Get Quotes
Pet insurance / PetFirst Pet Insurance Reviews
Petfirst

An insurance plan for your furry family members can help in times of illness or accident. You go to any licensed vet, emergency clinic or specialist – there is no ‘in network’ list of providers. There are different plan options with different annual benefits, deductibles, and reimbursement options, but all of your pets no matter their age are eligible for coverage. You can even add coverage for expenses related to routine care to help you offset some of the vet expenses you know you’re going to incur, like vaccines, microchipping, spaying and neutering and teeth cleaning.

Doesn’t your dog or cat deserve insurance coverage just in case? Go take a look at PetFirst – we think you’ll be pleased at what they offer!

Petfirst

Average Customer Rating

4.1 out of 5

5 stars
14
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
3

PetFirst Pet Insurance Reviews

Sort:

Esa Holt

December 3, 2019
I feel very fortunate that I have been with PetFirst from day one when I got my dog. Two weeks ago, I was devastated to find out that he has Granulomatous meningoencephalomyelitis. This disease has led to other diseases such as diabetes, cataracts, and loss of mobility. He started having a lot of problems with his rear left leg. If it wasn’t for PetFirst, I don’t know what I would do. They covered most of the cost. Because of PetFirst and the specialty vet I took my dog to, he is here with us today. I wouldn’t want to be with any other insurance company. Thank you PetFirst for saving my dog.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Irving Weston

November 29, 2019
Not too long ago, our dog injured his leg and needed to have surgery on his neck. The entire process would cost a fortune if it wasn’t for PetFirst. We paid for the procedure with a credit card and they reimbursed us before the payment was due. We decided right away that we were going to provide a dog with life-saving surgery he needed, regardless of whether or not the insurance would pay for it. Fortunately, they did everything quickly and accepted our claim. After such a terrible ordeal, it was a sigh of relief to know PetFirst would pay for everything. I am very grateful!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Robert C.F.

November 26, 2019
Thank you so much, PetFirst! It is great to have an insurance company by your side when your pet gets sick. Our dog, Danny, had a neck injury that required immediate surgery. We thought that it would take weeks or months before the insurance would reimburse us. Our budget was tight, and the surgery costs were way above it. Fortunately, PetFirst ensured us that the process of reimbursement would go quickly and smoothly, and it did. Danny underwent surgery and recovered steadily, and we got our money back just as fast. If you need a reliable pet insurance policy, I recommend PetFirst with all my heart!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Laura Atkinson

November 26, 2019
I am disappointed with PetFirst and their services. I had to submit a claim for reimbursement, but they kept saying that there were documents missing from my claim. More exactly, there was no proof of my payment. So, I sent another claim only to encounter the same problem. I did not like how they addressed the issue or how they talked to me when I contacted them by phone. Submitting two claims and still getting no positive results is a major red flag in my book when it comes to insurance companies. I will not bother with a third one, and I will most probably take my business elsewhere.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Matthew Fields

November 24, 2019
Stay away from PetFirst if you value your money and your mental health! They do not care about your pet being sick, and they only want to rip you off. First, they lure you in with an affordable payment plan and assure you that they will have your back in case of emergency. However, when it hits the fan, they are nowhere to be found. When it comes to reimburse a claim, they make it as difficult as possible. I had to go through a long and strenuous submission process that required numerous documents. Every time I emailed them, they said that they were missing one file or another. They make sending a claim frustrating and demoralizing. As for their offer of paying for all the vet appointments that take place during the first 30 days after adoption is a scam. They do everything they can to delay the reimbursement process so that it surpasses that limit. They are a shame for the pet owners and insurance community.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Sulayman Terrell

November 24, 2019
I have two dogs and they are both covered by PetFirst. My younger dog stayed healthy and I did not need to use the insurance. Since they refused to cover my older dog's pre-existing conditions, I almost canceled the policy, but looking back on it, I’m glad that I didn’t. He had more health problems and needed surgery for hemolytic anemia. I am very glad that I had PetFirst because I don't know what I would do without them.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Karina Clarkson

October 22, 2019
I enjoy being with PetFirst because of the great service that they offer. When my dog got sick about a year ago, I didn’t know how the whole process worked. While my dog was in the hospital, I called PetFirst and they explained everything to me. All I had to do was print out a form, give it to my vet to fill out and then just resubmit it to them. Since the first incident happened, we had lots of other minor issues and some requiring surgery. However, the entire claims process remained simple and it was easy to get help when I needed it. I would recommend PetFirst since they will always be there for you when you need them.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Imogene Peters

September 1, 2019
Be very careful when using this pet insurance company! They will use any gimmick in the book to deny you payment. Our cat had a small surgery on her paw, and while the vet report clearly stated the nature of the medical intervention, they considered it was only a routine checkup. So, they blatantly refused to pay us back the costs. They are the worst!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Edward

July 27, 2019
I have two dogs, and one of them has many health problems. I have to take her to the vet frequently, and if it weren’t for this pet insurance policy, I would be paying a fortune on check-ups and treatments. PetFirst is always there when I need them, and I am grateful that I use their services. I endorse them and recommend them to any pet owner that has a dog as sick and feeble as my Charlie is.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Miranda Blankenship

June 11, 2019
PetFirst is the best! It was very easy to complete and submit the claim. They quickly answered and assured me that I would soon receive reimbursement. They are fast, helpful and professional. Keep up the good work!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Amelia Robertson

May 10, 2019
I love that they give you free coverage when you first sign up with them. I got a new puppy and received the first month free of charge, which was quite helpful, especially since I had to go to several vet checkups in this period. It is my first time paying for a pet insurance, so I could not say if they are the best out there. However, PetFirst has worked pretty well for me so far!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Berenice Hampton

May 10, 2019
Thank you PetFirst! Without your help, our dog would have suffered immensely and our bank account would have been depleted. We took out an insurance policy as soon as we adopted Jessie, our 3-year old Husky. We had no problems for the first two years, but then our poor girl developed GME and, with it, she also had diabetes and cataracts. She was a mess, and it took us almost an entire year to get her back on her feet. We couldn’t have done it without PetFirst, however. They were there from the start and helped us with vet suggestions, support and by covering the medical costs. The reimbursement plan was very advantageous and helped us keep our finances afloat. They are amazing!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Cecily Morton

February 3, 2019
We are happy with PetFirst and their services, even if our collaboration did not always reimburse our claims. First off, I have to tell you about my puppy Ringo, who we adopted three years ago. Ringo had a preexisting condition that most pet insurance companies do not cover. It is a shame that PetFirst is one of them, but there was nothing we could do. We knew that when we applied for the policy. So, every intervention that Ringo had for this preexisting condition did not get any coverage from PetFirst. However, they were very helpful and quick whenever our pup had other medical issues. From a leg surgery to occasional checkups, they always delivered on their promise. As a pet owner, I recommend that you never go without pet insurance, even if your dog or kitten looks perfectly healthy. And, if you have to choose a policy, I recommend PetFirst!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Debra

July 2, 2018
PetFirst is the biggest scam in the Universe! They will tell you that everything that is wrong with your pet is a pre-adoption condition. They will ignore medical reports and dismiss all your claims just to get your money and never reimburse a single penny. I am disgusted with their way of treating us. Our first and only experience with PetFirst came last month when we adopted a new kitty. While she quickly adapted to our home, she started feeling sick after a few days. We took her to the vet, and after detailed testing they found that she had a stomach disease that she could have only gotten recently. The vet even mentioned in the report that the cat suffered from it for just a few days. When we sent the claim to the insurance company, they said that the “few days” could mean weeks or even months, and that it is most likely a pre-existing condition. Their response and way of talking to us were outrageous and rude. We even talked to the vet about it. He called them as well and confirmed that his investigation revealed a problem of a very recent timespan. Pet First still did not want to hear about it, so we had to pay for everything from our bank account. We immediately applied for policy cancelation and took our business elsewhere. Not only do they try to deny your claims in every possible manner, but they also treat you like a beggar. Stay away from PetFirst!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Frederick Heath

May 12, 2018
This is the best pet insurance policy that I have come across so far. I was in the market for months, looking for the most cost-effective and long-term beneficial pet insurance, and I found it at PetFirst. They are true professionals that care about your business and treat you with respect. When my dog got sick, they were very helpful and supportive throughout the entire process. All the vet bills were subject to reimbursement, and we got our money back quite quickly. I strongly recommend PetFirst to every pet owner out there!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Joe

April 19, 2017
I had an amazing experience with PetFirst! I have had pet insurance for a long time, but I never used it until my dog got sick. It was my first time going through all the procedures, and they helped me every step of the way. I cannot be more grateful for their support. We were caught up in vet appointments and surgeries, and they were there at all times. They made it easy to submit a claim, and they even showed me how to get reimbursed. I fully recommend PetFirst to all the pet owners that want to have it easy in times of emergency.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Rikki Brook

March 12, 2017
I would agree with all of the negative comments on here. They denied my claim when my dog had red-eye. They said the reason was that she had one time already and classified it as a preexisting condition. For some reason, they called me recently saying that their payment system was not working properly and they needed my card information again. I didn’t call back. Somehow, they found it without me, which served as an extra reminder that I need to cancel the policy.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Christopher Nichols

March 8, 2017
I am a long-time pet owner, but this is the worst pet insurance company that I have ever had the displeasure of working with in my life. They will bait you into paying for the premium policy, which will never be worth the money that you pay for it. That is because they will always find a reason not to reimburse your claims. They are a scam, and they act like it is your problem because your dog got sick. I recommend more serious companies, who at least do their best to send back your money in due time. Stay away from this company if you care about your pet and your finances!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful

Helen Booker

February 15, 2016
We adopted a new puppy from PetSmart, and they recommended that we apply for a pet insurance from PetFirst. Apparently, they work together or are part of the same parent company. We did not want to go through all the hassle of searching for the cheapest pet insurance on the market, so we decided to give it a go. Also, they offered 30-day free coverage for any problem that the puppy might have. We thought it was the perfect deal until little Max actually had an issue. He had a stomach virus that caused him diarrhea and vomiting. He was a mess, so we took him to the vet for a checkup that took $200 out of our pocket. The treatment cost another $300, but it did not work right away, so we had to take poor Max to the vet once again. This time, the vet prescribed antibiotics that cost $400 more. We were slowly but steadily reaching a $1,000 bill, so we called PetFirst to see if they would cover it. They said that they would do so as soon as we sent them the claims. We waited for a few more days to see if Max would get better, or if he would require another visit to the vet. Fortunately, the little fellow got healthy with each passing day and was soon on his feet. We were delighted about his condition and absolutely sure that we would have all those bills reimbursed. However, when we called them and sent them the claims, they rebuffed them all. They said that Max’s problem was a pre-existing condition and that they would not reimburse any of the bills. We were outraged. We even contacted PetSmart and told them about the problems, but they said that there was nothing they could do about it and that they could not confirm if Max had or hadn’t a stomach virus before we adopted him. We were quite sure that there was nothing like that mentioned in the medical records when we filed for adoption. Nevertheless, they said that they do not have those records anymore, and that most probably the pup got the virus shortly before taking it home. That was such an unfounded claim and it almost enraged my wife. There was no way out, and no matter how much we talked to PetFirst or PetSmart, they were implacable. We are extremely disappointed with how they handled this problem, and we are considering taking legal action. It is inadmissible to ensure your customers that you will cover all the vet bills, and when they show up to your door, send them away screaming. It is a shame, especially when you think that we are talking about a sick animal for whom they have no consideration at all. We strongly advise against using this company or their partners from PetSmart. They are full of BS and only out to get your money!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
Visit Insure Website

How do I know I can trust these reviews?

  • There are close 1 865 verified Consumer Affairs reviews.
  • We request the contact information of all reviewers to confirm their identity.
  • To maintain the site’s integrity, we use smart software to help us out.
  • Again, moderators will investigate all reviews before posting to ensure quality and usefulness.

Not sure how to choose?

Get expert byuing tips about Pet Insurance delivered to your inbox

Not sure about Petfirst?

Take our two minute quiz to find the right Pet Insurance for you

No spam. We take your privacy seriously.
Visit Insure Website

PetFirst Company Information

Year Founded:      2004
Address:                400 Missouri Avenue
Phone:                   +1 866-937-7387
ZIP Code:              47130
City:                       Jeffersonville
State:                     Indiana
Country:                United States
Price Range:         from $15 per month
Website:                www.petfirst.com

Personal tragedy may inspire new beginnings, and the loss of a beloved dog saw PetFirst co-founder Brent get the inspiration to help fellow pet parents avoid such loss. The untimely loss led to the formation of this company in 2003. Brent teamed up with Landson to begin the journey in helping facilitate the access to necessary healthcare with minimal financial hurdles. Since its establishment, the insurance partner has helped thousands of families secure the health of their furry companions.

The driving force behind policy formulation at PetFirst is the need for tailor-made solutions for all manner of clients and budgets. This approach gives policyholders the freedom to choose reimbursement rates, deductibles, and annuals limits that align with the available individual budgets. Set monthly premiums for dogs to remain affordable, with costs ranging from $32 for dogs, and $26 monthly for cats. PetFirst offers deductibles of $50, $100, $250, and $500. Available benefit limits range from $2000 upwards annually.

What does PetFirst Pet Insurance Cover?

An increase in the need for pet insurance has resulted in a corresponding spike in animal healthcare costs. Advancement in veterinary services means better health, but the expenses involve often prove costly, especially for uninsured pets. As one of the fastest-growing companies in pet health insurance in the United States, this insurer lets you acquire the services of any vet in emergencies, with claims fully processed within the fortnight.

Here is a list of all covered healthcare issues covered right from the moment your policy becomes active:

  • Accidents
  • Illnesses – these include congenital, chronic, and hereditary conditions
  • Diagnostic tests
  • Exam fees
  • Hospitalizations
  • Alternative therapy and holistic care
  • Emergency care
  • Medication
  • Surgeries
  • Ultrasounds
  • X-rays

The policy covers the following additional conditions after 12 months:

  • Anterior cruciate ligaments
  • Posterior cruciate ligaments
  • Intervertebral Disc Disease, or IVDD
  • Medial cruciate
  • Cranial cruciate ligaments

Exemptions are inevitable, and PetFirst doesn't cover the following conditions:

  • Elective procedures
  • Spaying or neutering
  • Vaccines
  • Deworming
  • Behavioral training
  • Boarding
  • Pre-existing conditions
  • Anal gland removal, expression or anal vasculitis
  • Breeding and breeding-related conditions
  • Pet foods and specialized diets, supplements, and vitamins
  • Elective procedures
  • Parasite prevention and treatment procedures
  • Deciduous teeth removal, endodontics, and orthodontics
  • Organ transplants
  • Bathing and grooming costs
  • Injury or illness from coursing, racing, or organized fights
  • Select routine wellness and preventative care procedures

Selecting a suitable policy for your animal is an important step. Take time to read and understand the fine print on all cover offers, and for everything that you don’t understand, don’t hesitate to ask for clarification from customer service.

How to File PetFirst Claims

The idea behind pet insurance is the reimbursement of pet healthcare bills. After an illness or accident, there are specific items required for the successful filing of a claim at this insurer:

  • A completed and signed form
  • An itemized invoice from the incident in question
  • Relevant veterinary records or SOAP notes

You can easily download a claim form from the company website. After the submission of a claim, reimbursement comes within two weeks, with no lengthy waiting periods. It is important to remember that for your first claim, the insurer needs 12 months of vet records. For adopted pets, all necessary adoption paperwork forms part of the documentation for the application. In the event of missing information, the insurer will contact your vet’s office.

Timelines are crucial when it comes to claims, and the necessary documentation must be availed within 90 days of the invoice or treatment date. The submission of documents may be through the online portal (MyPets), email, standard mail, or fax.

Cost-Effective Healthcare

Healthcare for many uninsured animals remains a challenge. However, PetFirst steps up to provide tailor-made solutions for you. The flexible plans cover dogs and cats of all ages and breeds. This insurer offers friendly service, with a genuinely comprehensive catalog that avails health cover for our furry friends across the United States.

With a desire to provide affordable plans, getting a quote to fit your budget is easy. If you desire to cancel your policy, a simple email will do, as all cancellations have to be in writing. As an insurer, this company avails affordability and flexibility in one appealing package.

Conclusion

For humans and pets alike, health insurance remains a necessity. For many people, an unexpected medical bill in the thousands of dollars poses a severe challenge in an always demanding economy. A pocket-friendly insurer like PetFirst ensures that your animal gets the necessary treatment with minimum hassle.

Once the policy has served its purpose, you may cancel via a simple email. Flexibility with matters of age means that senior pets enjoy comprehensive health covers, with no limitations.

Visit Insure Website


!

We are dedicated to distributing reviews that are based on a person's experience and opinions of their insurance company. It's not uncommon for reviews to be "reviewed" to ensure there is no offensive material. However, no review is a representation of our company and employees.