Get Quotes
HealthyPaws Reviews

Healthy Paws Pet Insurance Company Information

Year Founded:       2009
Address:                  PO Box 50034
Phone:                     (800) 453-4054
ZIP Code:                98015
City:                         Bellevue
State:                       Washington
Country:                  United States
Price Range:           from $17.68 per month
Website:                  www.healthypawspetinsurance.com

HealthyPaws Reviews

Average Customer Rating

4.1 out of 5

Based on 79 customer ratings
5 stars
54
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
12
1 star
6

HealthyPaws Pet Insurance Reviews

Sort:

5 out of 5

Derek Davidson, Illinois

September 26, 2019
Healthy Paws is like part of my family! The monthly fee for my insurance plan is cost-effective, which is why I consider it a big plus, even though unfortunate events don’t happen too often. It is best to be covered, especially with your pets! Take this example: my cat overeats all the time. So, a few nights ago, I took him to the vet because he was feeling dreadful. The vet did x-rays, blood work and several other costly procedures. The overall invoice was for $1500. I submitted a claim, and Healthy Paws reimbursed 90%, which meant I only had to pay the fee for the vet’s time. Besides being the fastest reimbursement I have ever received, their representative contacted me afterwards to ask how my pet was feeling. When my other cat passed away, Healthy Paws sent me a handwritten card with condolences. There are not enough words to express my appreciation for their services! And even though I sound like I am praising some corporation, I genuinely believe Healthy Paws is the best in their field. Everything is smooth, fast and they don’t seek false problems to have a reason to reject your request. If you have a pet, you unquestionably have to get insurance with Healthy Paws. I’ll forever rely on their services! Thank you so much!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Edward Parsons, IN

September 6, 2019
Back in 2018, my dog ruptured one of his ligaments, which, of course, due to his elderly age, required expensive surgery, for which I didn’t have the means to provide. And because our vet doesn’t offer payment plans, I was encouraged to opt for one of the insurance plans at Healthy Paws. So, when the unfortunate event happened, we had been with this company for almost 12 months. The overall process went smoothly, and Healthy Paws approved my request and reimbursed nearly all the costs. In the end, I only paid for around $400, the rest of which was taken care of by Healthy Paws. They offer this fantastic feature called lifetime claims, which makes me feel at ease when it comes to my dog’s health. To sum up, Healthy Paws is a professional and trustworthy insurance company. I am even considering adding my mom’s dog on my insurance, too.
Helpful 1 people found this review helpful
4 out of 5

Mary Johnson, Idaho

August 19, 2019
My cat has neurological issues, which result in a lot of seizures and vet appointments. Not once did I had to struggle to receive coverage from Healthy Paws! They helped us and covered almost everything we needed, and the rep was really concerned about our pet’s wellbeing!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Martha Fleming, WA

June 19, 2019
Healthy Paws is outstanding! I have been with them for seven years, and I have never had a dreadful experience, as others suggest in reviews. I have a golden retriever, and he was quite healthy until recently. He likes to chew all sorts of stuff, and one day he broke some teeth in the process. The vet said it is necessary to get surgery, as this can transform quickly into a threatening situation. Healthy Paws was there to support me, and their representative guided me throughout the process. I received everything that was mentioned in their insurance plan, the reimbursement was fast and everything was done in less than two days. The representative that was with me all the time even phoned for a follow-up and expressed real concern about my dog. So, here is my verdict: if you want a reliable insurance company with full disclosure, then Healthy Paws is the best choice for you!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
4 out of 5

Anabel, Washington

May 6, 2019
It is so reassuring to be insured by Healthy Paws. You never have to worry about choosing between financial problems and your pet’s health. And I can’t emphasize enough how serious this company is, mainly because my best friend had a policy with another company and they failed to help him when he needed it the most. So, overall, having a policy at Healthy Paws makes me sleep well at night, as my pet is both loved and prepared for any hardship he might face in this life.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Heidi, Virginia

April 1, 2019
My French Bulldog is quite clumsy and gets injured easily. In more or less a year, he had two expensive surgeries, one for a leg problem and one for a digestive blockage. Healthy Paws reimbursed both claims quickly without asking for additional information. So, all those around here that complain about this provider, just do us all a favor and read all the details regarding what you are paying for. Maybe you are unsatisfied because what you are requesting isn’t covered by your current plan. I knew when I signed up that routine checkups, vaccines or pre-existing health issues are not eligible for reimbursement. And, of course, that there was a deductible fee of $250 per year. This pet is everything to me, so I am more than happy to pay for this professional service. I will pay for it no matter if I need it or not.
Helpful 1 people found this review helpful
2 out of 5

Peggy J. Ford, MA

March 26, 2019
I strongly suggest you research and find another insurance company and skip the services provided by Healthy Paws!!! I had a plan with them, but I cancelled it. They didn’t bother to answer my calls, my emails or anything else. I always hit this wall named ‘tech problems.’ No follow-up, either. All for a small invoice error. I don’t want to picture how the process goes when your pet is sick!!!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Carrie Lee, Colorado

March 8, 2019
Healthy Paws comes with nice representatives, fast approval and a lot of attention to all you might need for your pet. I recommend them from all my heart!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Jeffery Shelton, KY

March 2, 2019
I don’t quite understand you people and why you give one-star reviews to Healthy Paws. I had my dog insured with them three years ago, and I can reassure you they are the most professional pet insurance company I’ve stumbled upon. I am so grateful that my partner and I chose Healthy Paws!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Adrian, SC

December 29, 2018
I have used Healthy Paws since I rescued a stray cat from the streets. I can’t be happier than I am with this insurance plan! Missy had some problems with one of her eyes, which ultimately needed a complicated and expensive procedure so that we could save her from blindness. Healthy Paws supported me and reimbursed up to 90% of my receipts. All I did was use their mobile application. They answer quickly and processed the claims even faster. I recommend them from all my heart!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Zhoshua, Idaho

November 4, 2018
My personal opinion is that no matter what pet you have, a health insurance plan is a necessity, mainly because the vet’s office charges a lot of money, even for the most basic procedure. Healthy Paws helped me greatly with this, as they assessed my request rapidly and without problems. All I had to do is provide accurate medical records to support my claim. I encourage everyone to try their services!
Helpful 1 people found this review helpful
5 out of 5

Dolly Babcock, WY

October 22, 2018
I adore Healthy Paws! I have a clumsy cat that gets in all types of trouble, meaning I always need some expensive treatment for her. Healthy Paws helped me all the way, and saved me a lot of financial trouble! It is quite simple to submit a request; the information provided by the company is transparent and the reimbursement process doesn’t take ages to complete! No problems with them up until today! This is the best choice I ever made, and all thanks to my cat’s vet.
Helpful 1 people found this review helpful
2 out of 5

Vanessa Baldwin, TN

October 4, 2018
My cat died recently because of a car accident. So, naturally, I asked Healthy Paws to void my policy. No one ever contacted me to confirm the cancellation process was complete. I even got billed for three extra months of coverage. And as I couldn’t find any means to an end, I temporarily disabled my credit card. They called to check what was wrong with my account and stressed how important I was to them as a customer. Moving on, I still tried to reach customer service numerous times, but I can’t seem to get a clear answer. This insurance company increased my pain by constantly stating reasons why I should continue to use their services. And what is even more awful is that they refused to refund me for the moths I was forced to pay when my pet was actually dead.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
1 out of 5

Nicola, Illinois

August 22, 2018
Utterly and irremediably unprofessional company!! I added a simple claim via their online service. And I had to spend numerous hours trying to reach customer service to confirm they received the application. Moreover, after almost a month, the claim is still on hold. I contacted them today, and they plainly said there is a need for an additional two weeks to review it. How is that even possible? Let me sum up what I went through: 1. I submitted a reimbursement request and an invoice with the aid of their mobile app. 2. No answer was redirected towards me in regards to my claim. So, I reached customer service, where I struggled to communicate with the representative on the other end of the phone. Anyway, one hour later, I discovered that my claim was on hold because it wasn’t readable! Why didn’t anyone just tell me all I had to do is resend my request in a clearer manner?! It is like, if I didn’t reach them, no one would’ve told me and the application would be eventually lost in their system. 3. The representative tried to offer me some explanations and excuses, and he even admitted that there was a software bug due to a recent update. He said he would contact my vet’s office personally to get another copy of the records. 4. After more than 14 days, I got a notice that Healthy Paws got records for my pet, but they didn’t know why that happened. They nicely suggested I should submit a claim if I have a problem. Wait for what? How is that possible when I was already struggling with my request for more than a month??? 5. Several phone calls later, they said everything was ok, and I should expect the reimbursement to get approved. 6. After that, I got another notice from them saying that it was quite possible it would take another two weeks to get my claim approved. They just needed extra time to verify if my pet had a pre-existing condition before signing him up for insurance (as a side note, my pet was having some troubles with his stomach and consistently vomited and had diarrhea). So, where is the logic here??? 7. In the end, they informed me my request would be covered only partially. This is unprofessional! And no one should be handled like this! Avoid this insurance company! There are better options!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
2 out of 5

Marsha Thomas, Virginia

July 15, 2018
Well, I didn’t experience all the positive things people are talking about here. My cat tore one of her ligaments, and my vet stressed the need for surgery, post-op care and rehabilitation (as he estimated she would have trouble walking after the procedure). And, as you may have guessed, Healthy Paws made me submit a claim. They rejected it based on the fact that it was a pre-existing condition. My vet re-stated and underlined his professional opinion that this was not a pre-existing health issue. Yet Healthy Paws didn’t bother to accept my reimbursement request.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
1 out of 5

William, MN

June 19, 2018
I most certainly don’t advise you to use this company! They simply take your money without asking and deny any involvement. I just added my new cat, a pure breed Russian Blue, to my insurance plan. And they, by MISTAKE, labelled it as a mixed breed. And as a consequence, I have to pay an extra $10 than what I supposed to be charged for my insurance plan. I reached customer service, and they redirected me to a representative. He was utterly unimpressed by my distress and simply said that if I somehow managed to underpay their company, they wouldn’t reimburse the difference. This is false, as for sure, they would stalk me to death if I made a late payment. But, yeah, this is to their advantage, like it is my fault my poor cat got labelled as a mixed breed. It is outrageous! How could I possibly categorize my cat as a mixed breed when she is undeniably a pure Russian Blue??? $10 certainly makes a difference in my daily budget, so I definitely don’t care about their allegations! This is fraud! Just take a moment and picture how much extra money this company makes from such “MISTAKES.”
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
2 out of 5

Jekson Chandter, MS

June 14, 2018
This is the most terrible experience I have ever had with customer service up until today!! I was redirected to more than five people, and no one was able to identify the issues with my subscription. I got lots of reassurance they would call me back as soon as the problem was identified, but that never happened. Maybe this is how they teach them to respond to inquiries! I don’t know! I even requested to speak with a manager, and they reassured me someone would call me back in no more than 24 hours. Guess what? No one called! I reached customer service again, and they explained that a manager could take longer to respond, so I’ll have to wait at least 48 hours. No concern, care or interest in my problems! I am canceling this insurance as soon as possible, and I will definitely submit a complaint with the Better Business Bureau! Totally unacceptable!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Safia Talley, Maryland

May 23, 2018
Our Frenchie gets into trouble all the time, which is why I love Healthy Paws’ insurance so much. First, he needed back surgery, then there was a problem with his leg, and the injury list goes on and on. Thanks to insurance from Healthy Paws, we saved a lot of money in out-ofpocket expenses. Whenever we called for assistance they were super nice and made the paperwork filing process really easy. In all of the time that I have been with Healthy Paws, I never had any issues with a claim. I am so happy that my vet recommended this insurance because they provide the best coverage for the money.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
2 out of 5

Will Lugo, Vermont

May 3, 2018
I bought a plan from Healthy Paws in 2013. At the time, my dog was 6 years old. In those days, he was pretty healthy. I mean, he had some minor issues with arthritis, but that was about it. Anyway, the price of the plan was $41.32, which is reasonable. After a few years, the rates went up drastically. After five years, the rate had doubled to $83.88 and when he turned 10, it went up even more to about $120. I called them to find out why this was happening. I saw a steady rate increase of about 50% every year. They gave me a lame story that the number of claims in my area went up significantly, which causes the price to increase. I think what they are trying to do is get people to either lower or drop their coverage altogether when their pet needs it most which is just heartless in my opinion. Also, customer service has decreased over the years, even though the prices have gone up. Now it can take months to be reimbursed for a simple claim. Many times, I call in or send them emails and no one answers. This is just disrespectful. I would not recommend that anybody use this company, because they will take your money and try to give you the runaround in the end.
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
5 out of 5

Gracie-Mae Barrera, Pennsylvania

April 19, 2018
I have a Labrador who is 10 years old. His name is Monroe. He was attacked by another dog while we were out jogging. It’s a good thing that Healthy Paws was there to save the day. I just took out my phone, opened their app, and submitted my claim. Everything was that easy. I took pictures and sent it to them and they took care of the rest. The reimbursement for the hospital visit was on time and they even called to check in and see how Monroe was doing. This was very thoughtful of them and when we combine it with the great service that they give, I would recommend them to anybody. I wish my own health insurance worked as well as Healthy Paws!
Helpful Be the first one to find this review helpful
Visit Insure Website

How do I know I can trust these reviews?

  • There are close 1 865 verified Consumer Affairs reviews.
  • We request the contact information of all reviewers to confirm their identity.
  • To maintain the site’s integrity, we use smart software to help us out.
  • Again, moderators will investigate all reviews before posting to ensure quality and usefulness.

Not sure how to choose?

Get expert byuing tips about Pet Insurance delivered to your inbox

Not sure about HealtyPaws?

Take our two minute quiz to find the right Pet Insurance for you

No spam. We take your privacy seriously.
Visit Insure Website


!

Petinsurancefinder is an independent platform, made to provide pet owners with up-to-date information about top insurance companies. Any insurance company that is presented on this website has the right to make changes to its official data. We are dedicated to distributing reviews based on a person's experience and opinions of his/her insurance company. Reviews are "reviewed" to ensure there is no offensive material. All information may be used only for reference; carefully review your policy before purchasing and signing a new contract. As an independent platform, we receive compensation from companies listed in the comparison block. No review is a representation of our company or its employees.