Get Quotes
Pet insurance / Hartville Pet Insurance Reviews

Apart from pre-existing conditions, Hartville Pet Insurance covers accidents, hereditary conditions, behavioral problems, dental diseases, dental cleanings, screenings, vaccines, and other illnesses. Their monthly preventive care plan caters to minor and severe illnesses of your pet equally.

Unlike other insurance companies, they have viable reimbursement options. Similarly, their Accident-Only Coverage covers the exam fees and diagnosis cost. As of now, their complete coverage is just $2.65.

It is time for the “master” to care for his or her dog – learn more about Hartville Pet Insurance to get a reasonable quote.

Average Customer Rating

4.4 out of 5

5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0

Hartville Pet Insurance Reviews

Sort:

Joy Crawford

December 11, 2019
I’m satisfied with my insurance and I recommend it to anyone who wants easy access to what is best for his/her pets.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Robert D.

September 9, 2019
Extremely helpful company and outstanding representatives! My dog experienced some neurological issues, which you probably know require vast investigations, all costly. Thus, I was relieved when Hartville accepted my claim and reimbursed 90% of my pet’s vet bill. I am grateful I got the chance to tend to my dog’s needs and keep him happy and healthy! Thank you!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Edward Harvey

June 11, 2019
I am ok with what I got in return via my Hartville insurance. My dog had a knee issue, which led to a torn meniscus and several vet check-ups. After the surgery, he needed special care for recovery, and I never had to worry about the costs. I simply reached the customer service at Hartville, stated my issue and forwarded the medical records. I got my money back fast, too. I recommend you all join Hartville! They really care about your pet!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Zoe Sims

March 25, 2019
I have had cats for more than ten years now, and this was the first time I had to use the insurance. I was surprised about how fast everything was. Hartville reimbursed quickly, without making everything a tedious process. All I had to do was submit the medical records and my request via the online service, and everything was done on time.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Michael

March 17, 2019
I will be honest! My mom works with Hartville and she was the one that encouraged me to sign up for one of their plans. But my opinion is not biased! I reached several customer service reps to ask for additional info, and every one of them was extremely helpful and knowledgeable. And I even got `thank you` and `get well` cards after the claim process and reimbursement were done. I really enjoy collaborating with this company, as it gives me the feeling that I am part of a family. Don’t hesitate to join them as soon as possible!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Jonah

August 7, 2018
My cat got several issues with one of her legs and needed several vet appointments. At some point, the vet decided there was the need for an MRI to determine what this was all about. In the end, she needed some expensive treatment that I sincerely couldn’t afford without Hartville Pet. Thank you all for this!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Mary Walters

July 9, 2018
I was one of those people who truly believed insurance companies were here to scam you. But at some point, I signed up for an insurance plan for my dog. I felt it was well-priced, so I gave it a try. And to tell you the truth, if it weren’t for Hartville, my dog wouldn’t be here today. He was diagnosed with an ugly tumor in his throat, and the vet suggested that the best approach was euthanasia. I discovered there was a surgical procedure that could deal with this issue and had a decent success rate. So, I contacted Hartville to request additional info about whether or not they would cover it. And there it was! The rep said that I would get up to 90% of the costs reimbursed if I submitted all the proof required to verify my dog needed the procedure. Today, I am thankful for this health plan because it saved my dog’s life and saved him a lot of suffering. And, of course, because of Hartville, I never had to worry about the expenses. The reimbursement was done in a decent timeframe, and I got the chance to focus solely on my dog’s recovery. I will definitely get pet insurance for any pup I rescue from now on!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Christopher Dennis

June 11, 2018
It is good insurance, especially for those who have young pets. They help you with everything needed for your pet’s wellbeing!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Lawrence Fletcher

May 10, 2017
My dog is healthy and never had to spend too much time at the vet. Still, one day, he got injured so bad that I went to an ER at a local vet clinic. He needed some stitches, bandages and an IV, along with an overnight stay; all were reimbursed in a decent time and without issues. I recommend Hartville pet because it is cost-efficient and a long-term investment for your furry friend.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
Visit Insure Website

How do I know I can trust these reviews?

  • There are close 1 865 verified Consumer Affairs reviews.
  • We request the contact information of all reviewers to confirm their identity.
  • To maintain the site’s integrity, we use smart software to help us out.
  • Again, moderators will investigate all reviews before posting to ensure quality and usefulness.

Not sure how to choose?

Get expert byuing tips about Pet Insurance delivered to your inbox

Not sure about Hartville Pet Insurance?

Take our two minute quiz to find the right Pet Insurance for you

No spam. We take your privacy seriously.
Visit Insure Website

Hartville Company Information

Year Founded:    1997
Address:               1208 Massillon Rd. Suite G 200.
Phone:                  +1 800-799-5852
ZIP Code:            44306
City:                      Akron
State:                    Ohio
Country:              United States
Price Range:       from $51 per month
Website:              www.hartvillepetinsurance.com

Part of the Crum & Forster Pet Insurance Group, Hartville Pet Insurance is one of the oldest and largest pet insurance providers in the United States. Founded in 1997, it partnered with the ASPCA in 2006. Hartville aims for fast and easy sales and customer service, with an online Member Center tool and app that's great for on-the-go dog and cat owners. Accident, injury, hereditary, behavioral, and even preventative care coverage is available, with simplified policy plan options to suit any pet owner's budget.

Hartville Available Coverage

Hartville Pet Insurance offers basic accident-only coverage, comprehensive accident and illness coverage, and add-on preventative care coverage for your dogs and cats. Here are your options:

1. Complete Coverage

Hartville offers a Complete Coverage plan to help you cover the cost of care and treatment for common and minor health problems, as well as rare and serious conditions. This comprehensive plan covers accidents, illnesses, hereditary conditions, and behavioral issues.

Accident Coverage Includes

  • Abscesses
  • Bite wounds
  • Broken bones
  • Cuts
  • Lodged foreign objects
  • Toxic ingestions

Illness Coverage Includes

  • Diabetes
  • Digestive problems
  • Cancer
  • Gingivitis
  • Hypothyroidism
  • UTIs

Hereditary Conditions Coverage Includes

  • Eye disorders
  • Heart disease
  • Hip dysplasia
  • IVDD

Behavioral Issues Coverage Includes

  • Destructive chewing
  • Excessive licking
  • Fur pulling
  • Tail chasing

Covered Care and Treatment Include

  • Alternative therapy
  • Cancer treatment (including chemotherapy and radiation treatment)
  • End of life expenses
  • Intravenous (IV) fluids and medications
  • Medical supplies
  • Microchip implantation
  • MRI or CT scans and x-rays
  • Poison control consultation fees
  • Prescription food (to treat a covered condition)
  • Prescription medications
  • Stem cell therapy
  • Supplements (to treat a covered condition)
  • Surgery and hospitalization
  • Tooth extractions
  • Veterinary treatment (including examinations, consultations, and lab tests)

2. Accident-Only Coverage

If your pet were to run into the street, eat something sharp, or have a disagreement with another animal, Hartville's Accident-Only Coverage plan can help you cover the costs. Coverage includes the same accident coverage benefits as the Complete Coverage plan, including exam fees and the costs of diagnostics and treatment for accidents.

3. Add-On Coverage

You have the option to add Preventative Care coverage to either your Complete Coverage plan or your Accident-Only Coverage plan. This add-on coverage reimburses you for a percentage of certain services that help protect your pet from illness. Hartville offers two versions, Basic Preventative Care and Prime Preventative Care.

Basic Preventative Care Includes

  • Annual exam
  • Canine DHLPP or feline FVRCP vaccination
  • Canine heartworm or feline FELV test
  • Canine rabies and/or canine lyme or feline FIP vaccination
  • Dental cleaning
  • Deworming
  • Fecal test

Prime Preventative Care Also Includes

  • Basic Preventative Care coverage
  • Blood test
  • Canine bordetella or feline FELV vaccination
  • Health certificate
  • Heartworm/flea prevention
  • Spaying/neutering
  • Urinalysis

Premium, Deductible, and Plan Limit Options

Premium Can Be Paid

  • Monthly, quarterly, or semi-annually installments (transaction fee applies)
  • Annually (transaction fee is waived)

Deductible Options

Your choice of an annual deductible of:

  • $100
  • $250
  • $500

Policy Limits

Your choice of an annual limit:

  • From $5,000 up to unlimited

Coinsurance / Reimbursement Percentages

Your choice of:

  • 10% coinsurance / 90% reimbursement
  • 20% coinsurance / 80% reimbursement
  • 30% coinsurance / 70% reimbursement

Claim Process

After your coinsurance and deductible are met, Hartville Pet Insurance reimburses you for a percentage of the covered cost of your pet's care and treatment. The claim can be submitted directly by you or by your veterinarian on your behalf, in which case the company can pay directly to your vet. It's easy to submit and track your claim with Hartville's online Member Center tool.

Type of Coverage Model

  • Reimbursement
  • Direct Payment (optional)

Submit a Claim Through

  • Online Member Center
  • Email
  • Postal mail
  • Fax

Claim Processing

  • Within 30 Days of Claim Submission

Company Policies

Eligibility

  • Available for dogs and cats
  • At least 8 weeks old, no upper age limit
  • 24/7 online enrollment access

Modification and Cancellation

  • Plans can be modified when renewing policy
  • Plans come with a money-back guarantee (if cancelled in 30 days)

Waiting Periods

  • No wait to use Preventative Care coverage
  • 14 days for accidents and injuries

Exclusions

  • Pre-existing conditions
  • Breeding costs
  • Cosmetic procedures
  • Wellness and routine care (unless purchased as add-on coverage)

Breed-Specific Exclusions

  • None

Hereditary and Congenital Conditions Coverage

  • Standard part of Complete Coverage accident and illness coverage
  • Pre-existing conditions excluded
  • Coverage subject to deductible and coinsurance

Wellness Coverage

  • Available as add-on coverage with Preventative Care
  • No waiting periods
  • Includes set annual reimbursement amounts
  • Not subject to deductible or coinsurance

Exam Fee Coverage

  • Standard part of Complete Coverage and Accident-Only Coverage plans

Dental Coverage

  • Tooth extractions covered by Complete Coverage and Accident-Only Coverage plans
  • Teeth cleaning available as an add-on with Preventative Care

Spaying and Neutering Coverage

  • Available as an add-on with Prime Preventative Care

Alternative, Holistic, and Behavioral Coverage

  • Alternative therapy covered by Complete Coverage and Accident-Only Coverage plans
  • Behavioral therapy available with Complete Coverage plan

Treatment Access

  • Primary care veterinarian of your choice
  • Emergency hospitals
  • Specialty clinics
  • No veterinary network limits

Memberships, Awards, Ratings, and Licenses

Memberships

  • Member of NAPHIA, the North American Pet Health Insurance Association
  • Partner of ASPCA, the American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals
  • Part of the Crum & Forster Pet Insurance Group

Awards and Ratings

  • Winner of NorthCoast 99 “Best Places to Work” for 3 consecutive years
  • Two awards from the New Jersey Business & Industry Association for employer and community service
  • Rated one of the 2019 top 10 pet insurers by Consumers Advocate

Licenses

  • Licensed in all 50 states and the District of Columbia
  • Underwritten by United States Fire Insurance Company
Visit Insure Website


!

We are dedicated to distributing reviews that are based on a person's experience and opinions of their insurance company. It's not uncommon for reviews to be "reviewed" to ensure there is no offensive material. However, no review is a representation of our company and employees.