Get Quotes
Petfirst

An insurance plan for your furry family members can help in times of illness or accident. You go to any licensed vet, emergency clinic, or specialist – there is no ‘in-network’ list of providers. There are different plan options with various annual benefits, deductibles, and reimbursement options, but all of your pets, no matter their age, are eligible for coverage. You can even add coverage for expenses related to routine care to help you offset some of the vet expenses you know you’re going to incur, like vaccines, microchipping, spaying, and neutering, and teeth cleaning.

Doesn’t your dog or cat deserve insurance coverage just in case? Go take a look at PetFirst – we think you’ll be pleased with what they offer!

Petfirst

Average Customer Rating

4.1 out of 5

Based on 26 customer ratings
5 stars
18
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
3

PetFirst Pet Insurance Reviews

Sort:

5 out of 5

Howard DeGroff, Wyoming

July 9, 2020
I bought coverage for my cat Gidget about ten years ago, and I can gladly say that I did not have to use the insurance all that much since my cat stayed healthy. Recently, she needed to have a couple of surgeries done because of cancer, and it was discovered that she was also a diabetic. I called PetPlan to file a claim, and I was relieved to find out that they would pay 90%. All I had to do was pay the deductible. I sent over all of the paperwork and was spent in a couple of weeks. I am sad to say that Gidget is no longer with us today. I did get two amazing kittens, Fawn and Raven, and they are also covered by PetFirst. Hopefully, I will never have to use the insurance, but I’m glad that it’s there.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
2 out of 5

Brendan Hughes, Massachusetts

June 1, 2020
Like most people, I read all of the reviews about PetFirst before buying a policy. When I noticed the bad reviews, I thought to myself, “It can’t be this bad.” After I gave them my money, it turned out that a lot of the things I read about were right. They promoted their immediate coverage on accidents, which kind of pushed me to give them a chance. This proved to be very ironic because soon after I bought the policy, my dog swallowed a ball and needed to get surgery right away. Even though the accident coverage was in effect, they denied my claim that this was an illness not covered by my policy. I called in to complain, and at first, the representative I talked to agreed with me, but later changed her mind when she remembered she was an employee of the insurance company. Such unethical behavior from PetFirst to promise their customers coverage they cannot deliver. Anyway, we are still appealing the whole thing, but we will probably be denied again. I think it’s sad that this company has any customers at all.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Karina Shelton, MN

May 20, 2020
I signed up with PetFirst because they gave me a reasonable price on a quality plan. When my dog got sick, I really didn’t know what to do. I called PetFirst, and they were able to walk me through everything. All I had to do was submit all of the forms the vet gave me, and they would just process it and reimburse me. All of this was done very quickly, and I had no trouble filling my claim. They were there for them when I needed them, and I am very grateful to them for that.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
4 out of 5

Tim DeGraff, Texas

May 4, 2020
I have two dogs, and they are both ensured with PetFirst. One of my dogs stayed healthy, so I didn’t have to use the insurance beside some checkups with the vet. The story with my other dog is a bit more complicated. They refused to cover his pre-existing condition, so I thought about canceling the policy outright, but in hindsight, I am glad I did not. He would have many other health issues that PetFirst would cover. So I am happy I kept the insurance, and I would like to thank PetFirst for being there for my dog and me.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Eric Butler, Wyoming

April 22, 2020
Earlier this year, my dog injured his leg and needed to have surgery. As you can imagine, something like this costs a lot of money, and I don’t know if I would be able to pay for it without help from PetFirst. I initially paid with my credit card, and they reimbursed me later for their share. My family and I decided that we were going to do everything possible to get our dog back to where he was before the accident, and we are very thankful to PetFirst for being there for us.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
3 out of 5

Lisa Kimber, Missouri

April 10, 2020
When I signed up for a policy with PetFirst, I had no idea that the claims process was this complicated. There is always some missing document, and I feel like they are trying to deny my claim. More specifically, there were many problems with submitting the proof of payment. I sent them all of the documents I had from the bank, but this was not enough. It’s just so frustrating. This happened on many occasions, and this is why PetFirst should raise a lot of red flags with potential customers.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Arpan Singh, Florida

April 2, 2020
Like all responsible pet owners, I bought insurance for my dog the first day I got him. It turned out to be an excellent decision because, during my recent trip to the vet, I discovered he has Granulomatous meningoencephalomyelitis. This is terrible because it can cause even further complications that can ultimately lead to mobility loss. In fact, I started noticing that he was limping in his rear legs, and that’s when I knew that I had to do something. The expenses for this procedure were very high, and if it wasn’t for PetFirst, I don’t know what I would do. I mean, if it wasn’t for them, my dog would not be here with me today. That’s why I am so grateful.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Esa Holt, Colorado

December 3, 2019
I feel very fortunate that I have been with PetFirst from day one when I got my dog. Two weeks ago, I was devastated to find out that he has Granulomatous meningoencephalomyelitis. This disease has led to other diseases such as diabetes, cataracts, and loss of mobility. He started having a lot of problems with his rear left leg. If it wasn’t for PetFirst, I don’t know what I would do. They covered most of the cost. Because of PetFirst and the specialty vet I took my dog to, he is here with us today. I wouldn’t want to be with any other insurance company. Thank you, PetFirst, for saving my dog.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Irving Weston, Missouri

November 29, 2019
Not too long ago, our dog injured his leg and needed to have surgery on his neck. The entire process would cost a fortune if it wasn’t for PetFirst. We paid for the procedure with a credit card, and they reimbursed us before the payment was due. We decided right away that we were going to provide a dog with life-saving surgery he needed, regardless of whether or not the insurance would pay for it. Fortunately, they did everything quickly and accepted our claim. After such a terrible ordeal, it was a sigh of relief to know PetFirst would pay for everything. I am very grateful!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Robert C.F., Nevada

November 26, 2019
Thank you so much, PetFirst! It is great to have an insurance company by your side when your pet gets sick. Our dog, Danny, had a neck injury that required immediate surgery. We thought that it would take weeks or months before the insurance would reimburse us. Our budget was tight, and the surgery costs were way above it. Fortunately, PetFirst ensured us that the process of reimbursement would go quickly and smoothly, and it did. Danny underwent surgery and recovered steadily, and we got our money back just as fast. If you need a reliable pet insurance policy, I recommend PetFirst with all my heart!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
2 out of 5

Laura Atkinson, Ohio

November 26, 2019
I am disappointed with PetFirst and its services. I had to submit a claim for reimbursement, but they kept saying that documents were missing from my application. More exactly, there was no proof of my payment. So, I sent another claim only to encounter the same problem. I did not like how they addressed the issue or how they talked to me when I contacted them by phone. Submitting two claims and still getting no positive results is a major red flag in my book for insurance companies. I will not bother with a third one, and I will most probably take my business elsewhere.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Matthew Fields, Indiana

November 24, 2019
Stay away from PetFirst if you value your money and your mental health! They do not care about your pet being sick, and they only want to rip you off. First, they lure you in with an affordable payment plan and assure you that they will have your back in case of emergency. However, when it hits the fan, they are nowhere to be found. When it comes to reimburse a claim, they make it as difficult as possible. I had to go through a long and strenuous submission process that required numerous documents. Every time I emailed them, they said that they were missing one file or another. They make sending a claim frustrating and demoralizing. As for their offer of paying for all the vet appointments that take place during the first 30 days after adoption is a scam. They do everything they can to delay the reimbursement process so that it surpasses that limit. They are a shame for the pet owners and insurance community.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Sulayman Terrell, Florida

November 24, 2019
I have two dogs and they are both covered by PetFirst. My younger dog stayed healthy and I did not need to use the insurance. Since they refused to cover my older dog's pre-existing conditions, I almost canceled the policy, but looking back on it, I’m glad that I didn’t. He had more health problems and needed surgery for hemolytic anemia. I am very glad that I had PetFirst because I don't know what I would do without them.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Karina Clarkson, Nevada

October 22, 2019
I enjoy being with PetFirst because of the great service that they offer. When my dog got sick about a year ago, I didn’t know how the whole process worked. While my dog was in the hospital, I called PetFirst and they explained everything to me. All I had to do was print out a form, give it to my vet to fill out and then just resubmit it to them. Since the first incident happened, we had lots of other minor issues and some requiring surgery. However, the entire claims process remained simple and it was easy to get help when I needed it. I would recommend PetFirst since they will always be there for you when you need them.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
1 out of 5

Imogene Peters, Rhode Island

September 1, 2019
Be very careful when using this pet insurance company! They will use any gimmick in the book to deny you payment. Our cat had a small surgery on her paw, and while the vet report clearly stated the nature of the medical intervention, they considered it was only a routine checkup. So, they blatantly refused to pay us back the costs. They are the worst!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Edward, Missouri

July 27, 2019
I have two dogs, and one of them has many health problems. I have to take her to the vet frequently, and if it weren’t for this pet insurance policy, I would be paying a fortune on check-ups and treatments. PetFirst is always there when I need them, and I am grateful that I use their services. I endorse them and recommend them to any pet owner that has a dog as sick and feeble as my Charlie is.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Miranda Blankenship, Indiana

June 11, 2019
PetFirst is the best! It was very easy to complete and submit the claim. They quickly answered and assured me that I would soon receive reimbursement. They are fast, helpful and professional. Keep up the good work!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Amelia Robertson, Indiana

May 10, 2019
I love that they give you free coverage when you first sign up with them. I got a new puppy and received the first month free of charge, which was quite helpful, especially since I had to go to several vet checkups in this period. It is my first time paying for a pet insurance, so I could not say if they are the best out there. However, PetFirst has worked pretty well for me so far!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Berenice Hampton, Oklahoma

May 10, 2019
Thank you PetFirst! Without your help, our dog would have suffered immensely and our bank account would have been depleted. We took out an insurance policy as soon as we adopted Jessie, our 3-year old Husky. We had no problems for the first two years, but then our poor girl developed GME and, with it, she also had diabetes and cataracts. She was a mess, and it took us almost an entire year to get her back on her feet. We couldn’t have done it without PetFirst, however. They were there from the start and helped us with vet suggestions, support and by covering the medical costs. The reimbursement plan was very advantageous and helped us keep our finances afloat. They are amazing!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Cecily Morton, Illinois

February 3, 2019
We are happy with PetFirst and their services, even if our collaboration did not always reimburse our claims. First off, I have to tell you about my puppy Ringo, who we adopted three years ago. Ringo had a preexisting condition that most pet insurance companies do not cover. It is a shame that PetFirst is one of them, but there was nothing we could do. We knew that when we applied for the policy. So, every intervention that Ringo had for this preexisting condition did not get any coverage from PetFirst. However, they were very helpful and quick whenever our pup had other medical issues. From a leg surgery to occasional checkups, they always delivered on their promise. As a pet owner, I recommend that you never go without pet insurance, even if your dog or kitten looks perfectly healthy. And, if you have to choose a policy, I recommend PetFirst!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
Visit Insure Website

How do I know I can trust these reviews?

  • There are close 1 865 verified Consumer Affairs reviews.
  • We request the contact information of all reviewers to confirm their identity.
  • To maintain the site’s integrity, we use smart software to help us out.
  • Again, moderators will investigate all reviews before posting to ensure quality and usefulness.

Not sure how to choose?

Get expert byuing tips about Pet Insurance delivered to your inbox

Not sure about Petfirst?

Take our two minute quiz to find the right Pet Insurance for you

No spam. We take your privacy seriously.
Visit Insure Website

PetFirst Company Information

Year Founded: 2004
Address: 400 Missouri Avenue
Phone: +1 866-937-7387
ZIP Code: 47130
City: Jeffersonville
State: Indiana
Country: United States
Price Range: from $15 per month
Website: www.petfirst.com

Personal tragedy may inspire new beginnings, and the loss of a beloved dog saw PetFirst co-founder Brent get the inspiration to help fellow pet parents avoid such loss. The untimely loss led to the formation of this company in 2003. Brent teamed up with Landson to begin the journey in helping facilitate the access to necessary healthcare with minimal financial hurdles. Since its establishment, the insurance partner has helped thousands of families secure the health of their furry companions.

The driving force behind policy formulation at PetFirst is the need for tailor-made solutions for all manner of clients and budgets. This approach gives policyholders the freedom to choose reimbursement rates, deductibles, and annuals limits that align with the available individual budgets. Set monthly premiums for dogs to remain affordable, with costs ranging from $32 for dogs to $26 monthly for cats. PetFirst offers deductibles of $50, $100, $250, and $500. Available benefit limits range from $2000 upwards annually.

How to File PetFirst Claims

The idea behind pet insurance is the reimbursement of pet healthcare bills. After an illness or accident, there are specific items required for the successful filing of a claim at this insurer:

  • A completed and signed form
  • An itemized invoice from the incident in question
  • Relevant veterinary records or SOAP notes

You can easily download a claim form from the company website. After the submission of a claim, reimbursement comes within two weeks, with no lengthy waiting periods. It is important to remember that the insurer needs 12 months of vet records for your first claim. For adopted pets, all necessary adoption paperwork forms part of the documentation for the application. In the event of missing information, the insurer will contact your vet’s office.

Timelines are crucial when it comes to claims, and the necessary documentation must be availed within 90 days of the invoice or treatment date. The submission of documents may be through the online portal (MyPets), email, standard mail, or fax.

Cost-Effective Healthcare

Healthcare for many uninsured animals remains a challenge. However, PetFirst steps up to provide tailor-made solutions for you. The flexible plans cover dogs and cats of all ages and breeds. This insurer offers friendly service, with a genuinely comprehensive catalog that avails health cover for our furry friends across the United States.

With a desire to provide affordable plans, getting a quote to fit your budget is easy. If you desire to cancel your policy, a simple email will do, as all cancellations have to be in writing. As an insurer, this company avails affordability and flexibility in one appealing package.

Conclusion

For humans and pets alike, health insurance remains a necessity. For many people, an unexpected medical bill in the thousands of dollars poses a severe challenge in an always demanding economy. A pocket-friendly insurer like PetFirst ensures that your animal gets the necessary treatment with minimum hassle.

Once the policy has served its purpose, you may cancel via a simple email. Flexibility with matters of age means that senior pets enjoy comprehensive health covers, with no limitations.

Visit Insure Website

What does PetFirst Pet Insurance Cover?

An increase in the need for pet insurance has resulted in a corresponding spike in animal healthcare costs. Advancement in veterinary services means better health, but the expenses involve often prove costly, especially for uninsured pets. As one of the fastest-growing companies in pet health insurance in the United States, this insurer lets you acquire the services of any vet in emergencies, with claims fully processed within the fortnight.

Here is a list of all covered healthcare issues covered right from the moment your policy becomes active:

  • Accidents
  • Illnesses – these include congenital, chronic, and hereditary conditions
  • Diagnostic tests
  • Exam fees
  • Hospitalizations
  • Alternative therapy and holistic care
  • Emergency care
  • Medication
  • Surgeries
  • Ultrasounds
  • X-rays

The policy covers the following additional conditions after 12 months:

  • Anterior cruciate ligaments
  • Posterior cruciate ligaments
  • Intervertebral Disc Disease, or IVDD
  • Medial cruciate
  • Cranial cruciate ligaments

Exemptions are inevitable, and PetFirst doesn’t cover the following conditions:

  • Elective procedures
  • Spaying or neutering
  • Vaccines
  • Deworming
  • Behavioral training
  • Boarding
  • Pre-existing conditions
  • Anal gland removal, expression or anal vasculitis
  • Breeding and breeding-related conditions
  • Pet foods and specialized diets, supplements, and vitamins
  • Elective procedures
  • Parasite prevention and treatment procedures
  • Deciduous teeth removal, endodontics, and orthodontics
  • Organ transplants
  • Bathing and grooming costs
  • Injury or illness from coursing, racing, or organized fights
  • Select routine wellness and preventative care procedures

Selecting a suitable policy for your animal is an important step. Take time to read and understand the fine print on all cover offers, and for everything that you don’t understand, don’t hesitate to ask for clarification from customer service.



!

Petinsurancefinder is an independent platform, made to provide pet owners with up-to-date information about top insurance companies. Any insurance company that is presented on this website has the right to make changes to its official data. We are dedicated to distributing reviews based on a person's experience and opinions of his/her insurance company. Reviews are "reviewed" to ensure there is no offensive material. All information may be used only for reference; carefully review your policy before purchasing and signing a new contract. As an independent platform, we receive compensation from companies listed in the comparison block. No review is a representation of our company or its employees.