, I discovered that my dog had Pancreatitis. Pet Plan was there to aid me with this problem, and they covered almost all costs. And I can tell you with confidence that I felt lucky to have coverage from this insurance company. It offered me a lot in terms of peace of mind.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

John Wechsler, Florida

November 1, 2019
PetPlan is a professional pet insurance provider that allows me to take proper care of my cat. Each time I talk with someone from customer service, I stumble upon a friendly and caring representative. I have been with this company for some time now, and I’ve never been disappointed.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
2 out of 5

Miranda, KS

October 30, 2019
I am sad I can’t give this provider less than a 1-star rating. This fraudulent company focuses on its revenues and on finding ways to make you pay outrageous fees for coverage they don’t offer. You can see on their website a nice ad that promises wonders for your pet. They even say the entire process is user-friendly and rather simple. They even reassure you that you will get up to 70% in terms of reimbursement. But if you take the time to carefully read their policy, you will discover there is no actual assurance or peace of mind, as several potential claims are not included in their coverage. Take my example, for instance. My 5-year old healthy cat was insured with a deductible of an astonishing $500. They rejected my request for coverage for her dental issues, as I detail below. ‘As we’ve seen in the medical records submitted with the claim, the pet didn’t undergo an annual vet check-up. As a consequence, the exam based on which the dental condition was determined will be excluded from coverage. As said in the veterinary note we’ve received, the pet’s dental problems, i.e. dental disease, are not a subject of reimbursement. Please read the Policy’s Terms and Conditions as seen below: General Exclusions This policy does not cover: Any expenses if other General Conditions outlined in Section VII, or conditions applicable to you and outlined in Section VIII, have not been met. CARE FOR YOUR PET In consideration of the premium charged, it is hereby understood and agreed that, as a condition of this insurance, you must take care of your pet and arrange and pay for your pet to have the following: 1. An annual health check. 2. An annual dental exam. 3. Any treatment normally suggested by a veterinarian to prevent illness or injury. If your pet has not been examined by a veterinarian within the twelve (12) months prior to the effective date of the policy (thirty (30) days for pets age six (6) years or older) you must arrange to have your pet examined at your own expense within thirty (30) days of the effective date of this policy. Any medical condition(s) or clinical sign(s) observed or recorded at the first exam, and all costs associated therewith, are automatically excluded from coverage. Additionally, any conditions that are related to, caused by, or resulting from medical condition(s) or clinical sign(s) observed or recorded at the first exam performed after the effective date of the policy are also excluded from coverage. This section applies to both new policies and continuous policy years where your pet has not received the care described in Section VII.6.a. For the avoidance of doubt; if your pet does not receive its annual health check during a period of continuous coverage, the next examination will be used as the basis for determining any conditions which will be excluded from coverage.’ Please understand that all decisions are made with compassion, but in order to safeguard all policyholders, Petplan is required to apply the Terms and Conditions equally to all.
Helpful 1 people found this review helpful
5 out of 5

Simon Delacruz, New York

October 28, 2019
I have been a customer of Petplan since 2015. I experienced the underwriter charge, and have read some of the negative reviews as well. But I am very glad to say that my experience has been wonderful. I bought insurance for my dog when he was about six years old and needed to get ACL surgery on his right hind leg. They were the only company willing to cover the other hind leg since there was a high likelihood of him injuring that one as well. And troubles were just getting worse. Three months later he started having neurological troubles because of cauda equina/disc spondylosis. He needed spine surgery, and Petplan covered the $7000 cost, as well as the antibiotics he needs for his disc infection, which cost $400 every month. My premium did go up when I renewed the policy, but what do you expect when they cover $10,000 in medical costs? The premium also increases as a result of a new underwriter, but I increase the coverage as well. On a more positive note, they removed the clause that said that we couldn't go to any specialist that was not our regular vet. This opened the door for a wide variety of treatment options since he had more issues when he turned 9 ½. Thanks to Petplan, I was able to afford laser treatment, electro-acupuncture, and alternative medical therapies a lot more often. All of this was done to keep him on his feet as long as we could. They even covered his assistive harness, which was a pleasant surprise. They also did ask for some additional medical information, but in reality I should have provided this in the very beginning. It is very important that you tell your vet that you have insurance, that that they take precise notes, and that you keep receipts for all the claims. I have maintained all of the documentation and they usually pay within a couple of weeks. While I can’t speak for anyone else, my experience with Petplan has been fabulous. I have definitely received my money’s worth over the years that I’ve had it.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Diana Owens, Washington

October 15, 2019
I think the best decision I ever made regarding my cat was purchasing an insurance plan with this provider. When she needed emergency surgery, I wasn’t stressed about financial problems. I simply submitted a claim and got reimbursed in a matter of days.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Kyra Bravo, Illinois

September 22, 2019
After reading some of the bad reviews on here, I can tell you that they are not true. I have two Pitbulls who are relatives. One is injury-prone, so she takes an apoquel for itching which costs about $75 every month. Then she started having trouble with her knees and back, and since she was only three years old, we decided to do everything possible. The total medical expense was $8000, but we had to pay only $700. And she’s back to almost 100%. Hurray for Petplan! Thank you for giving my dog another life. As long as you go through all of the processes, you won’t have any trouble.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Albi Fernandez, Florida

September 20, 2019
This is my first experience buying pet insurance. I bought it through an AARP promotion after having to pay a lot of out-of-pocket expenses for many years. Even though my dog’s health has been great overall, when he turned 5 we took him to the vet and the bill was in the thousands. When I called in to file the claim, they requested certain information from the vet, which she submitted promptly and they processed my claim. After about a month, I got a check in the mail. I had a great experience and I would recommend Petplan to anybody.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
Visit Insure Website

How do I know I can trust these reviews?

  • There are close 1 865 verified Consumer Affairs reviews.
  • We request the contact information of all reviewers to confirm their identity.
  • To maintain the site’s integrity, we use smart software to help us out.
  • Again, moderators will investigate all reviews before posting to ensure quality and usefulness.

Not sure how to choose?

Get expert byuing tips about Pet Insurance delivered to your inbox

Not sure about Petplan?

Take our two minute quiz to find the right Pet Insurance for you

No spam. We take your privacy seriously.
Visit Insure Website

Petplan Company Information

Year Founded: 176
Address: 3805 West Chester Pike, Suite 240
Phone: (800) 237-1123
ZIP Code: 19073
City: Newtown Square
State: Pennsylvania
Country: United States
Price Range: from $20 per month
Website: www.gopetplan.com

When choosing a pet health insurance provider, it is vital to find a plan that works best for the pet owner and will serve the insured pet well throughout his or her life. Pet insurance providers have been in existence for the past 30 years, but several key players have recently risen to the top and come to the forefront. Petplan is one such pet insurance provider.

Petplan Pet Insurance-North America is a Pennsylvania-based company first established in 2003 by Chris and Natasha Ashton. The US location is a sister company of Petplan UK and has established locations in Australia, Brazil, Canada, New Zealand, the Netherlands, Germany, and Spain. The idea for Petplan was conceived as a result of an incident with Ashton’s cat, Bodey, who became quite ill after the family’s move to the US for graduate school. The illness resulted in a $5,000 veterinary bill. The Ashton’s came up with a plan for a pet insurance company – then named PAWS – to ensure fellow pet owners would not have to endure the same financial challenge when it came to vetting bills for their beloved pets.

Today, the company employs over 200 pet lovers and insures thousands of pets. The corporate headquarters houses an indoor dog park with a multi-level slide, a foster cat room designed to help cats find their forever homes, and the company’s walls are filled with photos of clients’ pets, who are considered “family.”

Petplan Insurance Claim Form

With the concern for their pet’s health well-taken care of, a pet owner can then turn their attention to the next concern: filing the insurance claim. There are some features of Petplan Claim Form:

  • Petplan requires that veterinary invoices be paid in full prior to filing a claim.
  • Through the claim process, the client will then be reimbursed for up to 90% of the initial out-of-pocket cost.
  • Claim adjusters on staff are fully-trained veterinary technicians and can speak and understand the vet’s language. This knowledge affords them the ability to process claims swiftly and accurately so pet owners can receive the fullest reimbursement amount possible.
  • For those who would like the peace of mind of knowing they will be reimbursed, Petplan also offers pre-authorization on veterinary expenses. Clients can obtain the pre-authorization form online and need to obtain their veterinarian’s signature along with documentation on required treatment and treatment costs.
  • Clients can submit claims either by phone, online or through the Petplan Claims app. The app, available for iOS and Android devices, provides the opportunity for pet owners to file their claims quickly and paper-free.
  • In addition to the claim form, pet owners need only submit photos of the paid-in-full invoice and their pet’s medical records.
  • Once the required documentation is submitted, clients can then follow their claim's progress through the portal.
  • Most claims are settled, and monies are reimbursed in about 5 to 14 days of initial claim submission. There is never any dropped coverage or increased rates just for filing “too many claims.”

Philanthropy and Awards

Petplan partners with many different philanthropic organizations, including the North Shore American Animal League, PAWS Philadelphia Animal Welfare Society, and Pets for Patriots, to name a few. It also offers discounts on their policies for registered medical services pets, veterans, and serving military members.

  • Besides, Petplan also organizes a charitable fund designed to promote the health and welfare of the nation’s animals and awards funding to a host of well-deserved causes for everything from non-invasive research on life-saving treatments to donations for rehoming charities.
  • Petplan has been the honored recipient of many awards and recognitions. In 2013 they were recognized as Ernst & Young’s Entrepreneur of the Year in the Greater Philadelphia Retail & Consumer Products Category. They made Future 40’s Smart CEO’s listing, and they were a three-time winner for Excellence in Marketing & Communications from The Communicator Awards. Their publication, Fetch! was honored with a Stevie Award for Best In-House Publication from The American Business Awards.
  • Petplan’s customer care staff is available 24/7 to address pet owner needs and questions. Pet owners can get a free quote on their expected deductible and monthly payment through Petplan’s website.
Visit Insure Website

Petplan Policy Options

Annual deductible options of:

  • $250
  • $550
  • $750
  • $1000

*Freimebusement level options of:

  • 70%
  • 80%
  • 90%
*Choice will very depending on pets age and breed.

PetPlan Pet Insurance Cost

Pet insurance cost depends on:

  • The age of pet
  • The breed of pet
  • The amount of coverage
  • The deductible and co-pay
  • Pre-existing conditions
  • Non-curable vs. curable conditions

Dogs

Average for Dogs: $33 per month

Cats

Average for Cats: $28 per month

Visit Insure Website

Comparison Petplan vs Healthy Paws, Trupanion, Pets Best, Embrace

Petplan Healthy Paws Trupanion Petsbest Embrace
Customer Rating 7.9 9.8 9.6 8.7 7.6
Unlimited Lifetime Benefits No Yes No No No
Covers All Illnesses & Accidents No Yes Yes No Yes
Covers All Genetic Conditions No Yes Yes No Yes
Includes Alternative Therapies No Yes Yes No Yes
Deductible $250 – $1,000 $100 – $1,000 $0 – $1,000 per condition $50, $100, $200, $250, $500, or $1,000 $200, $300, $500, $750, or $1,000
Financial Stability Rating A A+ A A- A+
Benefit Limits $5,000 – Unlimited Unlimited Not disclosed $5,000 – Unlimited $5,000, $8,000, $10,000, $15,000, or $30,000
Monthly Premium As low as $10 per month As low as $15 for cats and $20 for dogs As low as $22 As low as $6 per month Not disclosed
Visit Insure Website

Petplan Insurance Coverage

Petplan has one comprehensive insurance plan available with coverage options from $2,500 to an unlimited amount. Petplan offers its furry clients insurance coverage for life, and there is never any enrollment fee for a policy. Their insurance plan provides 90% coverage and reimbursement of veterinary bills. As with most pet insurance companies, Petplan does not cover routine visits, preventative visits, elective procedures, and pre-existing conditions. However, the company does offer dental coverage, coverage for holistic care, as well as coverage for chronic and hereditary conditions.

Coverage is specifically for cats and dogs and offers “Tooth-to-tail” protection for animals from six weeks old to well into the senior years and beyond.

Petplan policy covers:

  • Diagnostic treatments
  • Prescription medications (pre-existing condition prescriptions excluded)
  • Imaging (MRI, CAT scan, ultrasound)
  • Surgery and rehabilitation
  • Referral and specialist treatment
  • Accidents + injuries + illnesses
  • Veterinary exam fees
  • Cancer treatments
  • Dental treatments (non-routine)
  • Holistic therapies

Petplan policy does not cover:

    • Routine & wellness care
    • Preventive care
    • Pre-existing conditions
    • Cosmetic procedures
    • Liability coverage


!

Petinsurancefinder is an independent platform, made to provide pet owners with up-to-date information about top insurance companies. Any insurance company that is presented on this website has the right to make changes to its official data. We are dedicated to distributing reviews based on a person's experience and opinions of his/her insurance company. Reviews are "reviewed" to ensure there is no offensive material. All information may be used only for reference; carefully review your policy before purchasing and signing a new contract. As an independent platform, we receive compensation from companies listed in the comparison block. No review is a representation of our company or its employees.