Get Quotes
Pet insurance / Petplan Pet Insurance Reviews
Petplan

Petplan policies can cover most accidents, injuries and illnesses your pet might suffer, even dental disease, prescription medication, and cancer treatment.

There is an annual deductible after which claims are paid, with a reimbursement percentage (or co-pay), or you can elect a per condition deductible in order to keep your premium lower. As with most pet insurance plans, routine care is not covered, but Petplan does cover holistic and alternative therapies which other companies may not. For your convenience, plan options include monthly, quarterly or annual payments.

Even your older pets (age 10 or older) can be insured, so go to the website today and get a free quote.

Petplan

Average Customer Rating

3.8 out of 5

5 stars
29
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
10

Petplan Pet Insurance Reviews

Sort:

Shayan Velasquez

January 13, 2020
I really appreciate the way Petplan handles all of my claims. I have a Frenchie and we have been with Petplan for all seven years of his life. I only needed to use the insurance very recently, when he had a case of pneumonia. Fortunately, Petplan reimbursed us very quickly for a large part of the overall bill, and I hope that this is something they will continue to do in the future. Also, the customer service is great. When I called in, I talked to someone named Byron, who spent more than an hour of his time telling me all of the available options. If it wasn’t for Petplan, there is no way I could have afforded all of my dog’s medical bills.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Michelle

December 25, 2019
If I could rate this company it would be a 0! They have taken all of my payments but paid out absolutely nothing that they promised they would cover before I signed up. It Took them 3 months to process my claims each time and each time they paid nothing! I would not recommend this company to anyone! I was lied to when I signed up and ripped off from non-payments.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Miguel Sykes

December 3, 2019
I have been with Petplan for 4 years now. I have two Rhodesian Ridgebacks, one of which I got only about six months ago. The four-year-old has a lot of allergy issues, so I had to make a lot of trips to the vet and file a lot of claims. Petplan’s online portal is great. The customer support team is very helpful as well, and pleasant to talk to. This is just a great company all around. I give them 5 stars!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Kaja Zavala

November 22, 2019
Be sure to read all of the reviews, because I made the mistake of skipping them when I bought coverage. I bought a policy a year ago and I felt safe at first. But as it turned out I was very wrong, which I found out the hard way. At first my dog was very healthy, and did not need any trips to the vet. But recently he started suffering from allergies, so I had to take him in. When I filed a claim with Petplan, they responded a month later saying that they did not have the necessary information to reimburse my claim. If this is the case, why did they accept my money when I first bought the coverage? Now I still have three months left on my policy, and I am out more than $300 and a lot of headaches trying to push through a claim that isn’t going anywhere. I got absolutely nothing from Petplan, and I had to pay for all medical expenses myself. I am lucky that this was not a serious issue, because otherwise I don’t know what I would do. Petplan screwed me over, so now I want to warn you to stay away from it. If somebody doesn’t meet their standards, then they should not give you the policy to begin with. This company is just a scam.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Carol M.Henry

November 4, 2019
I am satisfied with the service offered by Pet Plan. I am stress-free, as I know I am prepared for all sorts of unexpected situations. My pet is happy and healthy, while I can enjoy the time spent with him, without worrying about financial distress.
Helpful 1 people found this review helpful

Carol W.D.

November 4, 2019
My veterinarian made a terrible mistake and misdiagnosed my dog with Pyometra. Thus, the recommendation from him was an emergency spay. I wasn’t sure this was the correct interpretation of my dog’s symptoms, which is why I took him to another vet. The new diagnosis was Split Cycle, meaning my dog wasn’t ill. To my utter annoyance, this wasn’t the diagnosis either. In the end, I discovered that my dog had Pancreatitis. Pet Plan was there to aid me with this problem, and they covered almost all costs. And I can tell you with confidence that I felt lucky to have coverage from this insurance company. It offered me a lot in terms of peace of mind.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

John Wechsler

November 1, 2019
PetPlan is a professional pet insurance provider that allows me to take proper care of my cat. Each time I talk with someone from customer service, I stumble upon a friendly and caring representative. I have been with this company for some time now, and I’ve never been disappointed.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Miranda

October 30, 2019
I am sad I can’t give this provider less than a 1-star rating. This fraudulent company focuses on its revenues and on finding ways to make you pay outrageous fees for coverage they don’t offer. You can see on their website a nice ad that promises wonders for your pet. They even say the entire process is user-friendly and rather simple. They even reassure you that you will get up to 70% in terms of reimbursement. But if you take the time to carefully read their policy, you will discover there is no actual assurance or peace of mind, as several potential claims are not included in their coverage. Take my example, for instance. My 5-year old healthy cat was insured with a deductible of an astonishing $500. They rejected my request for coverage for her dental issues, as I detail below. ‘As we’ve seen in the medical records submitted with the claim, the pet didn’t undergo an annual vet check-up. As a consequence, the exam based on which the dental condition was determined will be excluded from coverage. As said in the veterinary note we’ve received, the pet’s dental problems, i.e. dental disease, are not a subject of reimbursement. Please read the Policy’s Terms and Conditions as seen below: General Exclusions This policy does not cover: Any expenses if other General Conditions outlined in Section VII, or conditions applicable to you and outlined in Section VIII, have not been met. CARE FOR YOUR PET In consideration of the premium charged, it is hereby understood and agreed that, as a condition of this insurance, you must take care of your pet and arrange and pay for your pet to have the following: 1. An annual health check. 2. An annual dental exam. 3. Any treatment normally suggested by a veterinarian to prevent illness or injury. If your pet has not been examined by a veterinarian within the twelve (12) months prior to the effective date of the policy (thirty (30) days for pets age six (6) years or older) you must arrange to have your pet examined at your own expense within thirty (30) days of the effective date of this policy. Any medical condition(s) or clinical sign(s) observed or recorded at the first exam, and all costs associated therewith, are automatically excluded from coverage. Additionally, any conditions that are related to, caused by, or resulting from medical condition(s) or clinical sign(s) observed or recorded at the first exam performed after the effective date of the policy are also excluded from coverage. This section applies to both new policies and continuous policy years where your pet has not received the care described in Section VII.6.a. For the avoidance of doubt; if your pet does not receive its annual health check during a period of continuous coverage, the next examination will be used as the basis for determining any conditions which will be excluded from coverage.’ Please understand that all decisions are made with compassion, but in order to safeguard all policyholders, Petplan is required to apply the Terms and Conditions equally to all.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Simon Delacruz

October 28, 2019
I have been a customer of Petplan since 2015. I experienced the underwriter charge, and have read some of the negative reviews as well. But I am very glad to say that my experience has been wonderful. I bought insurance for my dog when he was about six years old and needed to get ACL surgery on his right hind leg. They were the only company willing to cover the other hind leg since there was a high likelihood of him injuring that one as well. And troubles were just getting worse. Three months later he started having neurological troubles because of cauda equina/disc spondylosis. He needed spine surgery, and Petplan covered the $7000 cost, as well as the antibiotics he needs for his disc infection, which cost $400 every month. My premium did go up when I renewed the policy, but what do you expect when they cover $10,000 in medical costs? The premium also increases as a result of a new underwriter, but I increase the coverage as well. On a more positive note, they removed the clause that said that we couldn't go to any specialist that was not our regular vet. This opened the door for a wide variety of treatment options since he had more issues when he turned 9 ½. Thanks to Petplan, I was able to afford laser treatment, electro-acupuncture, and alternative medical therapies a lot more often. All of this was done to keep him on his feet as long as we could. They even covered his assistive harness, which was a pleasant surprise. They also did ask for some additional medical information, but in reality I should have provided this in the very beginning. It is very important that you tell your vet that you have insurance, that that they take precise notes, and that you keep receipts for all the claims. I have maintained all of the documentation and they usually pay within a couple of weeks. While I can’t speak for anyone else, my experience with Petplan has been fabulous. I have definitely received my money’s worth over the years that I’ve had it.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Diana Owens

October 15, 2019
I think the best decision I ever made regarding my cat was purchasing an insurance plan with this provider. When she needed emergency surgery, I wasn’t stressed about financial problems. I simply submitted a claim and got reimbursed in a matter of days.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Kyra Bravo

September 22, 2019
After reading some of the bad reviews on here, I can tell you that they are not true. I have two Pitbulls who are relatives. One is injury-prone, so she takes an apoquel for itching which costs about $75 every month. Then she started having trouble with her knees and back, and since she was only three years old, we decided to do everything possible. The total medical expense was $8000, but we had to pay only $700. And she’s back to almost 100%. Hurray for Petplan! Thank you for giving my dog another life. As long as you go through all of the processes, you won’t have any trouble.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Albi Fernandez

September 20, 2019
This is my first experience buying pet insurance. I bought it through an AARP promotion after having to pay a lot of out-of-pocket expenses for many years. Even though my dog’s health has been great overall, when he turned 5 we took him to the vet and the bill was in the thousands. When I called in to file the claim, they requested certain information from the vet, which she submitted promptly and they processed my claim. After about a month, I got a check in the mail. I had a great experience and I would recommend Petplan to anybody.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Dorthy

September 20, 2019
Each time I had a request with Pet Plan, I got the feeling that someone cared about my pet’s wellbeing. The process is simple, while their staff is more than friendly. They offered all that is mentioned in my policy. So, I can say for sure that buying an insurance policy with them was the best thing I ever did for my pet.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Victoria Klinger

September 2, 2019
I had my cat insured with Pet Plan for quite some time before she got sick. Still, this company was there for me and helped me through our darkest times. Sadly, my cat died, but thanks to Pet Plan, I got a little extra time with her. Thank you so much!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Curtis Copas

August 26, 2019
I talked with a knowledgeable representative and shared my concerns about a claim problem. He was extremely helpful and aided me to speed up the process with my vet. I still have a couple of requests open with them, but I am confident I will receive the same exceptional support.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Tina

August 7, 2019
I wasn’t sure at first I needed insurance for my pet, but as soon as he started to have sudden allergic reactions to almost everything, I discovered it was the best thing I ever did!! Allergy treatment for pets is quite expensive, and Pet Plan was there to help me with this financial burden. It is a professional pet insurance company, and I recommend it from all my heart!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Thompson D.

August 4, 2019
My cat was diagnosed with neurological problems, which you might guess was a stressful time in my life. Costs piled up, while the necessity of expensive investigations couldn’t be ignored. Therefore, I was pleasantly surprised when Pet Plan accepted almost all my requests and reimbursed the costs as mentioned in my policy. I am so grateful for their support!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Denis

August 2, 2019
I reached customer service, as I had some questions about the claim request process. So, a friendly representative took my call and guided me through the steps I needed to take. Overall, there is not one negative thing I could say about Pet Plan. They reimbursed each time as mentioned in my insurance policy. I don’t know what my life would be like without this policy!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Brandon

July 26, 2019
When my dog was diagnosed with ACL, I felt hopeless. I started to sum up the costs and felt a little despair, as I would’ve most certainly gone through financial distress to cover it all. But to my surprise, Pet Plan was there for me. I reached customer service and explained my situation. The representative explained that there was a possibility of getting coverage, and in the end, they met my expectations and covered a substantial sum of the costs. Everything took less than 14 days, while every detail of my policy was respected and fulfilled. Thank you for your support, guys!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Steven Harrel

July 15, 2019
I am pleased with the service at Pet Plan. Still, I felt like it was a little bit of a hassle to reach someone and get an accurate response for my request. In the end, everything was solved, and I got the best rep to guide me through the process. I recommend Pet Plan to anyone that seeks the best insurance coverage.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
Visit Insure Website

How do I know I can trust these reviews?

  • There are close 1 865 verified Consumer Affairs reviews.
  • We request the contact information of all reviewers to confirm their identity.
  • To maintain the site’s integrity, we use smart software to help us out.
  • Again, moderators will investigate all reviews before posting to ensure quality and usefulness.

Not sure how to choose?

Get expert byuing tips about Pet Insurance delivered to your inbox

Not sure about Petplan?

Take our two minute quiz to find the right Pet Insurance for you

No spam. We take your privacy seriously.
Visit Insure Website

When choosing a pet health insurance provider, it is vital to find a plan that works best for the pet owner and one that will serve the insured pet well throughout his or her life. Pet insurance providers have been in existence for the past 30 years, but just recently, several key players have risen to the top and come to the forefront. Petplan is one such pet insurance provider.

Petplan Pet Insurance-North America is a Pennsylvania-based company first established in 2003 by Chris and Natasha Ashton. The US location is a sister company of Petplan UK and also has established locations in Australia, Brazil, Canada, New Zealand, the Netherlands, Germany and Spain. The idea for Petplan was conceived as a result of an incident with the Ashton’s cat, Bodey, who became quite ill after the family’s move to the US for graduate school. The illness resulted in a $5,000 veterinary bill. The Ashton’s came up with a plan for a pet insurance company – then named PAWS – to ensure fellow pet owners would not have to endure the same financial challenge when it came to vet bills for their beloved pets.

Today, the company employs over 200 pet lovers and insures thousands of pets. The corporate headquarters houses an indoor dog park with a multi-level slide, a foster cat room designed to help cats find their forever homes, and the company’s walls are filled with photos of clients’ pets, who are considered “family.”

Petplan Coverage

Petplan has one comprehensive insurance plan available with coverage options from $2,500 to an unlimited amount. Petplan offers its furry clients insurance coverage for life and there is never any enrollment fee to apply for a policy. Their insurance plan offers 90% coverage and reimbursement of veterinary bills. As with most pet insurance companies, Petplan does not cover routine visits, preventative visits, elective procedures and pre-existing conditions. However the company does offer dental coverage, coverage for holistic care, as well as coverage for chronic and hereditary conditions.

Coverage is specifically for cats and dogs and offers “Tooth-to-tail” protection for animals from six weeks old to well into the senior years and beyond. Primarily available to cats and dogs, the policy covers such expenses as:

  • Diagnostic treatments
  • Prescription medications (pre-existing condition prescriptions excluded)
  • Imaging (MRI, CAT scan, ultrasound)
  • Surgery and rehabilitation
  • Referral and specialist treatment

All About Claims

With the concern for their pet’s health well-taken care of, a pet owner can then turn their attention to the next concern:  filing the insurance claim.

Petplan requires that veterinary invoices be paid in full prior to filing a claim. Through the claim process, the client will then be reimbursed for up to 90% of the initial out-of-pocket cost. Claim adjusters on staff are fully-trained veterinary technicians, and can speak and understand the vet’s language. This knowledge affords them the ability to process claims swiftly and accurately so pet owners can receive the fullest reimbursement amount possible.

For those who would like the peace of mind of knowing they will be reimbursed, Petplan also offers pre-authorization on veterinary expenses. Clients can obtain the pre-authorization form online and need to obtain their veterinarian’s signature along with documentation on required treatment and treatment costs.

Clients can submit claims either by phone, online, or through the Petplan Claims app. The app, available for iOS and Android devices, provides the opportunity for pet owners to file their claims quickly and paper-free. In addition to the claim form, pet owners need only submit photos of the paid-in-full invoice and their pet’s medical records. Once the required documentation is submitted, clients can then follow the progress of their claim through the portal. Most claims are settled and monies are reimbursed in about 5 to 14 days of initial claim submission. There is never any dropped coverage or increased rates just for filing “too many claims.”

Philanthropy and Awards

Petplan partners with many different philanthropic organizations including the North Shore American Animal League, PAWS Philadelphia Animal Welfare Society and Pets for Patriots, to name a few. It also offers discounts on their policies for registered medical services pets, veterans and serving military members.

In addition, Petplan also organizes a charitable fund designed to promote the health and welfare of the nation’s animals and awards funding to a host of well-deserved causes for everything from non-invasive research on life-saving treatments to donations for rehoming charities.

Petplan has been the honored recipient of many awards and recognitions. In 2013 they were recognized as Ernst & Young’s Entrepreneur of the Year in the Greater Philadelphia Retail & Consumer Products Category. They made Future 40’s Smart CEO’s listing and they were a three-time winner for Excellence in Marketing & Communications from The Communicator Awards. Their publication, Fetch! was honored with a Stevie Award for Best In-House Publication from The American Business Awards.

Petplan’s customer care staff is available 24/7 to address pet owner needs and questions. Pet owners can get a free quote on their expected deductible and monthly payment through Petplan’s website.

Visit Insure Website


!

We are dedicated to distributing reviews that are based on a person's experience and opinions of their insurance company. It's not uncommon for reviews to be "reviewed" to ensure there is no offensive material. However, no review is a representation of our company and employees.