Get Quotes
HealthyPaws Reviews

Healthy Paws Pet Insurance Company Information

 

Year Founded:       2009
Address:                  PO Box 50034
Phone:                     (800) 453-4054
ZIP Code:                98015
City:                         Bellevue
State:                       Washington
Country:                  United States
Price Range:           from $17.68 per month
Website:                  www.healthypawspetinsurance.com

HealthyPaws Reviews

Average Customer Rating

4.1 out of 5

Based on 79 customer ratings
5 stars
54
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
12
1 star
6

HealthyPaws Pet Insurance Reviews

Sort:

5 out of 5

Gabriella Harrington, Kansas

April 1, 2018
The most extraordinary thing I ever did for my British Shorthair cat was signing up for one of the plans offered by Healthy Paws. I looked and looked for a while before deciding, and I can say for sure I am quite pleased with my choice. Of course, I read several reviews to make sure this was best for my cat. Even though there were a few negative testimonials, I was convinced Healthy Paws was the best solution for us. And here we are today, after four years, completely covered and satisfied with the professional services offered by this insurance company. Excellent customer service, promptitude and a lot of attention to detail! This is what you sign up for with Healthy Paws!
Helpful 1 people found this review helpful
5 out of 5

Kate Martinez, VT

March 30, 2018
Comparing the services I received today from Healthy Paws to those I had initially, I would say they are the most unskilled, unprofessional and uncaring service on the market. Requests take a long time to be analyzed and processed, and the vast time you spend on hold is concerning, while their response is 99% inexistent. I was forced to offer my dog for adoption due to personal reasons. So, of course, I followed the instructions provided by Healthy Paws for such situations. After I completed all the steps, I received a notice from them (after more than seven days!) that I needed to attempt again to complete these forms. I talked with several representatives, and all gave me contradictory information. Each one of them said he would do a follow-up call with me, which never happened. When I reached them again to ask what happened with my follow up, I stumbled upon an unprofessional representative who was bothered by my attempts to settle the issue. He plainly said it takes at least 45 days to deal with such a change. I got an email stating this, along with the fact that there was currently new info about my situation, but they couldn’t disclose it to me. I asked what happened, and the representative shut me off again. I underlined that it had been a while since I submitted my claim and that the pet wasn’t with me anymore. But still I was charged my monthly fee. Shortly after, someone reached me via email and said I couldn’t transfer my pet to anyone else. And a refund wasn’t on the table. Afterwards, I got a call and was told everything would be dealt with soon enough. So, here I am today, still waiting for my refund. I am sad because I used to recommend their services to my friends and family. And they became so unprofessional that I am ashamed that I made such recommendations! They shouldn’t have stated on their website that it was easy to transfer ownership of a pet, especially if they don’t allow it! I am sorry, but this is not what I expected from Healthy Paws!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Judy Jud, Maryland

March 20, 2018
So, I pondered whether or not to leave this here, but I think Healthy Paws deserves an honest review. I got a new Chihuahua a year ago, and she was just about seven weeks old. No health problems or anything. I always thought that there wasn’t anything that could happen to make me need coverage for her health bills. Still, I read a lot of customer testimonials, and I chose Healthy Paws to take care of my baby’s needs. After a year with them, I never requested any kind of significant reimbursement, just some small treatment I had to give her for her digestive tract. To make a side note, I assist a vet during the checkout process, as I am a trained vet nurse. Therefore, I have quite a lot of knowledge about pet problems, insurance companies and how everything works. Shortly after my dog reached her first anniversary, she fell ill. I rushed her to my workplace, and after several scans, echography, IV’s, hospitalization and many more, everything ended up with an emergency surgery of no less than 5 hours. My dog managed to develop a rectal abscess that was interfering with her wellbeing. This is a thorough procedure that is usually followed by several months of post-op care. Besides, during post-op care, my dog developed an allergy, which needed another set of tests and consultations with some specialists. Even though I work in a vet’s office, the cost for these procedures led to a rather expensive bill. The doctor that operated on my dog struggled to find the most affordable solution, but my dog needed costly medication. Without hesitation, I said my dog needs the best, and I would figure out later how to manage this financial crisis. Healthy Paws was there for me and analyzed my claim with professionalism. This resulted in a reimbursement that lessened my financial trouble significantly. Healthy Paws was more than correct with all my requests. I got a representative that continually contacted me to see how everything was going with the recovery process. So, if you need the best pet insurance plan, go for Healthy Paws. No matter if your pet is healthy, or prone to illness, you need to be covered by this professional team! Healthy Paws saved my dog’s life, and we are now able to continue our journey through life!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
1 out of 5

JJay, Washington

March 18, 2018
Healthy Paws is a fraud!! I have had an insurance plan with them for ages, and all they did for me was raise my bills for reasons that are a bit shady and never shared with me in advance of the increased rates. Everything seems like a campaign to fool their customers. They focus on finding ways to convince you about how affordable their services are, just so they have a way to boost your costs, up until you find yourself unable to pay and care for your pet. My costs doubled since I initially purchased this plan. I inquired additional information via their customer service, and they weren’t able to offer at least one decent answer. The representative I spoke to told me that’s the situation, and I have to learn to accept it. And he even suggested that, of course, I can opt for a cheaper plan, with fewer benefits for my pet! Incredible!! As a consequence, I no longer believe the scam this company plays, so I am looking for someone else to protect my pet. To anyone reading this: just find another reliable company, this is a fraud! Ah, almost forget! They messaged me that the rates were going up, as the vet’s office increased the costs of their services. But the truth is my invoices have the same price and never increased in value. And how is it possible to sell that reason to your loyal customers?!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Mahamed Gomez, Washington

March 7, 2018
Even though my dog, Lilly, is very little, she has already had to undergo surgery, which was very stressful. She has a chronic condition because of an ear infection and things were just getting worse. I could not stand to see her like this and I knew that I had to do something to make her feel better and give her a better quality of life. Thanks to Healthy Paws, I did not have to worry about the money. They were a ray of hope for me. After the surgery was over, there was a twoweek recovery period that was painful for her, but now she is really healthy. After we take the stitches out, she will be back to 100%. Anyone who asks me about which pet insurance company to choose, I readily recommend Healthy Paws because of the way they came through for me and Lilly. They also call in to see how we are doing. To them, Lilly is just as important as she is for me
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Eleanor, Idaho

February 2, 2018
I am satisfied with their mobile service. All I had to do was take some photographs of the invoice and medical records and add those to my request. Everything was analyzed in less than ten days, while the money was redirected to me quite fast. I requested payment with a check, and they’ve sent it quickly. I have never had problems with their services.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Olly Ratliff, Utah

February 2, 2018
I have a 4-year-old Maltipoo named Mochi. This is the first dog that I ever had, so I decided to buy pet insurance as soon as I got him. This was a great decision because recently he hurt himself while he was jumping off the couch and he needed a laminectomy. When I found out the cost, I was really glad that I had insurance because the cost was over $10,000. If it weren’t for Healthy Paws, I would be stuck with paying this bill myself. I called Healthy Paws and asked them if they could pay my vet directly and they said yes. Not only did they cover the entire cost of the operation, but everything was done expediently and without any hassle for me. Thanks to Healthy Paws, Mochi and I are enjoying life once again. He still needs to go through physical therapy and I am working with Healthy Paws to see if this will be covered. As of today, Healthy Paws has been great and I feel lucky to be with such a caring company.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Adderiy J, Washington

January 26, 2018
I have no words to express how professional this insurer is. Your request can be sent with the help of the mobile app, where you can attach anything you might need to support your claim. From that point on, you get reimbursed in a couple of days.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Kory Mckeown, Minnesota

January 11, 2018
I think that the pricing policy Healthy Paws uses is very deceptive. I went online and used their automated system to find out how much the cost of covering my dog would be. At first, I entered my dog’s age as 1 and the cost was $85 a month. I changed the age to 3 and the quote doubled. In other words, if you decide to buy a policy with them, your rate will double every year. This is unsustainable. They make a lot of claims about how much money they save you, but I just don’t see it based on their own pricing model. I guess they understand that as your pet gets older the number of claims you make will increase as well. I have two dogs, and if I were to buy their policy, I would end up paying $1800 a year for both of them even though they are only four years old. This is crazy.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Addie Sharma, Alaska

December 28, 2017
About four years ago, I bought the mobility service dog insurance from Healthy Paws and it was one of the best decisions I ever made. All of the insurance claims that I have made have been handled promptly and professionally and their app is very easy to use. They're there for you seven days a week, which is great because I call in a lot. Even though I call in so much, they are happy to talk to me and it is a pleasure to talk to them. They take care of my pet better than my insurance takes care of me because they cover my dog’s health costs 90%. I’m really happy that I’m with them.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Gareth Francis, RI

December 18, 2017
I chose a plan from Healthy Paws that covered up to 80% of my dog’s care or potential problems. I believe the price is reasonable overall because it features almost anything you might think of, besides any previous condition. I was pleased to find out they will reimburse for all my dog’s care recently. She needed extensive surgery on her leg, along with a lot of recovery treatments and post-op therapy. To sum up, the invoice reached an astonishing price of $10,000. I wasn’t sure if they would reimburse this, but I went for it and had surgery for my dog. And Healthy Paws did, as promised in their ad. They accepted my request, approved it and reimbursed in less than 14 days. So, it is safe to assume it was worth signing up for this insurance plan! I am not fond of insurance companies, as I truly believe they fool us, but Healthy Paws seems to be reliable! I will keep paying this coverage, as I am confident it is worth it! I am convinced of that when I see my dog wandering around the house happily! So, if you have a pet, give Healthy Paws a try!! It is nice to have some help when those expensive vet receipts come in! They are the best!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Jeremiah, DE

November 28, 2017
Having insurance with Healthy Paws was a great idea. I have 2 dogs and 2 cats, and my expenses usually go over the roof. Yet if it wasn’t for Healthy Paws, I wouldn’t have had the means to offer the best care for my pets. My oldest cat has some weight problems and walking difficulties. And if it weren’t for this policy, I don’t know what I would’ve done. They accepted my claim and offered reimbursement quite fast. I didn’t experience any difficulties with submitting or processing my request. I just used the online service, and I received a note on the app I’ve installed on my phone. I have used other companies to ensure my pets, but none of them met my expectations as much as Healthy Paws. So, I highly recommend using their services!!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
1 out of 5

Raheel Cunningham, Maryland

November 20, 2017
Something is really wrong with the way Healthy Paws goes about doing things because over the past few months I continued to send them all kinds of information about my dog’s surgery and they keep denying my claim. They tried coming up with all kinds of excuses just so that they don’t have to pay out. This is one big scam in my opinion. It would have been one thing if they told us right away that they would not pay, but they drew this out for months, which led to even more aggravation. Eventually, I had to get my lawyer involved to straighten the whole thing out. Don’t be like us and fall into this mess. Sign up for insurance elsewhere.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Stacy C.Carter, HI

November 2, 2017
I was unsure whether or not to consider Healthy Paws as my insurance company, but a dear friend of mine made them an impressive recommendation. I have been with them for several years now, and everything has been ok. I selected the 80% coverage package, with an annual deductible of $250. It was simple to choose a plan, as they don’t chaotically display their packages, as is the case with other providers. My dog had an accident while on a hike. I was pleased to find that Healthy Paws keeps its part of the agreement, and they reimbursed 80% of the costs. The process was sleek and straightforward, and I submitted the request with the aid of the online form. The reimbursement was done fast, straight to my bank account. They are reliable and fulfill their part of the deal! I never experienced a problem with Healthy Paws, so I am satisfied with the plan for which I pay. I receive exactly what I pay for, and I encourage everyone to opt for one of their packages!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Godwin Powers, Washington

November 2, 2017
I’m taking a moment to add a positive review for Healthy Paws, as they really deserve it instead of all those negative vibes most of you offer. This insurance company helped me a lot, and I don’t know what I would’ve done about my three pups if it weren’t for Healthy Paws. Some people around here offered only 1 star because of the said inexplicably increase in costs over only 12 months. Well, people, I, too, got the same increase, but it was after three years of insurance plans with them. I’ve been with this business for seven years now, and I am happy I keep using their services.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
2 out of 5

Tyler-Jay Gibson, OH

October 24, 2017
I keep calling them and sending them emails, but they just don’t respond for some reason. This is increasingly frustrating. The customer service is terrible. They kept me on hold one time for 15 minutes and then said that they would call me back. I waited an hour and heard nothing from them. They still haven’t responded to an email I sent more than a week ago.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

River Rosas, New York

September 22, 2017
I decided to get health insurance from Healthy Paws for my rescue dog, Cali. Adopting her was the best decision I ever made. The customer service people are very friendly whenever I call in and they are willing to work with me regardless of my situation. The app and the website are super easy to use. I would recommend Healthy Paws to anybody that asks.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Tomi O'Moore, New Mexico

August 16, 2017
After I found out that my dog needed surgery, I was expecting a big fight with the insurance company. However, to my surprise, when I submitted my claim it was processed expediently and they reimbursed me within 10 days. The customer service has been great and I feel that I have gotten a good value for my money after being a customer for two years. If it wasn’t for them, it would have been very difficult to pay for the surgery. Therefore, a big thank you to Healthy Paws!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Fane, NY

August 11, 2017
This company was there for me when I faced tremendous invoices upon my dog’s treatment. They covered almost 90% of the costs, as it was advertised in their insurance plan. I had a great experience with Healthy Paws, and their representatives are friendly and well-informed. Thank you so much for caring for my dog!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Amira Mcnamara, Colorado

July 23, 2017
I would like to start by saying that all responsible pet owners who love their pets need to have pet insurance. The price of pet surgery and recovery is very expensive and can cost as much as human procedures and money should not play a role in the health of your pet. Having said this, I know how difficult it can be to shop around for pet insurance. On the surface it appears that they offer the same thing, but in different ways. There is no way to predict when your dog will get sick and need to go to the doctor, which makes the process even more difficult. The plan that I have so far has been very reasonable. They cover a lot for the money that I pay and they have not increased my premium in 3 years. Even when I need to take my dog to the doctor, they always pay promptly and have not refused to pay any bills so far.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
Visit Insure Website

How do I know I can trust these reviews?

  • There are close 1 865 verified Consumer Affairs reviews.
  • We request the contact information of all reviewers to confirm their identity.
  • To maintain the site’s integrity, we use smart software to help us out.
  • Again, moderators will investigate all reviews before posting to ensure quality and usefulness.

Not sure how to choose?

Get expert byuing tips about Pet Insurance delivered to your inbox

Not sure about HealtyPaws?

Take our two minute quiz to find the right Pet Insurance for you

No spam. We take your privacy seriously.
Visit Insure Website


!

Petinsurancefinder is an independent platform, made to provide pet owners with up-to-date information about top insurance companies. Any insurance company that is presented on this website has the right to make changes to its official data. We are dedicated to distributing reviews based on a person's experience and opinions of his/her insurance company. Reviews are "reviewed" to ensure there is no offensive material. All information may be used only for reference; carefully review your policy before purchasing and signing a new contract. As an independent platform, we receive compensation from companies listed in the comparison block. No review is a representation of our company or its employees.